Garmin Oregon 650

Discussion about software such as GSAK, OziExplorer etc, as well as all things hardware, GPSrs, laptops, PDAs, paperless caching, cables etc
User avatar
maccamob
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
Posts: 915
Joined: 04 April 03 6:37 pm
Location: Hoppers Crossing, VIC
Contact:

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by maccamob » 05 July 13 8:55 am

Software Version 2.8 for the 600 series just out...

User avatar
Aushiker
350 ? I am the lizard queen
350 ? I am the lizard queen
Posts: 1397
Joined: 30 July 04 2:35 pm
Twitter: Aushiker
Location: Fremantle, WA
Contact:

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by Aushiker » 05 July 13 10:40 am

maccamob wrote:Software Version 2.8 for the 600 series just out...
Thanks for the heads-up.

Andrew

User avatar
setsujoku
3500 or more caches found
3500 or more caches found
Posts: 1422
Joined: 28 December 04 5:46 pm
Twitter: BGNWP
Location: Athelstone, SA
Contact:

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by setsujoku » 05 July 13 11:08 pm

Tried to find the answer, but there didn't seem to be one. What has been fixed in this release?

User avatar
maccamob
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
Posts: 915
Joined: 04 April 03 6:37 pm
Location: Hoppers Crossing, VIC
Contact:

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by maccamob » 05 July 13 11:56 pm


User avatar
setsujoku
3500 or more caches found
3500 or more caches found
Posts: 1422
Joined: 28 December 04 5:46 pm
Twitter: BGNWP
Location: Athelstone, SA
Contact:

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by setsujoku » 05 July 13 11:58 pm

Ta couldn't find it, as I didn't expect it to be under the web updater.

Not enough fixes for me to want to get it yet. Still a few more bugs to fix apparently before it is a good unit to replace the current one, especially for the $$$!

User avatar
Phetlern
Posts: 100
Joined: 26 May 07 12:48 pm
Location: Bellarine Peninsula, VIC
Contact:

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by Phetlern » 10 July 13 7:32 pm

Any one tried GPS + GLONASS? If so does the accuracy have any noticable improvement?

User avatar
mtrax
Posts: 1947
Joined: 19 December 06 9:57 am
Location: Weston Creek, Canberra

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by mtrax » 10 July 13 8:30 pm

Phetlern wrote:Any one tried GPS + GLONASS? If so does the accuracy have any noticable improvement?
The real question has the hider used Glonass?

geo_jas
3000 or more caches found
3000 or more caches found
Posts: 148
Joined: 07 May 11 8:22 am
Location: Melbourne, Vic

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by geo_jas » 10 July 13 11:03 pm

I have an etrex 30 and use GPS + GLONASS and it not only gives a better accuracy, especially under tree cover but also a faster lock than using the GPS alone.

User avatar
Phetlern
Posts: 100
Joined: 26 May 07 12:48 pm
Location: Bellarine Peninsula, VIC
Contact:

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by Phetlern » 11 July 13 9:17 am

mtrax wrote:
Phetlern wrote:Any one tried GPS + GLONASS? If so does the accuracy have any noticable improvement?
The real question has the hider used Glonass?

Good point - co-ords only as good as the weakess link viz: Smart Phone. But if you have a device that is accurate it's a good starting point. The points that "geo_jas" makes are also very valid and would certainly make a difference when geocaching.
geo_jas wrote:I have an etrex 30 and use GPS + GLONASS and it not only gives a better accuracy, especially under tree cover but also a faster lock than using the GPS alone.
Thanks for the feedback.

User avatar
mtrax
Posts: 1947
Joined: 19 December 06 9:57 am
Location: Weston Creek, Canberra

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by mtrax » 19 August 13 8:38 am

any one recommend a good car mount, I have a RAM base but was thinking I would like to have a mult-purpose or universal mount for phone and Oregon 600.
Is the finger mount ok for this? or any other options?

User avatar
allrounder
3500 or more caches found
3500 or more caches found
Posts: 365
Joined: 19 January 06 2:38 pm
Location: Kambah

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by allrounder » 19 August 13 5:54 pm

I just use the Garmin one I had for my Oregon 300 as it fits the same...

oh, just realised you want to hold the GPSr AND a phone....so my resposne is superfluous!

User avatar
mtrax
Posts: 1947
Joined: 19 December 06 9:57 am
Location: Weston Creek, Canberra

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by mtrax » 20 August 13 3:14 pm

btw which one do you use the slide in style or some clip in mount? have you a link and how do you find it?

User avatar
allrounder
3500 or more caches found
3500 or more caches found
Posts: 365
Joined: 19 January 06 2:38 pm
Location: Kambah

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by allrounder » 20 August 13 5:38 pm

it's the suction cup mount with the slide in clip...it was part of the navigation kit...you can get them cheaper on eBay of course...

FWIW, I use a RAM mount on my bike...

both work well and I've had no issues...

User avatar
maccamob
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
Posts: 915
Joined: 04 April 03 6:37 pm
Location: Hoppers Crossing, VIC
Contact:

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by maccamob » 21 August 13 1:12 pm

allrounder wrote:it's the suction cup mount with the slide in clip...it was part of the navigation kit...you can get them cheaper on eBay of course...
If you want to use the slide-in clip with a RAM mount, take it off the Garmin suction cup and use one of these adapters ...
http://www.rammount.com/CatalogResults/ ... fault.aspx
You attach the adapter to a standard RAM diamond base and ball, then plug the Garmin clip on to the adapter. The adapter has four splines on the ball that mean the adapter has to be mounted at 45 degrees for the clip to be vertical. It works well though; has a little bit of play on the ball that lets you make small adjustments to the clip position/angle, but it's not loose.

User avatar
mtrax
Posts: 1947
Joined: 19 December 06 9:57 am
Location: Weston Creek, Canberra

Re: Garmin Oregon 650

Post by mtrax » 22 August 13 6:28 pm

new firmware which may improve compass stability

Post Reply