New Program - GSAK (Geocaching Swiss Army Knife)

Discussion about software such as GSAK, OziExplorer etc, as well as all things hardware, GPSrs, laptops, PDAs, paperless caching, cables etc
ClydeE
50 or more caches found
50 or more caches found
Posts: 277
Joined: 19 September 03 10:20 am
Location: Western Australia
Contact:

Post by ClydeE » 21 October 04 3:36 pm

Hmm I did a little searching in those forums myself with little luck, could you please supply a link?
There are a few threads on this, but probably the most informative is http://forums.groundspeak.com/GC/index. ... &p=1014136

User avatar
Aushiker
350 ? I am the lizard queen
350 ? I am the lizard queen
Posts: 1397
Joined: 30 July 04 2:35 pm
Twitter: Aushiker
Location: Fremantle, WA
Contact:

Re: Earth Caches

Post by Aushiker » 21 October 04 4:25 pm

teamkittens wrote:
ClydeE wrote:
All Cached Up wrote:From http://gsak.net/help/hs1060.htm
Added support for the "Earth" cache type.
What is this?
This is a new type of cache that groundspeak have added to the existing ones. A search on "earth" in the groundspeak forums should get you a more complete explanation.
Hmm I did a little searching in those forums myself with little luck, could you please supply a link?
<p>
Try http://forums.groundspeak.com/GC/index. ... =81981&hl=
<p>
Andrew

User avatar
Aushiker
350 ? I am the lizard queen
350 ? I am the lizard queen
Posts: 1397
Joined: 30 July 04 2:35 pm
Twitter: Aushiker
Location: Fremantle, WA
Contact:

Re: Earth Caches

Post by Aushiker » 21 October 04 4:25 pm

teamkittens wrote:
ClydeE wrote:
All Cached Up wrote:From http://gsak.net/help/hs1060.htm
Added support for the "Earth" cache type.
What is this?
This is a new type of cache that groundspeak have added to the existing ones. A search on "earth" in the groundspeak forums should get you a more complete explanation.
Hmm I did a little searching in those forums myself with little luck, could you please supply a link?
<p>
Try http://forums.groundspeak.com/GC/index. ... =81981&hl= or better still http://forums.groundspeak.com/GC/index. ... 77126&st=0 and scroll down.
<p>
Andrew

Mind Socket
Posts: 1329
Joined: 29 March 03 6:04 pm
Location: Gladesville, Sydney
Contact:

Post by Mind Socket » 21 October 04 4:51 pm

Interesting. I'm pretty sure I think this is an unnecessary new cache type, but I'll reserve my judgement for now. I would have thought there would be cache types for puzzle, "under weeds", commercial and other "raising awareness for [insert Jeremy's latest cause here]" caches first. :twisted:

- R

ClydeE
50 or more caches found
50 or more caches found
Posts: 277
Joined: 19 September 03 10:20 am
Location: Western Australia
Contact:

Version 4.2.1

Post by ClydeE » 27 October 04 9:21 pm

GSAK Version 4.2.1 now available

Version 4.2.1 is a maintenance release for version 4.2 to address issues that have now come to light:

Fixed "Dataset must be in edit ..." crash on load of some GPX files
Fixed "Invalid variant type conversion" crash after restore of settings from a pre 4.2 backup.
Fixed crash when trying to associate GPX files with GSAK on a computer that does not have sufficient privileges.
Fixed refresh of drop down database after database restore.
Fixed the macro LOAD command incorrectly using the last file loaded rather than the file specified with the file= command.
Fixed obscure instance of the "Cannot focus a disabled or invisible window"
Fixed incorrect display of grid after update of user data with a filter of "User Data" = "Not Empty"
Fixed obscure Message: '00:00:00' is not a valid time" crash with language set to Norwegian (Bokmal) - perhaps others?
Fixed problems with filters not returning the correct waypoints after a global replace.
Fixed crash on edit of waypoint, after global replace of the "Placed date" to a blank date.
Fixed crash when you switch to an empty database (only happens when smart names needed recalculation)
Fixed refresh of filter drop down boxes after a settings restore.
Added link to the current GSAK thread at geocaching.com in the Help=>About box
Minor help file changes.

This is a recommended update to all users.

