Good Swaps vs Bad Swaps

For all your general chit chat, caching or not.
reasonjo
50 or more caches found
50 or more caches found

Good Swaps vs Bad Swaps

Post by reasonjo » 17 December 09 12:23 am

I'm pretty new to caching (6 months) and I've been trying to figure out what constitutes 'good swaps'?

I went on a day of caching south of Darwin and of the 13 caches I found that day about 10 of them had a postcard from a local resort/hotel dropped in the cache as a swap. Now, I see this as a good example of a 'bad' swap and it really irritated me every time I opened the cache that the same postcard was in there again. It got me to thinking what is a good swap?

Most of the caches I've found have basically had toys, or stickers or pens and similar things in them. Some of the items are new and some of the items look like they've been dragged out of the kids toyboxes and used as geocaching swaps. I don't have kids or many knick knacks floating around, so once I'd figured that caching was something I was going to stick with I went and spent about $70 on stuff from Woollies and the $2 shops around town. I picked up things like giant fridge magnets, a skipping rope, bouncy balls, packs of miniature coloured pencils, plastic toys (dinosaurs & snakes), toy cars, pretty hair ties. None of it was paticularly expensive and the vast majority was aimed at giving geo-kids something to find and swap.

I've trawled these forums looking for a topic that would answer my question, but I can't find one. What I have found is lots of cachers who have been around for a while bemoaning the poor quality of swaps these days - and that new cachers see this new poorer quality of swaps and think that it's normal.

So.. what constitutes good swag?
(or.. if the question has been asked before and I just couldn't find it, a pointer in the right direction would be appreciated.)

Thanks,

Jo

Cheesy pigs
3000 or more caches found

Re: Good Swaps vs Bad Swaps