Report GCA Site issues here [closed]

Discussion about the Geocaching Australia web site
Locked
User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6990
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by CraigRat » 15 July 12 8:49 am

The server had a bit of a moment this morning. I've restarted the database and cleared out the rss caches

Should (hopefully) be ok.

The server needs a bit more RAM

User avatar
Taz
400 or more spectacular views seen
400 or more spectacular views seen
Posts: 178
Joined: 03 June 12 11:09 pm
Location: Launceston

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by Taz » 15 July 12 8:52 am

Still no green balloons :(
I know you are doing your best btw

User avatar
FelixII
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
Posts: 260
Joined: 12 December 10 9:12 pm
Location: Pearsall WA

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by FelixII » 15 July 12 8:58 am

Thanks. Yeah was down for over an hour.

Mostly working now :wink:

Still not getting finds for WA for July or 2012

User avatar
Taz
400 or more spectacular views seen
400 or more spectacular views seen
Posts: 178
Joined: 03 June 12 11:09 pm
Location: Launceston

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by Taz » 16 July 12 11:06 pm

Hate to be a total pain but my finds are still not showing up on the map, none of the ones I've found are showing in green, just their usual blue/pink :(

User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6990
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by CraigRat » 16 July 12 11:10 pm

Are you logged in on the site?
Does it say Logged in as Taz on the top right?

User avatar
Taz
400 or more spectacular views seen
400 or more spectacular views seen
Posts: 178
Joined: 03 June 12 11:09 pm
Location: Launceston

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by Taz » 17 July 12 7:18 am

Ahhh problem solved, I have no idea why I was still logged into the forum but I'd been logged out of the main site. Didn't occur to me that was even possible #-o
Thanks

User avatar
Yurt
4500 or more caches found
4500 or more caches found
Posts: 1509
Joined: 01 May 09 10:08 pm
Location: Northern Suburbs, Sydney

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by Yurt » 17 July 12 9:41 am

Is there a reason why every now and again (say every two weeks) I get logged out of either the GCA site or the forum? It's not a cookie issue as I would visit the sites many times in between. Seems to be different times for the two sites, i.e. not both at the same time.

Not a big issue - just wondering why it could be happening.

I note that GC also logs me out now and again - not just after upgrades.
Gmail will also do the same which I suspect is a security thing.

User avatar
Big Matt and Shell
6500 or more caches found
6500 or more caches found
Posts: 1905
Joined: 11 February 07 9:53 pm
Twitter: BigMattandShell
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by Big Matt and Shell » 17 July 12 10:31 am

My antivirus software runs a clean once a week and I find after that I tend to have to log into all my sites again. I have always just put it down to that, could it be the same for you?

User avatar
Yurt
4500 or more caches found
4500 or more caches found
Posts: 1509
Joined: 01 May 09 10:08 pm
Location: Northern Suburbs, Sydney

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by Yurt » 17 July 12 4:09 pm

Big Matt and Shell wrote:My antivirus software runs a clean once a week and I find after that I tend to have to log into all my sites again. I have always just put it down to that, could it be the same for you?
You may be right. I'll have a look at the timing of the logouts this week.

User avatar
quiet1_au
5500 or more caches found
5500 or more caches found
Posts: 338
Joined: 24 April 10 1:26 pm
Location: Box Hill South

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by quiet1_au » 22 July 12 10:22 am

Peculiar entry in the last email update:

Changed Caches:
=========================================================
Bowen Arrows by quiet1_au (Camberwell) 0.61km East
GCA: http://geocaching.com.au/cache/gc3ecrp
Other: http://www.geocaching.com/seek/cache_de ... wp=gc3ecrp
Google Map: http://geocaching.com.au/cache/gc3ecrp.gmap
Changes:
- Lat: S 37deg 50.745 -> S 37deg 50.720
- Lon: E 145deg 3.770 -> E 145deg 3.650

I never, and it hasn't!... :-k


:-$

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16349
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by caughtatwork » 22 July 12 11:26 am

quiet1_au wrote:Peculiar entry in the last email update:

Changed Caches:
=========================================================
Bowen Arrows by quiet1_au (Camberwell) 0.61km East
GCA: http://geocaching.com.au/cache/gc3ecrp
Other: http://www.geocaching.com/seek/cache_de ... wp=gc3ecrp
Google Map: http://geocaching.com.au/cache/gc3ecrp.gmap
Changes:
- Lat: S 37deg 50.745 -> S 37deg 50.720
- Lon: E 145deg 3.770 -> E 145deg 3.650

I never, and it hasn't!... :-k


:-$
You may not have changed the cache page. Someone may have loaded a file with corrected co-ordinates. I'll reset them to what they were originally.

User avatar
Big Matt and Shell
6500 or more caches found
6500 or more caches found
Posts: 1905
Joined: 11 February 07 9:53 pm
Twitter: BigMattandShell
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by Big Matt and Shell » 22 July 12 8:49 pm

caughtatwork wrote: You may not have changed the cache page. Someone may have loaded a file with corrected co-ordinates. I'll reset them to what they were originally.
I always thought the code scraped out final locations, any waypoints and corrected coordinates?

When I update my own caches I don't bother stripping them out.

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16349
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by caughtatwork » 22 July 12 10:14 pm

Depends on how it comes through.
Additional waypoints we ignore.
Corrected co-ordinates are used via the daily feed, but not through my/import.
This one is weird but it looks like it came through the feed, so I'm not sure how it got changed.

User avatar
quiet1_au
5500 or more caches found
5500 or more caches found
Posts: 338
Joined: 24 April 10 1:26 pm
Location: Box Hill South

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by quiet1_au » 22 July 12 10:16 pm

caughtatwork wrote: You may not have changed the cache page. Someone may have loaded a file with corrected co-ordinates. I'll reset them to what they were originally.
No worries and thanks - I was just suprised to see it that's all. I checked to see if anyone had added a log with coordinates but nothing there (or at least when I got to look at it). Before anyone rushes to record the coordinates - they're wrong! ;-)


:-$

User avatar
Chwiliwr
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
Posts: 896
Joined: 10 April 05 10:39 pm
Location: Leeming Western Australia

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by Chwiliwr » 13 August 12 4:59 pm

Just letting you know the links for Japan and North America under Community/OpenCaching are not valid. Japan doesn't seem to exist and the other returns a forbidden message.

Locked