Firefox 4*

Discussion about software such as GSAK, OziExplorer etc, as well as all things hardware, GPSrs, laptops, PDAs, paperless caching, cables etc
Post Reply
User avatar
PesceVerde
700 or more Caches found
700 or more Caches  found
Posts: 452
Joined: 07 February 08 12:12 pm
Location: Arana Hills.

Firefox 4*

Post by PesceVerde » 03 May 11 11:35 pm

Any attempt to do a Search with Firefox 4* freezes up my computer.
Installed version 3.6.17 and all seems back to normal.

Has anyone else recently had problems with Firefox 4?
:?:

User avatar
Richary
6500 or more caches found
6500 or more caches found
Posts: 4156
Joined: 04 February 04 10:55 pm
Location: Waitara, Sydney

Re: Firefox 4*

Post by Richary » 04 May 11 12:18 am

I saw a facebook post where someone had installed it and could no longer view facebook photos. I think I will hold off on this one (in fact have temporarily disabled automagic FF updates).

User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6978
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Re: Firefox 4*

Post by CraigRat » 04 May 11 7:12 am

4.0 seems to work ok for me with the search (but I'm running on Linux)

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16237
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Firefox 4*

Post by caughtatwork » 04 May 11 8:45 am

FF 4.0.1 on my work PC (Win XP) and search works fine for me.

User avatar
PesceVerde
700 or more Caches found
700 or more Caches  found
Posts: 452
Joined: 07 February 08 12:12 pm
Location: Arana Hills.

Re: Firefox 4*

Post by PesceVerde » 04 May 11 9:50 am

I may give the new version another try, at a later date. Thanks for the feedback. :)

User avatar
Big Matt and Shell
6500 or more caches found
6500 or more caches found
Posts: 1905
Joined: 11 February 07 9:53 pm
Twitter: BigMattandShell
Contact:

Re: Firefox 4*

Post by Big Matt and Shell » 04 May 11 11:02 am

I have upgraded on the eee and it works OK except the GS pages seem to be very slow including downloads of PQ's

Philipp
1350 or more caches found
1350 or more caches found
Posts: 591
Joined: 24 January 10 3:08 pm
Twitter: derfuzzel
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Contact:

Re: Firefox 4*

Post by Philipp » 04 May 11 12:29 pm

delicious doesn't work on 4 >> back to 3

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16237
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Firefox 4*

Post by caughtatwork » 04 May 11 12:49 pm

Big Matt and Shell wrote:I have upgraded on the eee and it works OK except the GS pages seem to be very slow including downloads of PQ's
I expect that, as GS use a lot of .NET, it's the JavaScript at your end on the smaller CPU in your machine.

User avatar
funkydan2
1 or more caches found
1 or more caches found
Posts: 19
Joined: 29 June 09 8:48 pm
Twitter: ds_says
Location: Brisbane

Re: Firefox 4*

Post by funkydan2 » 04 May 11 3:52 pm

Philipp wrote:delicious doesn't work on 4 >> back to 3
I think that's to do with yahoo selling del.icio.us off to Avos systems (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Delicious_ ... 29#History). Maybe after the transfer is complete the firefox extension will be updated.

User avatar
darth trader
800 or more hollow logs searched
800 or more hollow logs searched
Posts: 117
Joined: 21 November 09 1:53 pm
Twitter: darthtrader77
Location: hunter valley NSW

Re: Firefox 4*

Post by darth trader » 04 May 11 5:50 pm

i am enjoying the RockMelt browser.
although i had to resurrect the Facebook account that had been taken out the back and shot.
good if you are into the Social media and sharing whilst browsing. (runs on the Chrome motor and uses your activity to compile data to sell to people to make Facebook rich)

(follow me on twitter @darthtrader77)

User avatar
PesceVerde
700 or more Caches found
700 or more Caches  found
Posts: 452
Joined: 07 February 08 12:12 pm
Location: Arana Hills.

Re: Firefox 4*

Post by PesceVerde » 06 May 11 3:18 pm

If someone else has the same or a similar problem with FF4.0.1 (ie: computer freezing up when using the Search function), my problem was with the Bullguard Internet Security's Safe Browsing Toolbar extension. Hopefully there'll be a fix sometime soon. :|

Globally, it looks like there's a long list of unhappy 4.0.1 installations.

User avatar
tronador
5000 or more caches found
5000 or more caches found
Posts: 1545
Joined: 04 November 05 10:18 pm
Location: Lidcombe,Sydney, NSW

Re: Firefox 4*

Post by tronador » 08 May 11 11:10 pm

Works ok for me on windows 7. Same speed as before.

Post Reply