NEWBIES, scared, need help (Getting back into geocaching)

For all your general chit chat, caching or not.
Donald, Daisy and Kids

NEWBIES, scared, need help (Getting back into geocaching)

Post by Donald, Daisy and Kids » 02 January 16 2:02 pm

G'day all,

We are Aussies (in Bundaberg, Qld) and haven't really been able to geocache since early 2009 (almost 7 years now) due to medical problems but are now looking to get back into it again.

So, I (Donald) is or was the technical guy, the one who did all the website stuff, logging etc etc and put all the cache coordinates into our GPS but in the past 6 years I've really lost track of how to do it, and I'm feeling rather like the first day I ever started caching as a total newbie with no idea what to do or how to do it, scared really as well I guess :(

Ok, so a bit about our setup.
We have PC and android and would prefer to use our old method with the Garmin ETREX VISTA CX until we get a decent new handheld unit to upgrade it, though we do have android phones and tablets as well (DONT trust the GPS though.

Ok, so I recall that I used to be a premium member and got emails with caches in the PQ's I had setup, but I can't remember how I got em into my GPS.

I've gone through everything I can find but just can't find anything specific (or detailed enough more to the point lol )

I remember we had GSAk but I think that was for doing bulk actions?
I also seem to remember that it was a reasonably technical process to get PQ's from emails, then somehow transfer them to the GPS (program or method? )

Any help would be appreciated as we have someone else's trackable which we only discovered a few months back that we have held for years now :o :( (yes we have contacted the owner and apologised and they were OK with it)
(ps. I've followed the caching 101 and a few videos but they didn't really explain what I'm asking)

Thanks in advance :)

roundcircle
1100 or more caches found
1100 or more caches found