Need new GPS

For all your general chit chat, caching or not.
The3Rs

Need new GPS

Post by The3Rs » 28 September 13 11:08 pm

Hi everyone,
We are not new to caching but have not actively cached for the last 18 months. We have a Garmin Gps 60 which had never missed a beat until we took it out today and it died. Just wondering what GPS devices you guys recommend. Had to use the iphone today but we would prefer to buy another handheld GPS. Would appreciate recommendations.

Rainbow Spirit
600 or more caches found
600 or more caches found

Re: Need new GPS

Post by Rainbow Spirit » 29 September 13 12:13 am

I've been using a Garmin Dakota 20 for about 2 years, hasn't missed a beat. I download caches direct from my PC. It shows log descriptions, logs, hints etc, etc. It fits in the palm of a hand, and has a nice readable touch screen. You can pick them up for under $300.

In the end most new GPSrs work OK, just get one that has the features you like. Good luck.

jusojara
3000 or more caches found
3000 or more caches found

Post by jusojara » 01 October 13 9:47 am

Rainbow Spirit wrote:In the end most new GPSrs work OK, just get one that has the features you like. Good luck.
I think this is the key point, a GPSr can be a very personal choice. I use a Garmin Montana mainly because it doubles as a car navigator that I then pop out of the cradle and continue on foot or bike to the cache.

Bundyrumandcoke
5000 or more caches found
5000 or more caches found

Post by Bundyrumandcoke » 01 October 13 10:33 am

A lot depends on the peripherals you have as well. If you old 60 was the sum total of what you have, then its a pretty easy choice to move to a new GPS. If however, you have external power supplies, cradles, ect, for the old one, then you would want to be looking at a new one that uses your existing stuff.