Questions from a complete newbie

For all your general chit chat, caching or not.
weewillie
1 or more caches found
1 or more caches found

Questions from a complete newbie

Post by weewillie » 24 March 07 3:53 pm

Hi All,
CAVEAT : I am completely new to Geocaching.

I have recently got a TomTom in-car navigation unit, which I've realised I can enter GPS co-ordinates into so I figure I can use it for Geo-Caching (Please let me know if I am deluding myself :roll: )

My questions are :
If I find a cache do I replace the trinket I find in it with a trinket of my own?
In the "Diff" column (after I do a search on my postcode), am I correct in assuming that the larger and more spots there are, the more difficult the cache is to find?
Is there an expectation of hiding caches? i.e. can I geocache without ever hiding a cache?

Thanks
WeeWillie

caughtatwork

Post by caughtatwork » 24 March 07 4:35 pm

Hi weewillie.

If I find a cache do I replace the trinket I find in it with a trinket of my own?
If you take one, leave one.
You are not obliged to swap, but you should log your find in the log boo in the cache.

In the "Diff" column (after I do a search on my postcode), am I correct in assuming that the larger and more spots there are, the more difficult the cache is to find?
Correct. A difficulty 5 cache is damn hard. A difficulty 1 cache you should be able to walk up to the co-ordinates and pretty much find straight away.

Is there an expectation of hiding caches? i.e. can I geocache without ever hiding a cache?
You certainly can. You are under no obligation to hide any cacher, ever.

Have a look through the wiki which may help you mo0re.
http://wiki.geocaching.com.au/wiki/Main_Page

fehrgo
200 or more found
200 or more found

Re: Questions from a complete newbie

Post by fehrgo » 24 March 07 5:28 pm

weewillie wrote:Hi All,
CAVEAT : I am completely new to Geocaching.