What type of GPSr do you use for Geocaching?

For all your general chit chat, caching or not.

What type of GPSr do you use for geocaching?

Garmin E-trex series
49
49%
Garmin GPS 10 series
1
1%
Garmin GPS 70 series
8
8%
Garmin Geko
8
8%
Magellan 300 series
3
3%
Magellan Sporttrak series
2
2%
Magellan Meridian series
7
7%
Other (please add a reply to tell us which make/model)
21
21%
 
Total votes: 99

User avatar
nowhere2Bseen
350 ? I am the lizard queen
350 ? I am the lizard queen
Posts: 33
Joined: 08 January 06 11:52 pm
Location: Adelaide

Post by nowhere2Bseen » 15 January 06 10:45 pm

Garmin GPS 76 at the moment... After a couple of teething problems ( wrong settings in gps) it puts me right at GZ even with some obstruction of satellite view

3BlindEyes
Posts: 100
Joined: 15 January 06 6:58 pm
Location: Gidgegannup, WA

GPSr

Post by 3BlindEyes » 16 January 06 2:22 am

People are gonna laugh when they read that I'm using my Garmin StreetPilot 2610 for caching! :shock:
I did have an old Magellan Blazer12 but it got stolen in October, so I bought myself a xmas present - a 2610, as I've been wanting one for quite a while now. My sister has an eTrex Vista that I can always borrow for difficult terrain caches, but so far I've just used my 2610 with a 12v battery pack. A little heavy but good exercise hey? :)

aloysius
250 or more caches found
250 or more caches found
Posts: 683
Joined: 08 October 04 7:26 pm
Location: Devonport, wishing it was St Helens, Tas
Contact:

Re: GPSr

Post by aloysius » 13 August 06 8:13 pm

3BlindEyes wrote:People are gonna laugh when they read that I'm using my Garmin StreetPilot 2610 for caching! :shock:
I did have an old Magellan Blazer12 but it got stolen in October, so I bought myself a xmas present - a 2610, as I've been wanting one for quite a while now. My sister has an eTrex Vista that I can always borrow for difficult terrain caches, but so far I've just used my 2610 with a 12v battery pack. A little heavy but good exercise hey? :)
Good lord thats MAD!

I have Geko 201 for caching...and a 2610 for driving...the 201 is perfect...i can ever invisage a need for any more features as far as caching is concerned its the perfect package...perhaps a few more available WPTs would be nice......

User avatar
Shifter Brains
7000 or more caches found
7000 or more caches found
Posts: 124
Joined: 04 September 05 5:57 pm
Location: Gosford

Post by Shifter Brains » 13 August 06 9:41 pm

We have two GPSr the first one we had, and generally use, is a Garmin 76CS, originally purchased for marine mavigation and then we started geocaching. We then purchased a Garmin e-Tex legend as a backup and when Mrs Shifter is geocaching solo.
<p>If we heve trouble finding a cache with one we will use the second and try to triangulate the location.</p>

User avatar
GeoScrubers
200 or more found
200 or more found
Posts: 600
Joined: 28 April 06 9:36 am
Location: Veresdale Scrub, SEQld
Contact:

Post by GeoScrubers » 14 August 06 10:06 am

Shifter Brains wrote:If we heve trouble finding a cache with one we will use the second and try to triangulate the location.</p>
<p>
What's the saying - a man with 1 GPSr knows exactly where he is, a man with 2 GPSr's isn't so sure :P

User avatar
ozzie-jeeper
150 or more caches found
150 or more caches found
Posts: 166
Joined: 01 October 05 8:10 pm
Location: Brisbane

Post by ozzie-jeeper » 14 August 06 11:15 am

I use the Magellan Explorist 500.. Very happy with it.

Rabbitto
4000 or more? I'm officially obsessed.
4000 or more? I'm officially obsessed.
Posts: 793
Joined: 01 April 04 2:01 pm
Location: Rowville, Victoria

Post by Rabbitto » 14 August 06 2:38 pm

You can use GPSr's for Geocaching? Darn. I've been using a sextant. GPSr's, hmmmmm. This could save me some serious time.

HawMorFords
2000 or more caches found
2000 or more caches found
Posts: 265
Joined: 01 November 05 7:56 pm

Post by HawMorFords » 14 August 06 3:49 pm

The HawMorFords use a Magellan Explorist 600 with Aust. Topo maps on the SD Card.

The Magellan is a very robust unit and hasn't given me too much trouble... it doesn't communicate to the PC anymore so it needs a trip to the west to get fixed up.

Apart from that it is terrific - esp. since the software upgrade a little while back.... there are still a few things that annoy the hell out of me and i am sure they wouldn't be too hard to fix - maybe the next s/w upgrade ? !

Eg: you can only have 200 caches loaded to a file and if you have more than one track file, it takes forever to load.... etc. etc.

Oh yeh, the compass goes a little pear shaped now and then and you need to reset the bloody thing and recalibrate (secret menu required).

For driving we have an Asus A636 with Tomtom - Love it!

User avatar
Dik:
500 or more caches logged
500 or more caches logged
Posts: 370
Joined: 22 May 06 6:56 pm
Location: Adelaide SA Garmin 60CSx

Post by Dik: » 14 August 06 7:24 pm

The problem with bumping a 3 year old poll on prefered equipment is that all the choices are 3 years out of date.

Maybe we need a new poll :idea:

Damo.
Posts: 2183
Joined: 04 April 04 5:01 pm
Location: Jannali

Post by Damo. » 14 August 06 8:06 pm

I think the options on a new poll would be too numerous! Quite a few Tom Tom + handheld users etc....
Anyone game to have a shot?

User avatar
GIN51E
600 or more caches found
600 or more caches found
Posts: 774
Joined: 19 June 05 11:07 am
Location: Waitara GARMIN GPSMAP66i

Post by GIN51E » 14 August 06 8:08 pm

give me 5min :D

User avatar
GIN51E
600 or more caches found
600 or more caches found
Posts: 774
Joined: 19 June 05 11:07 am
Location: Waitara GARMIN GPSMAP66i

Post by GIN51E » 14 August 06 8:27 pm

:evil: it says i've entered too many poll options, does anyone know what the limit is so i can try and cut it back. :roll:

User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6990
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Post by CraigRat » 14 August 06 8:30 pm

you only need 2 options:

1) A good one
2) A Magellan

:lol:

User avatar
GIN51E
600 or more caches found
600 or more caches found
Posts: 774
Joined: 19 June 05 11:07 am
Location: Waitara GARMIN GPSMAP66i

Post by GIN51E » 14 August 06 8:36 pm

CraigRat wrote:you only need 2 options:

1) A good one
2) A Magellan

:lol:
i hope you don't also own a Ford otherwise you have real problems :wink:

User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6990
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Post by CraigRat » 14 August 06 8:55 pm

GIN51E wrote: i hope you don't also own a Ford otherwise you have real problems :wink:
Don't you DARE use the F word here...It's a public forum :lol:

Post Reply