Geocaching Australia
https://forum.geocaching.com.au/

shonkymaps online
https://forum.geocaching.com.au/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=8073
Page 11 of 12

Author:  delboy1203 [ 02 July 08 4:30 pm ]
Post subject: 

Udderchaos wrote:
50 minutes for me on motel broadband


Woohoo, 25 minutes at work... :shock:

Author:  matmob [ 03 July 08 10:25 am ]
Post subject: 

Hi Shonkylogic
Thanks for calling in to the PO recently and saying hi to Mr matmob. I recently downloaded your maps, no problem downloading, and no problem getting it to the GPSr. We used it to find our first cache in a rural area using a map and found it fantastic. However, when we switched the GPSr back on for another cache later on, the map was simply not there. This happened to us recently when we went to New Zealand. I downloaded a free map from the net, it showed as being on the GPSr, when we got to NZ it was gone. Is it something to do with the way I am loading it on? We bought the Garmin 60csx from America, and it came pre-loaded with the American base map, this is all that seems to stay on there. Maybe we should have bought from an Aussie :oops:

Author:  Jardry [ 03 July 08 4:37 pm ]
Post subject: 

Hi matmob,

I think the maps will only "appear" if you are in the area in which you have downloaded the map for. So unless you've downloaded the whole shonkymaps onto a SD card and the GPSr has a SD card slot, you'll have to load each mapset upto the limit of what the memory is onboard the GPSr.

Jardry

(I'm sure someone else with more experience will be able to give a better answer)

Author:  Skippy&lambchops [ 03 July 08 6:05 pm ]
Post subject: 

Hi Julie,

Shonkys maps don't cover New Zealand, or did you mean you downloaded the NZ version and if so you need to Untick Shonkmaps and tick NZ topo maps on

Cheers Skippy

Author:  jusojara [ 20 April 09 11:37 pm ]
Post subject: 

Has anyone had problems with Mapsource, Vista & Shonkymaps combo.

When I downloaded the maps and installed them my Mapsource would not work. When I deleted the maps my Mapsource started working again.

Does anyone know if there is something I can do to Vista to make them work. I didn't have this problem with XP.

Author:  Skippy [ 21 April 09 9:36 am ]
Post subject: 

In what folders did Mapsource and Shonkymaps go into :?:

Both should go into C drive I always allow Shonky to be installed into program files/Shonkymaps and never had a problem .

Also what version Mapsource are you using

Author:  jusojara [ 21 April 09 1:35 pm ]
Post subject: 

Thanks - I just let Shonky install into the folder it wanted to, I didn't save it somewhere else.

I have some other issues with Vista at the moment so I am going to do a system restore tonight and then reload Shonky and see what happens.

Author:  homedg [ 10 May 09 7:57 pm ]
Post subject: 

Just wondering if this is the most recent revision for Shonky Maps?

V3.51 23.10.2007

i LURV being SHONKY!
:D :lol: :D :lol:

Author:  shonkylogic [ 11 May 09 11:37 am ]
Post subject: 

homedg wrote:
Just wondering if this is the most recent revision for Shonky Maps?

V3.51 23.10.2007

i LURV being SHONKY!
:D :lol: :D :lol:


Yes, this is the most recent version. GA have since completely changed their file structure, and I don't time or inclination to work on another version <p> In any case commercial topo products are now starting to become available, and OSM is also getting better all the time, so the relevance of shonkymaps will diminish over time.

Author:  smerrall [ 11 May 09 11:47 am ]
Post subject: 

Although I use OSM about the city, I like to add the Shonky transparent contour layer to it. Combine the best of both worlds.

Author:  Thistledown [ 19 July 09 6:20 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: shonkymaps online

Just finished downloading..took me about 1 &1/2 hours. Looking forward to installing and trying out in my new Garmin Legend HCx :)

Author:  Rigger64 [ 23 July 09 8:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: shonkymaps online

Can shonkymaps be used on a HP Jornada 568 Pocket PC? :?:

Author:  shonkylogic [ 23 July 09 10:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: shonkymaps online

Possibly if you can run mapsource. But you'd probably be better off with Ozi Explorer. Have a look at www.gpsaustralia.net there are some keen people over there that try to run shonkymaps on all sorts of devices.

Author:  Rigger64 [ 23 July 09 10:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: shonkymaps online

shonkylogic wrote:
Possibly if you can run mapsource. But you'd probably be better off with Ozi Explorer. Have a look at http://www.gpsaustralia.net there are some keen people over there that try to run shonkymaps on all sorts of devices.


Thank you i will have a look.

Author:  malstew [ 09 August 09 12:09 am ]
Post subject:  Re: shonkymaps online

Thanks Shonky, I was put on to this a while ago from a Adelaide guy who was planning a big 4WD trip up through the desert. I was a little concerned when I was about to load this on to REX. Nothing to worry about at all, they are fantastic

Got to say no regrets, only use mine for caching but have to say many a cacher ends up on the wrong side of the creek or river whilst out hunting. That wont happen to me again, thank you thank you thank you.

I did notice on one of the forums an Amercan couple coming to Oz had downloaded them.
Hey your an international hit now. Congrats.

Thanks Again

Mal.
(The Penny_Drops)

Page 11 of 12 All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/