GCA Android App - GA Cacher

Discussion about software such as GSAK, OziExplorer etc, as well as all things hardware, GPSrs, laptops, PDAs, paperless caching, cables etc
User avatar
spatialriq
5500 or more caches found
5500 or more caches found
Posts: 326
Joined: 12 May 11 11:52 pm
Location: Perth

Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

Post by spatialriq » 14 August 15 11:27 am

Thanks, all tickety-boo now :)

on4bam
Posts: 58
Joined: 31 January 10 7:40 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

Post by on4bam » 15 August 15 8:47 pm

Just installed the app to see if it would benefit me on our upcoming (still some weeks to go) holiday in TAS and VIC.

Some questions:
I can import 200 caches from the map center but moving the map and importing 200 from there seems to make the previous 200 disappear. Can I load all TAS GCA caches or is 200 a hard limit on the database list? I've got 9700+ in GSAK and would like them in the app (probably a lot less after filtering out places we'll not be visiting)

Is there a way to use offline maps (again, can't find any settings for this so I guess not)?


Side question: When I first imported the map was on my home location. Seems there are GCA caches in Germany and Canada (and other countries too) :shock: strange...


Thanks.

User avatar
mtrax
Posts: 1947
Joined: 19 December 06 9:57 am
Location: Weston Creek, Canberra

Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

Post by mtrax » 15 August 15 8:57 pm

Short answer is no, it was originally designed for addhoc or caching on the go, there is no real limitations on number of Geocaches apart from your memory and GCA Download limits . for off line maps I would suggest locus pro for the foreseeable future unless people think these features are worthwhile etc..
So happy to look at designing but need know if it would be a popular feature

on4bam
Posts: 58
Joined: 31 January 10 7:40 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

Post by on4bam » 15 August 15 9:19 pm

OK, thanks for the very fast reply.
I guess I'll stick to GDAK then. That way I can import my GSAK database and work 100% offline. Maybe I'll just use the GCA app for logging (caching will be done with the Oregon 600 anyway).

Metcatan22
Posts: 6
Joined: 28 April 17 4:59 pm
Location: Aveley, WA

Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

Post by Metcatan22 » 15 June 17 6:10 pm

I really like the app!

Just wondering as the caches that I've hidden don't show on my map unless I load them specifically, is this correct? I couldn't find an answer in this or the other thread. Thanks! :)

User avatar
mtrax
Posts: 1947
Joined: 19 December 06 9:57 am
Location: Weston Creek, Canberra

Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

Post by mtrax » 15 June 17 6:16 pm

You'll have to use the filter, and set to own so it loads just yours or All for found and owned

Metcatan22
Posts: 6
Joined: 28 April 17 4:59 pm
Location: Aveley, WA

Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

Post by Metcatan22 » 15 June 17 6:31 pm

mtrax wrote:You'll have to use the filter, and set to own so it loads just yours or All for found and owned
Thanks, it does show when I change to "Owned" in Preferences/Load Options. But doesn't show when I select "ALL" ... ??

User avatar
mtrax
Posts: 1947
Joined: 19 December 06 9:57 am
Location: Weston Creek, Canberra

Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

Post by mtrax » 15 June 17 6:46 pm

Ok I think I know what's going on, I need to revamped the filter. Thanks for the feedback

Metcatan22
Posts: 6
Joined: 28 April 17 4:59 pm
Location: Aveley, WA

Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

Post by Metcatan22 » 05 July 17 2:17 pm

mtrax wrote:Ok I think I know what's going on, I need to revamped the filter. Thanks for the feedback
Perfect, sorry for the late reply. All seems to work now! Cheers! :)

User avatar
Zalgariath
5500 or more caches found
5500 or more caches found
Posts: 1749
Joined: 17 August 09 10:44 am
Location: Sydney, NSW

Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

Post by Zalgariath » 05 July 17 7:50 pm

Think I might have mentioned this before, but the "View in Browser" option bounces you back to the App instead of doing what it suggests on Android 7.0

User avatar
mtrax
Posts: 1947
Joined: 19 December 06 9:57 am
Location: Weston Creek, Canberra

Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

Post by mtrax » 05 July 17 8:23 pm

Zal,
ok ,this looks like its because you have set to open this URL with GACacher, which is launching it again.
to remove this behavior you need to goto App-Info and change "Go to support URLs" and set this to Always ask.

So I will try to see what I can do to bypass this behavior.
thanks for the feedback.

User avatar
Zalgariath
5500 or more caches found
5500 or more caches found
Posts: 1749
Joined: 17 August 09 10:44 am
Location: Sydney, NSW

Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

Post by Zalgariath » 06 July 17 8:50 am

#-o ... Cheers! I'll try that.

Yep that worked, cheers!

User avatar
mtrax
Posts: 1947
Joined: 19 December 06 9:57 am
Location: Weston Creek, Canberra

Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

Post by mtrax » 04 October 17 5:58 pm

Latest update should now be available which includes support for two new cache types :
* Geocacher
* Gadget

Also now supported is Passcode entry , ie geocache types which require a password to log.

As usual please feel free to log any issues ASAP.

User avatar
whitewebbs
6500 or more caches found
6500 or more caches found
Posts: 188
Joined: 05 February 11 6:39 pm
Location: Sandford

Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

Post by whitewebbs » 05 October 17 9:32 am

mtrax wrote:Latest update should now be available which includes support for two new cache types :
* Geocacher
* Gadget

Also now supported is Passcode entry , ie geocache types which require a password to log.

As usual please feel free to log any issues ASAP.
Fantastic, I just love this app.

User avatar
sirius Tas
3000 or more caches found
3000 or more caches found
Posts: 229
Joined: 13 June 06 7:36 am
Location: Ulverstone Tasmania

Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

Post by sirius Tas » 22 March 18 7:35 pm

I can't load caches from this app any more, so wondering if anyone else is having problems.
It's the only app that loads the GCA cache icons to quickly identify the cache type.
The query maps on GCA load all caches as a teardrop with an almost unreadable letter super imposed.
If anyone can shed a light on the GA Cacher app it would be most appreciated.

Post Reply