New Program - GSAK (Geocaching Swiss Army Knife)

Discussion about software such as GSAK, OziExplorer etc, as well as all things hardware, GPSrs, laptops, PDAs, paperless caching, cables etc
User avatar
tronador
5000 or more caches found
5000 or more caches found
Posts: 1547
Joined: 04 November 05 10:18 pm
Location: Lidcombe,Sydney, NSW

Re: New Program - GSAK (Geocaching Swiss Army Knife)

Post by tronador » 19 February 10 10:39 pm

thanks

gd___
1600 or more caches found
1600 or more caches found
Posts: 59
Joined: 16 June 08 1:10 pm
Location: Newcastle

Re: New Program - GSAK (Geocaching Swiss Army Knife)

Post by gd___ » 19 February 10 10:41 pm

Or just copy them from the right hand side of the map (have the output set as CSV) and paste them directly into the "Arc/Polygon points" box in GSAK

User avatar
blossom*
3000 or more caches found
3000 or more caches found
Posts: 1588
Joined: 25 February 09 1:59 pm
Location: West Ryde

Re: New Program - GSAK (Geocaching Swiss Army Knife)

Post by blossom* » 23 February 10 7:43 pm

Can anyone tell me why GSAK says my last GPX file was 13/7/2009 ("Details are from the offline database last updated on 13/07/2009") but I know I've done heaps of PQs since then. And the data in GSAK has all the recent logs from Jan and feb 2010. What's gone wrong??

ian-and-penny
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
Posts: 1067
Joined: 13 October 03 11:45 am
Location: Travelling Australia using a Garmin Montana 650T

Re: New Program - GSAK (Geocaching Swiss Army Knife)

Post by ian-and-penny » 23 February 10 8:44 pm

My guess is that the particular cache you are looking at hasn't been included in any of your recent PQ's.

There are many reasons that this could occur, the prime one being that the cache has been archived. (Archived caches are not included in PQ's).

What's the date in the "Last GPX" column of your GSAK grid?

Does this particular cache have logs in the database dated after 13/07/09?

User avatar
blossom*
3000 or more caches found
3000 or more caches found
Posts: 1588
Joined: 25 February 09 1:59 pm
Location: West Ryde

Re: New Program - GSAK (Geocaching Swiss Army Knife)

Post by blossom* » 23 February 10 8:52 pm

Yep, there are HEAPS of caches that say the last GPX date was 13/7/2009 and I've checked online and the caches are all active. Plus the GSAK records for these particular caches have all the current logs (as per online at GC) including the 2010 logs from a week or so ago - when I actually DID do my last gpx. weird! I don;t understand how the last gpx could be 2009 but the most recent records are for 2010.

ian-and-penny
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
Posts: 1067
Joined: 13 October 03 11:45 am
Location: Travelling Australia using a Garmin Montana 650T

Re: New Program - GSAK (Geocaching Swiss Army Knife)

Post by ian-and-penny » 23 February 10 9:18 pm

Hmmm, better ask the experts then.
You should ask your question on the GSAK Forum

User avatar
Richary
6500 or more caches found
6500 or more caches found
Posts: 4156
Joined: 04 February 04 10:55 pm
Location: Waitara, Sydney

Re: New Program - GSAK (Geocaching Swiss Army Knife)

Post by Richary » 23 February 10 10:23 pm

All I can think is you may have accidentally imported an old download that was on the computer. Check the last GPX column, as long as that looks up to date it should be all OK.

User avatar
Mr Router
1500 or more caches found
1500 or more caches found
Posts: 2782
Joined: 22 May 05 11:59 am
Location: Bathurst

Re: New Program - GSAK (Geocaching Swiss Army Knife)

Post by Mr Router » 02 May 10 4:13 pm

gday ! having a problem with GSAK, since i went to 7.7 and GC gives 1000 pq's i have to help gsak along downloading pQ's
Image
has anyone else had dramas, i have reload GSAK and tooled around but still no joy, any ideas ??