Download from the GSAK home page here http://gsak.net

Cheers
Clyde

Mind Socket
Posts: 1329
Joined: 29 March 03 6:04 pm
Location: Gladesville, Sydney
Contact:

Post by Mind Socket » 10 November 04 11:33 am

Mind Socket wrote: I'm working on a space/cost/bandwidth efficient method of retrieving and storing maps too..
Got this working now. My automated workflow now caches multimap.com images locally and links from the GSAK HTML (the link is not pretty, but it works a treat). The map images added 30Mb to the size of my PDA converted version covering all unfound and available caches in NSW (lucky I've got a memory card). It also takes quite a bit longer to update the map cache and convert all the images, but it's worth it.

- R

ClydeE
50 or more caches found
50 or more caches found
Posts: 277
Joined: 19 September 03 10:20 am
Location: Western Australia
Contact:

4.2.2

Post by ClydeE » 14 November 04 1:57 am

GSAK Version 4.2.2 now available

Version 4.2.2 is another maintenance release and fixes some more issues that have come to light since the release of 4.2.1

For a list of fixes please see http://gsak.net/help/hs1060.htm

Download this latest version from http://gsak.net

swampgecko
It's all in how you get there....
It's all in how you get there....
Posts: 2181
Joined: 28 March 03 6:00 pm

Post by swampgecko » 14 November 04 6:39 am

Clyde,

Nice work as per usual, I just upgraded to 4.2.2.

Just one request to make.

Any chance of seperating Archived and Inactive caches to their own check boxes within the filtering process?

Thanks for your efforts,

Swampy

ClydeE
50 or more caches found
50 or more caches found
Posts: 277
Joined: 19 September 03 10:20 am
Location: Western Australia
Contact:

Post by ClydeE » 14 November 04 9:21 am

swampgecko wrote:Clyde,
Any chance of seperating Archived and Inactive caches to their own check boxes within the filtering process?
Swampy
You can already do this. For simplicity in the general tab, you only have the option of archived/unavailable. However, take a look at the "other" tab and you will notice a check box for Archived and another one for Temorarily unavailable :wink:

swampgecko
It's all in how you get there....
It's all in how you get there....
Posts: 2181
Joined: 28 March 03 6:00 pm

Post by swampgecko » 14 November 04 9:37 am

hmmm ok... will look a bit harder next time... thanks Clyde

Swampy

Blaze_au
200 or more found
200 or more found
Posts: 133
Joined: 01 July 04 1:49 pm
Location: Rowville
Contact:

Post by Blaze_au » 14 November 04 6:13 pm

You can already do this. For simplicity in the general tab, you only have the option of archived/unavailable. However, take a look at the "other" tab and you will notice a check box for Archived and another one for Temorarily unavailable
Where is this 'other' tab? Under Tools > Options > General? I can't find it.

dak's Emu Mob
4000 or more? I'm officially obsessed.
4000 or more? I'm officially obsessed.
Posts: 443
Joined: 21 September 03 7:27 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by dak's Emu Mob » 14 November 04 6:35 pm

Blaze,
<p>
The 'Other' tab is located on the "Set Filter" dialogue box. You can get there with the Ctrl-F shortcut.
<p>
Cheers,
<p>
dak

Blaze_au
200 or more found
200 or more found
Posts: 133
Joined: 01 July 04 1:49 pm
Location: Rowville
Contact:

Post by Blaze_au » 14 November 04 6:47 pm

wow.. filters.. :) this program is just packed with features :wink:

ClydeE
50 or more caches found
50 or more caches found
Posts: 277
Joined: 19 September 03 10:20 am
Location: Western Australia
Contact:

Post by ClydeE » 14 November 04 8:27 pm

Blaze_au wrote:wow.. filters.. :) this program is just packed with features :wink:
Yes, filters allow you to slice and dice your data in just about every possible way. All exports then work on just the subset generated by these filters.

Don't forget, filters can be saved. So if you have a rather complicated filter that uses many options, save it with a meaningful name then you can just select it from the drop down box on the main screen.

Filters can also be used in the macro language of GSAK

Macro language? Please see the help file or online here http://www.gsak.net/help/hs21000.htm

Damo.
Posts: 2183
Joined: 04 April 04 5:01 pm
Location: Jannali

Post by Damo. » 15 November 04 12:08 am

What is the easiest way to sort out caches found? I have a lot in the list that don't recognise I have found them.

Post Reply