No GPS- Try this

For all your general chit chat, caching or not.
ian-and-penny
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
Posts: 1067
Joined: 13 October 03 11:45 am
Location: Travelling Australia using a Garmin Montana 650T

No GPS- Try this

Post by ian-and-penny » 09 August 04 8:52 pm

Left your GPS behind, try this

(I found this on anothr forum. It's useful for it's novelty value only.)

Use your mobile phone to get the GPS position of the nearest tower. If you send a blank message (without any text typed) to 1715678 you will receive a message back with the position (in DD.mmm format).

Regards

Ian

User avatar
Richary
6500 or more caches found
6500 or more caches found
Posts: 4160
Joined: 04 February 04 10:55 pm
Location: Waitara, Sydney

Post by Richary » 09 August 04 11:39 pm

Interesting, worked fine for me with Telstra GSM here in Adelaide.

But my local cell identifies as Morphettville and I am fairly sure it is coming off the Morphettville Racecourse where there are a lot of mobile antennas.

Plotting the location on the map in both AGD66 & WGS84 puts me either 500 or 700 metres out from where I would think it is. Having said that I might have to drive past the 2 locations shown and see if there is a tower there I haven't seen. Both locations shown are in side streets that I wouldn't normally visit.

User avatar
The Spindoctors
Posts: 1767
Joined: 08 October 03 8:00 pm
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Post by The Spindoctors » 10 August 04 10:01 pm

No luck on Optus GSM.

User avatar
Team Piggy
Posts: 1601
Joined: 02 April 03 5:16 pm
Location: South Australia

Post by Team Piggy » 10 August 04 10:43 pm

Amazed if you got signal next to an Optus tower with Optus ;)

team unicycle
3500 or more caches found
3500 or more caches found
Posts: 294
Joined: 15 April 03 11:03 pm
Location: Adelaide
Contact:

Post by team unicycle » 10 August 04 11:24 pm

So, who's going to do the multi?<br><br>

Go to location X Y. Send a Telstra SMS to 1715678. Cache is hidden at the received coordinates.

User avatar
Team Piggy
Posts: 1601
Joined: 02 April 03 5:16 pm
Location: South Australia

Post by Team Piggy » 11 August 04 12:03 am

Shh, Youv'e given away the Piggy Master plan. We knew about this from some work we do for Telstra, and have been waiting to release one that uses this method.

We also have some maps that show the optimum coverage from each tower.

Naturally they can help to ensure you lock onto the right signal.
Last edited by Team Piggy on 11 August 04 9:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Richary
6500 or more caches found
6500 or more caches found
Posts: 4160
Joined: 04 February 04 10:55 pm
Location: Waitara, Sydney

Post by Richary » 11 August 04 12:40 am

If with Telstra SMS to this number and go to the location.

If with Optus SMS and add/subtract these numbers

If with Vodafone SMS and add/subtract different numbers

If on CDMA cross your fingers and hope.

Be a nice idea otherwise though. Would be a very nice way to hide something. And hope they don't build another tower! :)

RickJL
Posts: 35
Joined: 19 June 03 2:50 pm
Location: Bendigo

Post by RickJL » 11 August 04 6:22 pm

Nokia CDMA didn't want to send a blank message :?

Rick

rav 4 raiders
550 or more Caches found
550 or more Caches found
Posts: 36
Joined: 11 January 04 9:22 pm
Location: South Australia

Post by rav 4 raiders » 12 August 04 1:52 pm

Team Piggy wrote:Amazed if you got signal next to an Optus tower with Optus ;)
Looks like some Optus bashing going on here - look out you don't know which companies other cachers may work for!

:P

Mix
450 or more roots tripped over
450 or more roots tripped over
Posts: 1399
Joined: 30 October 03 9:20 pm

Post by Mix » 12 August 04 3:00 pm

rav 4 raiders wrote:
Team Piggy wrote:Amazed if you got signal next to an Optus tower with Optus ;)
Looks like some Optus bashing going on here - look out you don't know which companies other cachers may work for!

:P
ItÂ’s funny how USERS of big crap services like Telstra, Windows, etcÂ… always find smaller options (Optus, MAC) threatening.

Dooghan
Posts: 671
Joined: 06 April 03 5:03 pm
Location: Launceston TAS

Post by Dooghan » 12 August 04 3:40 pm

I'm a PC user but I think MAC's are great computers. One problem with them is the software I need I can't get or it costs an arm and leg for it.

Dooghan

tolmh
Posts: 145
Joined: 10 April 03 8:19 pm
Location: Canberra, ACT
Contact:

Post by tolmh » 12 August 04 9:02 pm

No luck with Vodafone on my LG 5300i - just a 'network error' message.

User avatar
EcoTeam
200 or more found
200 or more found
Posts: 1267
Joined: 03 April 03 7:57 pm
Twitter: EEVblog
Location: Crestwood, NSW
Contact:

Post by EcoTeam » 12 August 04 9:56 pm

I get a "message not sent this time" on my Vodaphone Nokia 3110

EcoDave :)

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16300
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Post by caughtatwork » 12 August 04 10:53 pm

It's a Telstra Research Lab test and obviously shouldn't be relied up on in times of emergency.

As it's a TRL test, I wouldn't expect it to be up on any other Network at the moment.

I would hazard a guess that it will eventually be used so when you call 1234 and ask for a decent restaurant in the area, the location of the utilised base station will come with the call to 1234 so they can work out where you are and what's around you.

BTW:
1715678 = 171LOST

User avatar
Team Piggy
Posts: 1601
Joined: 02 April 03 5:16 pm
Location: South Australia

Post by Team Piggy » 12 August 04 11:09 pm

From what the Techs tell me, its that (Above thread) and also so techs can find the cell in their directories if they are lost !

Could be a Telstra Urban myth but who knows.

We fit security to a lot of Telstra huts, City & remote, and this is how we actually find most of them. Have for years.

Post Reply