Digging?

For all your general chit chat, caching or not.
pwags
1500 or more caches found

Digging?

Post by pwags » 30 March 08 4:52 pm

As a relative new-comer to caching, I am still learning what makes a cache a "good" hide... certainly from the logs on my hides I have built a reasonably good understanding of what cachers like. An ice-cream container under a tree isn't enough, and something more creative is always appreciated.

Specifically, I am aware of the guidelines prohibiting "digging", for either a hider or a seeker... but is this rule strictly followed? From an environmental perspective, I can see why the digging rule exists, but I can also see how a small hole dug to hide a cache, as I've seen recently with GC1ABTB, can cause no harm to the environment, and can add to the experience of finding the cache... I really liked this particular hide!

Furthermore, is there a process whereby breaches of the rules are reported? If we find a cache that's outside the guidelines, what should a responsible cacher do?

I look forward to hearing the views of those who have been doing this for longer than me!

Alansee
4000 or more? I'm officially obsessed.
4000 or more? I'm officially obsessed.

Post by Alansee » 30 March 08 5:45 pm

What makes for a good cache - now that opens up a whole website of discussions - which I am sure has been done many times here! My advice would be to make sure that you find a reasonable number of caches first so that you can make your own judgement.
<p> The more specific question about "digging" is easier to address. I have found a few caches now and any number have involved a small amount of earth removal, particularly several very early caches which were buckets dug into the ground. Apart from any environmental issues, a problem with doing this is that water is far more likely to collect around and in the cache, so I for one do not recommend it!