Brand new and thinking about a GPS

Discussion about software such as GSAK, OziExplorer etc, as well as all things hardware, GPSrs, laptops, PDAs, paperless caching, cables etc
Southern-Miffy

Brand new and thinking about a GPS

Post by Southern-Miffy » 23 June 11 8:10 pm

I am pretty new to caching, but the whole family is really enjoying 'treasure hunting' as the kids call it. We have been sucessfully using our iPhone4's to date but out of sheer frustration and an entire wasted afternoon due no comms through the app, we think maybe a GPS is the way to go. There is nothing worse than promising some treasure hunting and having the app on the phone freeze up and refuse to play for hours and hopefully a GPS will allow us to keep going even when comms are down, not to mention that for little kids a GPS will be a bit more robust than an iPhone.

So I won't buy a used GPS; not interested in that. I have seen that there is a caching ready GPS; the Magellan Explorist GC and given that this looks like a suitably beginnerish item I am wondering what people think of this unit. I like the idea that we can just download the caches we are intersted in finding, if I have to start loading coordinates into a unit, well it just won't happen. We would be highly unlikely to use the GPS for anything other than caching and with three little kids we won't be going too far off the beaten track.

So is the Magellen Explorist the only GPS that is caching ready? Or is there a competitor, and if so, which is the better unit to buy? I don't want to spend a heap, I've seen the Explorist for $180 whereas everything else looked to be at least twice the price.

Oh, and I assume they work everywhere, as in if I get one from the US, it's not like other products and won't work in Australia?

TIA

squalid
2700 or more caches found
2700 or more caches found

Re: Brand new and thinking about a GPS

Post by squalid » 23 June 11 8:20 pm