View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 26 May 18 5:14 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
New caches placed with a phone 
Author Message

Joined: 10 November 08 10:05 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Onkaparinga Hills
GCA Found:
GCA Hidden:
Post New caches placed with a phone
We have a new cacher close to home, who has now placed multiple caches.
All with a GPS in the mobile phone. I have a relative that finds caches very well this way. My question relates to placing them this way?

I am asking because the co-ords are always 6 -10m out.
You know for sure it wont be at GZ
We have been finding them (but) it is starting to wear a bit thin.
Note other cachers are mentioning this in the logs.

Really dont want to hurt anyones feelings and definately understand how the written word can be misunderstood...New cacher who I welcome to our wonderful game.

Feeling pretty awkward writing this, but what would you do? :oops:


01 July 11 12:36 am
Profile
1350 or more caches found
1350 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 24 January 10 3:08 pm
Posts: 591
Location: Melbourne, VIC
GCA Found: 13
GCA Hidden: 1
Post Re: New caches placed with a phone
Take the real coordinates and log it as a "Need Maintenance" >> that's the reason for this log-type.


01 July 11 12:44 am
Profile E-mail WWW
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 13 October 03 11:45 am
Posts: 1067
Location: Travelling Australia using a Garmin Montana 650T
GCA Found: 7
GCA Hidden: 0
Post Re: New caches placed with a phone
Hmmm, look how far we've come.

In the old days GPSR's only used to be accurate to 10 metres, so it was common to have to search a 20 metre radius (your 10 metres plus the placers 10 metres).

But then I suppose the prize was worth the hunt. Generally it was a large,well stocked container, not a 200ml Sistema or an eclipse tin with a scrap of paper inside.

If you feel you have to, take a reading and put an additional co-ordinate in with your log - GC.com has the facilities to do so.
Logging a "Needs Maintenance" is way over the top.


01 July 11 8:12 am
Profile E-mail

Joined: 10 November 08 10:05 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Onkaparinga Hills
GCA Found:
GCA Hidden:
Post Re: New caches placed with a phone
Thanks I think adding a co-ord to log makes sense.
Cacher has placed 20 in 3 months and I love that they are not far from home.


01 July 11 10:23 am
Profile
1300 or more caches found
1300 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 04 April 03 11:48 pm
Posts: 1868
GCA Found: 169
GCA Hidden: 38
100 GCA Finds
Post Re: New caches placed with a phone
ian-and-penny wrote:
Hmmm, look how far we've come.

In the old days GPSR's only used to be accurate to 10 metres, so it was common to have to search a 20 metre radius (your 10 metres plus the placers 10 metres).

But then I suppose the prize was worth the hunt. Generally it was a large,well stocked container, not a 200ml Sistema or an eclipse tin with a scrap of paper inside.

If you feel you have to, take a reading and put an additional co-ordinate in with your log - GC.com has the facilities to do so.
Logging a "Needs Maintenance" is way over the top.


I agree with I&P. many caches may be out by as much as 10m depending on the skygods at the time that day and the device used.
I have received comments on logs saying tha cache is in the middle of the road, or too far from GZ but when i go back and check co-ords they are ok for me.!
loggin a foundit, but its x m from GZ is ok, as long as you post your finds co-ords too.
it helps others find it,and the CO may do a fix at some stage too.


Last edited by Pesky! on 01 July 11 6:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.



01 July 11 2:45 pm
Profile E-mail ICQ YIM
2000 or more caches found
2000 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 05 July 07 9:31 pm
Posts: 185
Location: Brisbane
GCA Found: 12
GCA Hidden: 3
Post Re: New caches placed with a phone
You can also send them a message stating that a phone GPSr is not accurate enough for hiding a cache.


01 July 11 3:07 pm
Profile

Joined: 10 November 08 10:05 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Onkaparinga Hills
GCA Found:
GCA Hidden:
Post Re: New caches placed with a phone
That is my question is it?


01 July 11 6:04 pm
Profile
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 13 October 03 11:45 am
Posts: 1067
Location: Travelling Australia using a Garmin Montana 650T
GCA Found: 7
GCA Hidden: 0
Post Re: New caches placed with a phone
totalube wrote:
You can also send them a message stating that a phone GPSr is not accurate enough for hiding a cache.


But it *May* be accurate enough!!

My experience at using an iPhone was absolute crap, but a cacher in my area placed a few with an iPhone that were within metres of where my Garmin said it should be.

I don't think anyone should expect to walk up to where their GPS says it should be and find it exactly there. 10 metres is NOT an unreasonable radius to search for a cache.

A few logs with corrected coordinates may sort them out, but a message telling them that their cache/hide/location/coordinates/GPS etc are crap will more than likely put them off Geocaching all together.

Probably a quiet chat at an event will produce far better results.


01 July 11 7:56 pm
Profile E-mail
5500 or more caches found
5500 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 17 August 09 10:44 am
Posts: 1737
Location: Sydney, NSW
GCA Found: 1230
GCA Hidden: 75
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds1000 GCA Finds
Post Re: New caches placed with a phone
Both the Iphone and Android have averaging Apps. In a coverage area with no obstacles overhead they are going to be as accurate as needs be as long as the placer knows what they are doing. All GPSr's suffer near cliffs/walls/dense tree cover. Anything within 10m is perfectly fine with me... if its a nasty micro or nano though a good hint can help target the correct area if it isnt obvious or it is hay-stacked.


