My Query (trigs) - found status

For all your general chit chat, caching or not.
Post Reply
Team737
Posts: 31
Joined: 07 October 14 10:12 pm
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lee.drury.71066/
Location: Newcastle

My Query (trigs) - found status

Post by Team737 » 01 June 18 10:34 am

I've noted that the queries I make for our GPS for trigs don't seem to indicate the found status - ie they all show up with the same symbol whether we've logged a find or not. Is there a fix to this?
I'm using a Garmin Oregon....
Cheers
Lee

Luckyl10n
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
Posts: 82
Joined: 19 January 13 7:16 pm
Location: Australian Capital Territory

Re: My Query (trigs) - found status

Post by Luckyl10n » 15 June 18 11:19 am

Hi Lee

Are you using GSAK to manage your caching? If not, you might want to have a look at it. Makes life much easier.

If not, perhaps adjust your query to only load unfound caches to your GPSr.

I hope I've understood your query properly.

Regards
LL

Team737
Posts: 31
Joined: 07 October 14 10:12 pm
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lee.drury.71066/
Location: Newcastle

Re: My Query (trigs) - found status

Post by Team737 » 27 May 19 9:26 am

Sorry, its been a while.... I think I must get into this when we're in the Blue Mountains each year..... its too windy to do much today....

What I was saying - for a GC.com PQ for any given cache, the GPX file has the following:
<sym>Geocache Found</sym>
<type>Geocache|Earthcache</type>
for a cache we've found - so the GPSr displays a smilie in place of the cache symbol.

In my trigs query GPX file, I only ever have this - whether we've found the trig or not:
<sym>Geocache</sym>
<type>Geocache|Benchmark</type>
so the GPSr displays the unfound symbol rather than the smilie.

Is this something that can be fixed by a setting I need to set, or is this just how it is?
I suppose I could run two queries, and do a find/replace on the 'found it' query to reflect the found status? Is that what I would need to do?
Thanks in advance.....

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16300
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: My Query (trigs) - found status

Post by caughtatwork » 27 May 19 11:31 am

https://www.topografix.com/gpx_manual.asp#sym
<sym>
Optional in: <wpt> <rtept> <trkpt>

<sym>Scenic Area</sym>

Text of GPS symbol name. For interchange with other programs, use the exact spelling of the symbol on the GPS, if known.
The name of the symbol is defined by the GPS device you are using.
<sym>Geocache Found</sym> obviously works for a GPS that you are using.
<sym>Geocache Found</sym> may not work for a different model or brand of GPS.
<sym>Geocache</sym> is less prescriptive and more widely acceptable, but does not solve your issue.

Alas the GPX "standard" is not standard and a small change at our end may be unwelcomed repercussions on other devices. Regrettably at this point, it's unlikely we would seek to make that change although it would be extremely useful in your specific circumstance.

Team737
Posts: 31
Joined: 07 October 14 10:12 pm
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lee.drury.71066/
Location: Newcastle

Re: My Query (trigs) - found status

Post by Team737 » 28 August 20 8:01 am

Long time between replies.... I did get back onto this, and solved my issue (Garmin Montana/Oregon).... I'll post it in case anyone else has had the same problem.

Trigs weren't displaying on the map well, whether found or not, presumably the term 'Benchmark' was not being interpreted by the device well.
So....
For found trigs, the following lines needed editing (do a find/replace all with a text editor):
<sym>Geocache</sym>
<type>Geocache|Benchmark</type>
<groundspeak:type>Benchmark</groundspeak:type>
and change Benchmark to a normal cache type, I chose Webcam Cache, as there won't be much confusion when GC caches are added alongside.
so these become:
<sym>Geocache</sym>
<type>Geocache|Webcam Cache</type>
<groundspeak:type>Webcam Cache</groundspeak:type>

(For found trigs (or other GA caches) - the line <sym>Geocache</sym> also needs to be changed to <sym>Geocache Found</sym>

Another touch is to add a custom icon for 'Webcam Cache'.... so now my trigs show up as little trigs.

This does involve some text file editing, but with find/replace, it only takes a minute or two.....

I also did a separate query for traditionals, changed their type as above to 'Mega-Event Cache' and then made a new icon, so I can tell apart GC/GA trads from a map glance now..... good fun....

The Garmin trig icon if anyone wants it..... http://pics.ollie.eml.cc/pics/pics/Webcam%20Cache.bmp

Post Reply