Australia's latitude and longitude coordinates out (article)

For all your general chit chat, caching or not.
Post Reply
biggles1024
2500 or more caches found
2500 or more caches found
Posts: 99
Joined: 15 June 12 9:42 am
Location: SE Melbourne

Australia's latitude and longitude coordinates out (article)

Post by biggles1024 » 28 July 16 11:57 pm

I wasn't sure where to post this so I figured I'd plonk it down here.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-07-28/a ... ts/7666858

First couple of paragraphs.
The continent of Australia is on the move and experts at Geoscience Australia are trying to keep up.
A team of scientists is about to recalculate the nation's latitude and longitude coordinates, which are currently out by more than 1.5 metres

Laighside Legends
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
Posts: 1270
Joined: 05 October 10 10:20 pm
Location: Yorke Peninsula, South Australia

Re: Australia's latitude and longitude coordinates out (article)

Post by Laighside Legends » 29 July 16 12:44 am

I wonder how they deal with this problem in Differential/RTK correction stations... The reference receivers would be moving but then everything else is to so it would sort of cancel it out of most users...

User avatar
J_&_J
Posts: 1263
Joined: 12 May 05 7:58 pm
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000016368307
Location: Morphett Vale
Contact:

Re: Australia's latitude and longitude coordinates out (article)

Post by J_&_J » 29 July 16 7:34 pm

biggles1024 wrote:I wasn't sure where to post this so I figured I'd plonk it down here.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-07-28/a ... ts/7666858

First couple of paragraphs.
The continent of Australia is on the move and experts at Geoscience Australia are trying to keep up.
A team of scientists is about to recalculate the nation's latitude and longitude coordinates, which are currently out by more than 1.5 metres

That explains our recent DNF's then! #-o

User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6939
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Re: Australia's latitude and longitude coordinates out (article)

Post by CraigRat » 29 July 16 8:00 pm

The bit missing in the article is the bit where nearly everything outside of surveying uses WGS84 as a datum and them going to ADG2020 will not have any bearing on anything unless they also adjust WGS84......

User avatar
Yurt
4500 or more caches found
4500 or more caches found
Posts: 1509
Joined: 01 May 09 10:08 pm
Location: Northern Suburbs, Sydney

Re: Australia's latitude and longitude coordinates out (article)

Post by Yurt » 29 July 16 9:22 pm

Isn't WGS84 the problem being over 30 years old? Bring back AD66!

MavEtJu
Posts: 485
Joined: 07 January 15 9:15 pm
Twitter: @mavetju
Location: Caringbah
Contact:

Re: Australia's latitude and longitude coordinates out (article)

Post by MavEtJu » 30 July 16 10:12 am

I just checked a random new cache and it shows:

S33° 47.454' E151° 10.755' (WGS 84)

Doesn't that mean that unless the submitter has used local trigpoints and survey markers to determine the coordinates, this isn't WGS84? There is also no option to select "GPS"...

Or am I totally wrong on this?

User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6939
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Re: Australia's latitude and longitude coordinates out (article)

Post by CraigRat » 30 July 16 1:48 pm

All coordinates here and on GC use WGS84

Google Maps, OSM and others all use WGS84

WGS84 is the 'default' datum on nearly all consumer GPSrs and smartphones.

Almost every data site that gives you a lat/lon on the internet will use WGS84 which is out by a fair bit already as people who have tried to enter caches in with the wrong datum have no doubt seen, as this is a global datum and not tailored for local variance like ADG or other regional datums are.

Post Reply