shonkymaps online

Discussion about software such as GSAK, OziExplorer etc, as well as all things hardware, GPSrs, laptops, PDAs, paperless caching, cables etc
User avatar
delboy1203
300 or more found
300 or more found
Posts: 176
Joined: 06 June 07 2:17 am
Twitter: delboy1203
Location: Lilydale, Victoria
Contact:

Post by delboy1203 » 02 July 08 4:30 pm

Udderchaos wrote:50 minutes for me on motel broadband
Woohoo, 25 minutes at work... :shock:

matmob
1800 or more caches found
1800 or more caches found
Posts: 82
Joined: 12 December 06 1:04 pm
Location: Mid North South Australia

Post by matmob » 03 July 08 10:25 am

Hi Shonkylogic
Thanks for calling in to the PO recently and saying hi to Mr matmob. I recently downloaded your maps, no problem downloading, and no problem getting it to the GPSr. We used it to find our first cache in a rural area using a map and found it fantastic. However, when we switched the GPSr back on for another cache later on, the map was simply not there. This happened to us recently when we went to New Zealand. I downloaded a free map from the net, it showed as being on the GPSr, when we got to NZ it was gone. Is it something to do with the way I am loading it on? We bought the Garmin 60csx from America, and it came pre-loaded with the American base map, this is all that seems to stay on there. Maybe we should have bought from an Aussie :oops:

User avatar
Jardry
600 or more caches found
600 or more caches found
Posts: 295
Joined: 23 June 07 9:52 pm
Twitter: Jardry
Location: Berri, SA

Post by Jardry » 03 July 08 4:37 pm

Hi matmob,

I think the maps will only "appear" if you are in the area in which you have downloaded the map for. So unless you've downloaded the whole shonkymaps onto a SD card and the GPSr has a SD card slot, you'll have to load each mapset upto the limit of what the memory is onboard the GPSr.

Jardry

(I'm sure someone else with more experience will be able to give a better answer)

Skippy&lambchops
3000 or more caches found
3000 or more caches found
Posts: 295
Joined: 08 October 03 1:58 pm
Location: Campbelltown SA

Post by Skippy&lambchops » 03 July 08 6:05 pm

Hi Julie,

Shonkys maps don't cover New Zealand, or did you mean you downloaded the NZ version and if so you need to Untick Shonkmaps and tick NZ topo maps on

Cheers Skippy

User avatar
jusojara
3000 or more caches found
3000 or more caches found
Posts: 310
Joined: 23 September 08 8:59 pm
Location: Canberra

Post by jusojara » 20 April 09 11:37 pm

Has anyone had problems with Mapsource, Vista & Shonkymaps combo.

When I downloaded the maps and installed them my Mapsource would not work. When I deleted the maps my Mapsource started working again.

Does anyone know if there is something I can do to Vista to make them work. I didn't have this problem with XP.

Skippy
Posts: 325
Joined: 02 December 03 2:42 pm
Location: Adelaide

Post by Skippy » 21 April 09 9:36 am

In what folders did Mapsource and Shonkymaps go into :?:

Both should go into C drive I always allow Shonky to be installed into program files/Shonkymaps and never had a problem .

Also what version Mapsource are you using

User avatar
jusojara
3000 or more caches found
3000 or more caches found
Posts: 310
Joined: 23 September 08 8:59 pm
Location: Canberra

Post by jusojara » 21 April 09 1:35 pm

Thanks - I just let Shonky install into the folder it wanted to, I didn't save it somewhere else.

I have some other issues with Vista at the moment so I am going to do a system restore tonight and then reload Shonky and see what happens.

User avatar
homedg
1550 or more caches found
1550 or more caches found
Posts: 798
Joined: 24 February 06 3:15 pm
Location: South West Sydney

Post by homedg » 10 May 09 7:57 pm

Just wondering if this is the most recent revision for Shonky Maps?

V3.51 23.10.2007

i LURV being SHONKY!
:D :lol: :D :lol:

shonkylogic
1600 or more caches found
1600 or more caches found
Posts: 212
Joined: 15 March 05 10:30 pm
Location: Wayville, SA
Contact:

Post by shonkylogic » 11 May 09 11:37 am

homedg wrote:Just wondering if this is the most recent revision for Shonky Maps?

V3.51 23.10.2007

i LURV being SHONKY!
:D :lol: :D :lol:
Yes, this is the most recent version. GA have since completely changed their file structure, and I don't time or inclination to work on another version <p> In any case commercial topo products are now starting to become available, and OSM is also getting better all the time, so the relevance of shonkymaps will diminish over time.

smerrall
1500 or more caches found
1500 or more caches found
Posts: 58
Joined: 18 January 06 12:08 pm
Location: Cammeray

Post by smerrall » 11 May 09 11:47 am

Although I use OSM about the city, I like to add the Shonky transparent contour layer to it. Combine the best of both worlds.

Thistledown
Posts: 3
Joined: 12 March 09 1:55 pm
Location: Penrith NSW

Re: shonkymaps online

Post by Thistledown » 19 July 09 6:20 pm

Just finished downloading..took me about 1 &1/2 hours. Looking forward to installing and trying out in my new Garmin Legend HCx :)

User avatar
Rigger64
950 or more random things achieved
950 or more random things achieved
Posts: 450
Joined: 10 November 07 11:36 pm
Location: Seaford

Re: shonkymaps online

Post by Rigger64 » 23 July 09 8:03 pm

Can shonkymaps be used on a HP Jornada 568 Pocket PC? :?:

shonkylogic
1600 or more caches found
1600 or more caches found
Posts: 212
Joined: 15 March 05 10:30 pm
Location: Wayville, SA
Contact:

Re: shonkymaps online

Post by shonkylogic » 23 July 09 10:39 pm

Possibly if you can run mapsource. But you'd probably be better off with Ozi Explorer. Have a look at www.gpsaustralia.net there are some keen people over there that try to run shonkymaps on all sorts of devices.

User avatar
Rigger64
950 or more random things achieved
950 or more random things achieved
Posts: 450
Joined: 10 November 07 11:36 pm
Location: Seaford

Re: shonkymaps online

Post by Rigger64 » 23 July 09 10:48 pm

shonkylogic wrote:Possibly if you can run mapsource. But you'd probably be better off with Ozi Explorer. Have a look at http://www.gpsaustralia.net there are some keen people over there that try to run shonkymaps on all sorts of devices.
Thank you i will have a look.

malstew
Posts: 23
Joined: 10 November 08 10:05 pm
Location: Onkaparinga Hills

Re: shonkymaps online

Post by malstew » 09 August 09 12:09 am

Thanks Shonky, I was put on to this a while ago from a Adelaide guy who was planning a big 4WD trip up through the desert. I was a little concerned when I was about to load this on to REX. Nothing to worry about at all, they are fantastic

Got to say no regrets, only use mine for caching but have to say many a cacher ends up on the wrong side of the creek or river whilst out hunting. That wont happen to me again, thank you thank you thank you.

I did notice on one of the forums an Amercan couple coming to Oz had downloaded them.
Hey your an international hit now. Congrats.

Thanks Again

Mal.
(The Penny_Drops)

Post Reply