01 July 11 9:55 pm
Profile E-mail

Joined: 10 November 08 10:05 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Onkaparinga Hills
GCA Found:
GCA Hidden:
Post Re: New caches placed with a phone
Again making great sense, do not want this subject to gather momentum as our new caching member may get put off.

There are plenty of other cachers placing pretty average caches looking at back fences etc. At least this one is placing them at locations worth a visit.


01 July 11 9:58 pm
Profile
6000 or more caches found
6000 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 04 February 04 10:55 pm
Posts: 4097
Location: Waitara, Sydney
GCA Found: 1357
GCA Hidden: 24
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds1000 GCA Finds
Post Re: New caches placed with a phone
As far as the phone goes, it probably relates to the type of phone and how good it's GPS is. While I haven't hidden any using it, I have found quite a lot using the iPhone 4 without any problems. Comparing it to the Garmin Vista they are generally within a few metres at GZ, just as probably a Garmin and Magellan would be.

Going back to the earlier mentions of GPS accuracy, I always took older coordinates with more of a grain of salt than newer hides. Back in the early days a lot of affordable units were single channel which meant they took ages to get a semi accurate lock. I think we still have one of those floating around the office somewhere.

Some cachers over here mention it was placed with a phone, and ask for more accurate coordinates if people find it to be a bit out.


01 July 11 11:08 pm
Profile E-mail
2000 or more caches found
2000 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 24 December 06 4:18 pm
Posts: 955
Location: Canberra
GCA Found: 345
GCA Hidden: 0
100 GCA Finds
Post Re: New caches placed with a phone
ian-and-penny wrote:
totalube wrote:
You can also send them a message stating that a phone GPSr is not accurate enough for hiding a cache.


But it *May* be accurate enough!!

My experience at using an iPhone was absolute crap, but a cacher in my area placed a few with an iPhone that were within metres of where my Garmin said it should be.

I don't think anyone should expect to walk up to where their GPS says it should be and find it exactly there. 10 metres is NOT an unreasonable radius to search for a cache.

A few logs with corrected coordinates may sort them out, but a message telling them that their cache/hide/location/coordinates/GPS etc are crap will more than likely put them off Geocaching all together.

Probably a quiet chat at an event will produce far better results.

Gotta pretty much agree with this post..


03 July 11 8:05 pm
Profile
200 or more found
200 or more found
User avatar

Joined: 07 March 09 4:25 pm
Posts: 22
Location: Albury/Wodonga
GCA Found: 3
GCA Hidden: 0
Post Re: New caches placed with a phone
ian-and-penny wrote:
totalube wrote:
You can also send them a message stating that a phone GPSr is not accurate enough for hiding a cache.


But it *May* be accurate enough!!

My experience at using an iPhone was absolute crap, but a cacher in my area placed a few with an iPhone that were within metres of where my Garmin said it should be.

I don't think anyone should expect to walk up to where their GPS says it should be and find it exactly there. 10 metres is NOT an unreasonable radius to search for a cache.

A few logs with corrected coordinates may sort them out, but a message telling them that their cache/hide/location/coordinates/GPS etc are crap will more than likely put them off Geocaching all together.

Probably a quiet chat at an event will produce far better results.


Where do you draw the line? I completely agree that within 10m is good enough, but we looked for one yesterday that ended up being about 40m out. I logged a 'needs maintenance' log on it, thinking I was doing the right thing, as a few others had already commented, but nothing had been done. I'm now wondering if I've done the wrong thing?


10 July 11 5:33 pm
Profile WWW
2000 or more caches found
2000 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 05 July 07 9:31 pm
Posts: 185
Location: Brisbane
GCA Found: 12
GCA Hidden: 3
Post Re: New caches placed with a phone
[quote="thechops"][quote="ian-and-penny"][quote="totalube"]You can also send them a message stating that a phone GPSr is not accurate enough for hiding a cache.[/quote]

But it *May* be accurate enough!!

My experience at using an iPhone was absolute crap, but a cacher in my area placed a few with an iPhone that were within metres of where my Garmin said it should be.

I don't think anyone should expect to walk up to where their GPS says it should be and find it exactly there. 10 metres is NOT an unreasonable radius to search for a cache.

A few logs with corrected coordinates may sort them out, but a message telling them that their cache/hide/location/coordinates/GPS etc are crap will more than likely put them off Geocaching all together.

Probably a quiet chat at an event will produce far better results.[/quote]

Where do you draw the line? I completely agree that within 10m is good enough, but we looked for one yesterday that ended up being about 40m out. I logged a 'needs maintenance' log on it, thinking I was doing the right thing, as a few others had already commented, but nothing had been done. I'm now wondering if I've done the wrong thing?[/quote]


Just post the coordinates you got, or if a multi or a puzzle an offset


10 July 11 6:58 pm
Profile
4000 or more? I'm officially obsessed.
4000 or more? I'm officially obsessed.
User avatar

Joined: 01 April 04 2:01 pm
Posts: 793
Location: Rowville, Victoria
GCA Found: 12
GCA Hidden: 0
Post Re: New caches placed with a phone
I am fairly sure that there are one or two new geocachers arount that are using a brick, a ouija board and a small plastic frog duct taped to a long stick to determine their co-ordinates.


13 July 11 4:08 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Forum theme by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forum/DivisionCore.