HELP! How to Set up Wi-Fi

Discussion about software such as GSAK, OziExplorer etc, as well as all things hardware, GPSrs, laptops, PDAs, paperless caching, cables etc
User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6970
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Re: HELP! How to Set up Wi-Fi

Post by CraigRat » 22 April 10 7:29 pm

A router is a term for a ANY network device that connects two or more networks together.

What you need is a Wireless Router, and they are pretty cheap things to acquire nowadays.

User avatar
Camstal
50 or more caches found
50 or more caches found
Posts: 319
Joined: 28 April 07 7:44 am
Twitter: Camstal
Location: Emerald, QLD
Contact:

Re: HELP! How to Set up Wi-Fi

Post by Camstal » 23 April 10 8:58 am

Ok...Sorry for all these questions, but heres another one...I accidently disabled the Local Area Connection on my laptop and now when I connect the Wired Ethernet Cable to the Laptop, it won't connect or let me use the Internet.

User avatar
Map Monkey
1050 or more caches found
1050 or more caches found
Posts: 2214
Joined: 08 April 04 3:06 pm
Location: Banana Republic
Contact:

Re: HELP! How to Set up Wi-Fi

Post by Map Monkey » 23 April 10 9:05 am

re-enable it then :P

What operating system and version??

mm

User avatar
Camstal
50 or more caches found
50 or more caches found
Posts: 319
Joined: 28 April 07 7:44 am
Twitter: Camstal
Location: Emerald, QLD
Contact:

Re: HELP! How to Set up Wi-Fi

Post by Camstal » 23 April 10 9:06 am

Windows 7...Don't know the version

User avatar
Map Monkey
1050 or more caches found
1050 or more caches found
Posts: 2214
Joined: 08 April 04 3:06 pm
Location: Banana Republic
Contact:

Re: HELP! How to Set up Wi-Fi

Post by Map Monkey » 23 April 10 9:12 am

go to "network and sharing center"...several ways to get there, easy to type that into the search area on the start menu.

Click on any cross shown should fix that connection.

Otherwise, type in "view network connections" and fix the LAN from that screen.

mm

User avatar
Camstal
50 or more caches found
50 or more caches found
Posts: 319
Joined: 28 April 07 7:44 am
Twitter: Camstal
Location: Emerald, QLD
Contact:

Re: HELP! How to Set up Wi-Fi

Post by Camstal » 23 April 10 9:24 am

Ok...All sorted-Thanks all of you for your generous help!

User avatar
Map Monkey
1050 or more caches found
1050 or more caches found
Posts: 2214
Joined: 08 April 04 3:06 pm
Location: Banana Republic
Contact:

Re: HELP! How to Set up Wi-Fi

Post by Map Monkey » 23 April 10 9:26 am

leave the money on the fridge \:D/

mm

User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6970
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Re: HELP! How to Set up Wi-Fi

Post by CraigRat » 23 April 10 9:27 am

And DON"T TOUCH ANYTHING AGAIN :lol:

(actually, you'll learn a lot about stuff like this from breaking it, so keep on breaking stuff (just make sure you fix it again!!))

User avatar
squalid
2700 or more caches found
2700 or more caches found
Posts: 255
Joined: 06 February 04 12:36 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: HELP! How to Set up Wi-Fi

Post by squalid » 23 April 10 9:33 am

caughtatwork wrote:Router != Wireless
Jeez c@w, any of the non-programmers out there would interpret this as "Router REALLY equals Wireless". :)

Post Reply