Damo.
Posts: 2183
Joined: 04 April 04 5:01 pm
Location: Jannali

Re: New Program - GSAK (Geocaching Swiss Army Knife)

Post by Damo. » 02 May 10 5:51 pm

Did you try pressing the any key?
Sorry, couldn't resist! :P

User avatar
Mr Router
1500 or more caches found
1500 or more caches found
Posts: 2782
Joined: 22 May 05 11:59 am
Location: Bathurst

Re: New Program - GSAK (Geocaching Swiss Army Knife)

Post by Mr Router » 02 May 10 6:56 pm

Damo. wrote:Did you try pressing the any key?
Sorry, couldn't resist! :P
That's the problem :oops: no ! lol
also having worries opening attachments from Ozi as well, opens the same attachment no matter the cache selected from Ozi, opens online waypoint fine !

User avatar
Shael6636
400 or more spectacular views seen
400 or more spectacular views seen
Posts: 114
Joined: 26 May 09 1:08 am
Location: Bassendean WA

Re: New Program - GSAK (Geocaching Swiss Army Knife)

Post by Shael6636 » 03 May 10 3:43 pm

Just a very quick question,

Is there a way with GSAK to combine your user created child waypoints and have them on your GPS device i.e Dakota 20 show up on the cache listing as part of the listing and not as a SEPERATE WAYPOINT.

Because on my Dakota 20 i cant see the waypoint is have created unless i go into Waypoint manager

User avatar
Mr Router
1500 or more caches found
1500 or more caches found
Posts: 2782
Joined: 22 May 05 11:59 am
Location: Bathurst

Re: New Program - GSAK (Geocaching Swiss Army Knife)

Post by Mr Router » 13 May 10 6:02 pm

Mr Router wrote:gday ! having a problem with GSAK, since i went to 7.7 and GC gives 1000 pq's i have to help gsak along downloading pQ's
Image
has anyone else had dramas, i have reload GSAK and tooled around but still no joy, any ideas ??
Thanx everyone for the groovy amount of help received :-$ ended up doing a complete reload, all is working again =D> \:D/

Varuna
2350 or more caches found
2350 or more caches found
Posts: 405
Joined: 12 April 03 11:09 pm
Location: Perth, WA.

Re: New Program - GSAK (Geocaching Swiss Army Knife)

Post by Varuna » 17 May 10 4:04 pm

Re: new 7.7.1.34 version (to be downloaded).

Have anyone had a problem as per below?

"The publisher could not be vertified.
Are you sure you want to run this sofware
Name: GSAK771B34.exe
Publisher: unknown Publisher"


After clicked above and below box appeared

"The Setup files are corrupted.
Please obtain a new copy of the program
Internet Explorer - security warning"


Above was appeared first time after had successfully downloaded for several years.

How do I solve this? Thought I would ask first before I send to GSAK Forum

Thanks in advance

User avatar
tronador
5000 or more caches found
5000 or more caches found
Posts: 1547
Joined: 04 November 05 10:18 pm
Location: Lidcombe,Sydney, NSW

Re: New Program - GSAK (Geocaching Swiss Army Knife)

Post by tronador » 17 May 10 6:21 pm

Varuna wrote:Re: new 7.7.1.34 version (to be downloaded).

Have anyone had a problem as per below?

"The publisher could not be vertified.
Are you sure you want to run this sofware
Name: GSAK771B34.exe
Publisher: unknown Publisher"

Yes I got this but it's ok, it won't harm your computer.

After clicked above and below box appeared

"The Setup files are corrupted.
Please obtain a new copy of the program
Internet Explorer - security warning"


no didn't get this but i use firefox so it could be a program that IE doesn't recognise.

Above was appeared first time after had successfully downloaded for several years.

How do I solve this? Thought I would ask first before I send to GSAK Forum

Thanks in advance
I downloaded the newest version a few days ago, no problems with it using Firefox, see my notes above.

Varuna
2350 or more caches found
2350 or more caches found
Posts: 405
Joined: 12 April 03 11:09 pm
Location: Perth, WA.

Re: New Program - GSAK (Geocaching Swiss Army Knife)

Post by Varuna » 17 May 10 7:40 pm

Thanks.

In the end, I sent the same message into GSAK forum. Clyde (GSAK) solved it by provided the another alternate link to fix it. It worked ok. It has also helped clearing out before the latest (7.7.2B10) version can be downloaded. All is well. =D> \:D/

Post Reply