Vantage Point not communicating with Geocaching.com

Discussion about software such as GSAK, OziExplorer etc, as well as all things hardware, GPSrs, laptops, PDAs, paperless caching, cables etc
Post Reply
User avatar
pprass
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
Posts: 911
Joined: 18 December 03 11:52 pm
Location: Port Macquarie

Vantage Point not communicating with Geocaching.com

Post by pprass » 21 June 18 2:54 pm

Does anyone here use the Magellan mapping program - Vantage Point?

If so would you know if there is a connection problem between Vantage Point and Geocaching.com?

When I click on the Geocaching icon (in the Partners section of the tool bar) and then click on "Pocket Queries", or "Create Filter" or "Geocaching Live" or "My Account" - I get this message:

"An error occurred during connecting to the Geocaching.com server"

I can click on the first item - "Publish logs from my GPS.." and that works fine.

I am using Windows 7 and my friend (whom I am trying to help with this issue) is using Windows 8.

Thanks for any advice

Peter

Tuena
4000 or more? I'm officially obsessed.
4000 or more? I'm officially obsessed.
Posts: 521
Joined: 17 November 06 11:38 am

Re: Vantage Point not communicating with Geocaching.com

Post by Tuena » 21 June 18 5:21 pm

I've got VP on Win 7 & get the same errors. My 710's usb connection broke awhile back so it's retired, sadly as Garmin can't hold a candle to it.

User avatar
pprass
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
Posts: 911
Joined: 18 December 03 11:52 pm
Location: Port Macquarie

Re: Vantage Point not communicating with Geocaching.com

Post by pprass » 22 June 18 7:31 am

Looks like it is a Magellan connection issue then. No one maintains that program anymore so it is unlikely to be fixed.

Post Reply