Garmin Oregon 650

Discussion about software such as GSAK, OziExplorer etc, as well as all things hardware, GPSrs, laptops, PDAs, paperless caching, cables etc
User avatar
maccamob
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
Posts: 915
Joined: 04 April 03 6:37 pm
Location: Hoppers Crossing, VIC
Contact:

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by maccamob » 01 June 13 8:43 pm

Aushiker wrote:
maccamob wrote:
mtrax wrote: We're also about to head off to the US, and have loaded about 20,000 caches (so far) in anticipation. .
How are you able to do that? I was under the impression it was limited to 4,000 waypoints unless using Opencaching - Garmin Support

Andrew
Sorry, can't read your link. Yes, the 600 series have a 4,000 waypoint limit, but they can index 4 million geocaches. I used gsak to load the caches in the new GGZ format. GSAK can generate GGZs automatically. See http://garminoregon6xx.wikispaces.com/Hardware for the model specs.

User avatar
Aushiker
350 ? I am the lizard queen
350 ? I am the lizard queen
Posts: 1397
Joined: 30 July 04 2:35 pm
Twitter: Aushiker
Location: Fremantle, WA
Contact:

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by Aushiker » 01 June 13 9:37 pm

maccamob wrote: Sorry, can't read your link. Yes, the 600 series have a 4,000 waypoint limit, but they can index 4 million geocaches. I used gsak to load the caches in the new GGZ format. GSAK can generate GGZs automatically. See http://garminoregon6xx.wikispaces.com/Hardware for the model specs.
Cool. I didn't realise that GSAK could do that ...

Andrew

User avatar
maccamob
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
Posts: 915
Joined: 04 April 03 6:37 pm
Location: Hoppers Crossing, VIC
Contact:

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by maccamob » 01 June 13 11:50 pm

Aushiker wrote:Cool. I didn't realise that GSAK could do that ...

Andrew
You need to be using the latest version of GSAK, ie 8.2.1.195

LouiseAnn
4500 or more caches found
4500 or more caches found
Posts: 727
Joined: 08 August 09 12:04 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by LouiseAnn » 02 June 13 12:17 pm

Aushiker wrote: ..... and not being able to use full fingered gloves .....

Andrew
I have a pair of these:
http://www.agloves.com/about-our-products/
They are great and would solve your problem.

Tuena
4500 or more caches found
4500 or more caches found
Posts: 525
Joined: 17 November 06 11:38 am

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by Tuena » 02 June 13 2:49 pm

10 finger design - I'm all thumbs.

User avatar
maccamob
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
Posts: 915
Joined: 04 April 03 6:37 pm
Location: Hoppers Crossing, VIC
Contact:

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by maccamob » 02 June 13 3:17 pm

In case anyone missed it, Garmin have released Firmware version 2.7 for the 600 series ...

User avatar
mtrax
Posts: 1947
Joined: 19 December 06 9:57 am
Location: Weston Creek, Canberra

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by mtrax » 03 June 13 7:53 am

maccamob wrote:In case anyone missed it, Garmin have released Firmware version 2.7 for the 600 series ...
.yes but doesn't fix the compass issue and still some other bugs, my 600 crashed numerous times last weekend.. #-o :|

User avatar
Agent Basil
2500 or more caches found
2500 or more caches found
Posts: 673
Joined: 31 July 08 8:26 pm
Location: Deakin, ACT

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by Agent Basil » 03 June 13 8:16 am

Well, you know what they say about early adopters ........................

(I don't, it just seemed like a witty saying to insert :D )

User avatar
Hoojar
5000 or more caches found
5000 or more caches found
Posts: 487
Joined: 26 May 08 6:04 pm
Location: The Gong

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by Hoojar » 03 June 13 12:23 pm

Hoojar wrote: Maybe I can drop my 400t in the next couple of weeks :wink:
Had a conversation with the Minister for Finance on Friday night. We have full approval to upgrade :o :o

User avatar
mtrax
Posts: 1947
Joined: 19 December 06 9:57 am
Location: Weston Creek, Canberra

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by mtrax » 03 June 13 12:27 pm

Hoojar wrote:
Hoojar wrote: Maybe I can drop my 400t in the next couple of weeks :wink:
Had a conversation with the Minister for Finance on Friday night. We have full approval to upgrade :o :o
Before you jump in, I would wait till some of these bugs are resolved if your intending taking it O/S soon as I think you will be very frustrated with compass as it stands now, but if you willing to do a little stop/start dance then go ahead.

User avatar
Hoojar
5000 or more caches found
5000 or more caches found
Posts: 487
Joined: 26 May 08 6:04 pm
Location: The Gong

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by Hoojar » 03 June 13 1:02 pm

mtrax wrote:Before you jump in, I would wait till some of these bugs are resolved if your intending taking it O/S soon as I think you will be very frustrated with compass as it stands now, but if you willing to do a little stop/start dance then go ahead.
Thanks mate, I was about to message you and get your thoughts on the new unit!! The plan at this stage is to buy one cheap(er) when we get over to the US, and then buy the Australian Topo maps when we come home.

User avatar
Aushiker
350 ? I am the lizard queen
350 ? I am the lizard queen
Posts: 1397
Joined: 30 July 04 2:35 pm
Twitter: Aushiker
Location: Fremantle, WA
Contact:

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by Aushiker » 03 June 13 1:47 pm

LouiseAnn wrote:I have a pair of these:
http://www.agloves.com/about-our-products/
They are great and would solve your problem.
Thanks for the heads-up. Where do you get yours?

Andrew

LouiseAnn
4500 or more caches found
4500 or more caches found
Posts: 727
Joined: 08 August 09 12:04 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by LouiseAnn » 03 June 13 3:26 pm

Aushiker wrote:
LouiseAnn wrote:I have a pair of these:
http://www.agloves.com/about-our-products/
They are great and would solve your problem.
Thanks for the heads-up. Where do you get yours?

Andrew
I got mine quite a while ago from ThinkGeek, but they no longer seem to stock them. I'm sure the internet will help you find a stockist.

User avatar
Aushiker
350 ? I am the lizard queen
350 ? I am the lizard queen
Posts: 1397
Joined: 30 July 04 2:35 pm
Twitter: Aushiker
Location: Fremantle, WA
Contact:

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by Aushiker » 03 June 13 4:12 pm

Hi

Well took the plunge and ordered a Garmin Oregon 600 express delivered for $410.00 from Highly Tuned Athletes along with a bike mount. Hopefully it plays nice and also works with well with my HRM and Cadence sensors.

BTW has anyone tried using a non-Garmin rechargeable setup?

Andrew

User avatar
maccamob
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
Posts: 915
Joined: 04 April 03 6:37 pm
Location: Hoppers Crossing, VIC
Contact:

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by maccamob » 03 June 13 4:18 pm

mtrax wrote:
maccamob wrote:In case anyone missed it, Garmin have released Firmware version 2.7 for the 600 series ...
.yes but doesn't fix the compass issue and still some other bugs, my 600 crashed numerous times last weekend.. #-o :|
Have you tried calibrating the compass? I noticed mine jumping around a bit, ran the calibration, and now seems good.

Post Reply