Trig question

Geocaching Australia governance issues
pjw

Trig question

Post by pjw » 30 June 10 5:36 pm

I'm new at this whole adventure and am after some advice... If I happen to locate a Trig Point that's not currently published, should I publish it myself as a cache and if that be the case am I able to claim first to find credit?

Damo.

Re: Trig question

Post by Damo. » 30 June 10 6:14 pm

It is common practice to do that. The trig point will appear as being 'owned by' Geocaching Australia so you can log a find and claim FTF if you want.
I don't know how much your credit is worth for such a find.... :-k

Zalgariath
5500 or more caches found
5500 or more caches found

Post by Zalgariath » 30 June 10 7:20 pm

I found 3 trigs yesterday that were FTF's published in Sept last year. It appears GSAK and the stats pages don't count Trigs as real FTF's :)

caughtatwork

Post by caughtatwork » 30 June 10 8:23 pm

If you list a new trigpoint, please ensure you select TrigPoint as the cache type.

pjw

Post by pjw » 30 June 10 9:04 pm

Thank you all. I'll get to work and list it. I've only just joined the GC fraternity after a friend repeatedly told me how much fun he has and to be honest it didn't really appeal to me that much but as I currently spend a lot of time venturing into the hills in my spare time I was stoked to find that trigs could be logged and I thought what the hey? Who knows in time I may actually engage in some real GC'ing? Thanks again.

pjw

Post by pjw » 02 July 10 11:31 pm

I've found my niche! Whilst I accept logging trig points may be frowned upon by many and I concede it doesn't constitute geocaching I'm enjoying spending time in the hills, identifying some points of interest and am grateful for the existence of a forum where I can share this with others. I've located and published a further two trig points in Kowen forest today and I trust others will venture forth and enjoy the journey as I did.

caughtatwork