Garmin Australian Topo V Garmin City Navigator NT

Discussion about software such as GSAK, OziExplorer etc, as well as all things hardware, GPSrs, laptops, PDAs, paperless caching, cables etc
Post Reply
User avatar
Teglian
450 or more roots tripped over
450 or more roots tripped over
Posts: 136
Joined: 05 August 07 12:45 am
Location: Kambah, ACT

Garmin Australian Topo V Garmin City Navigator NT

Post by Teglian » 01 November 09 11:15 pm

Hey

Looking at both the Topo maps and the Navigator maps from Garmin, just wondering which one is better for caching? Basically I'm looking for something that will direct me while I'm driving to a cache.

Thanks

Tegs

Skippy
Posts: 325
Joined: 02 December 03 2:42 pm
Location: Adelaide

Re: Garmin Australian Topo V Garmin City Navigator NT

Post by Skippy » 02 November 09 9:23 am

The Garmin Topo will be better because it also has contours and can navigator down some tracks

User avatar
Teglian
450 or more roots tripped over
450 or more roots tripped over
Posts: 136
Joined: 05 August 07 12:45 am
Location: Kambah, ACT

Re: Garmin Australian Topo V Garmin City Navigator NT

Post by Teglian » 02 November 09 9:26 am

Do you have a Dakota 20? I'm just trying to put some caches on there but other then going through the mygarmin website which is extremely slow, I've got no idea how to do it so it shows up as geocaches and not just waypoints. (Currently I'm uploading them from mapsource onto the gps).

Echo
1800 or more caches found
1800 or more caches found
Posts: 281
Joined: 02 December 07 8:29 am
Location: Cranbourne East, Victoria

Re: Garmin Australian Topo V Garmin City Navigator NT

Post by Echo » 02 November 09 11:43 am

Just bought a new 20 & started using it on the weekend. Very impressed! :D
Do you have GSAK?
If so, I found it easiest to load the caches through it. Mind you I have yet to read the manual... [-X

As for topo vs navigator, I had no idea either so I went with the navigator for on other reason other than that most of our caching is done in the surburbs.

User avatar
Teglian
450 or more roots tripped over
450 or more roots tripped over
Posts: 136
Joined: 05 August 07 12:45 am
Location: Kambah, ACT

Re: Garmin Australian Topo V Garmin City Navigator NT

Post by Teglian » 02 November 09 11:45 am

Thanks, I've just tried GSAK and it's fantastic!

User avatar
ma77hew
2350 or more caches found
2350 or more caches found
Posts: 54
Joined: 04 April 08 10:48 pm
Location: Brahma Lodge, South Australia
Contact:

Re: Garmin Australian Topo V Garmin City Navigator NT

Post by ma77hew » 02 November 09 11:33 pm

Horses for courses:
Definitely Topo for walking. You can easily see if there are any bodies of water or steep changes in elevation in your path.
As for driving, I haven't tried City Navigator, but I find my TomTom is way better at road navigation than Garmin Topo. The topo map/software (in road navigation mode) will firstly indicate which direction to travel on a road. Then as you get a bit closer to the next turn it will display the name of the street you need to turn onto, but gives no indication of which way to turn until about 100m away when the unit beeps and the display changes again. On a busy road, such a sudden lane change can be difficult and I've missed many a turn. A dedicated road navigator will give you fair audible and visible warning of when & which way to turn, whereas the Garmin handhelds just beep quietly and don't display much info.
I cache with a Garmin Oregon 400t (on the trail), and TomTom One v3 (in the car). They have their respective roles and are rubbish at doing each other's job. By having the two units, I don't have to constantly swap profiles & stick the handheld in and out of a cradle. I just toss it on the passenger seat, tap the TomTom screen several times and I'm off to the next cache.

User avatar
Ksix
500 or more caches logged
500 or more caches logged
Posts: 85
Joined: 25 November 07 10:47 am
Location: Brisbane

Re: Garmin Australian Topo V Garmin City Navigator NT

Post by Ksix » 03 November 09 2:00 pm

We have an oregon 300 with City Navigator and find it works really well for caching. Great for navigating close to the cache.

As most of the caches we have done did not invlove long walks through bushland etc, we haven't had much use for the topo maps, but expect they would come into their own for those extended bush treks.

User avatar
bshwckr
500 or more caches logged
500 or more caches logged
Posts: 214
Joined: 08 August 06 1:51 pm
Twitter: bshwckr
Location: Cessnock

Re: Garmin Australian Topo V Garmin City Navigator NT

Post by bshwckr » 07 November 09 7:44 pm

Teglian wrote:Hey

Looking at both the Topo maps and the Navigator maps from Garmin, just wondering which one is better for caching? Basically I'm looking for something that will direct me while I'm driving to a cache.

Thanks

Tegs


Garmin Topo V2 works just fine for navigating to an address and as for caching, you also get the walking tracks. Out of all the commercial maps I have looked at, only Garmin Topo V2 had the complete walking track over Mt Solitary. I have heard that Oztopo has more coverage off track but for the areas that I frequent, Oztopo V2 is superior.

Neavesie
Posts: 3
Joined: 08 July 09 11:39 pm
Location: Ballarat

Re: Garmin Australian Topo V Garmin City Navigator NT

Post by Neavesie » 17 December 09 2:02 pm

Im assuming that only 1 map can be used at one time.
I want to use Cmaps and city maps on weekends and topo during the week.
does this means ill have to keep swapping the SD cards around?

User avatar
bshwckr
500 or more caches logged
500 or more caches logged
Posts: 214
Joined: 08 August 06 1:51 pm
Twitter: bshwckr
Location: Cessnock

Re: Garmin Australian Topo V Garmin City Navigator NT

Post by bshwckr » 17 December 09 5:11 pm

Neavesie wrote:Im assuming that only 1 map can be used at one time.
I want to use Cmaps and city maps on weekends and topo during the week.
does this means ill have to keep swapping the SD cards around?

Head over to http://www.gpsaustralia.net/ and do a search of the forums. I am sure you will find the answer. If not, ask the question.

ian-and-penny
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
Posts: 1067
Joined: 13 October 03 11:45 am
Location: Travelling Australia using a Garmin Montana 650T

Re: Garmin Australian Topo V Garmin City Navigator NT

Post by ian-and-penny » 18 December 09 3:27 pm

Neavesie wrote:Im assuming that only 1 map can be used at one time.


Nope. In my Oregon, you can have more than one map loaded, and the GPS "layers" them.

You can turn on more than one map at a time.

User avatar
jyetara
700 or more Caches found
700 or more Caches  found
Posts: 125
Joined: 11 May 08 10:56 pm
Location: Cranbourne
Contact:

Re: Garmin Australian Topo V Garmin City Navigator NT

Post by jyetara » 19 December 09 10:20 pm

You can use several maps at once as it layers them yep.

I can use my Oregon 550 running City Nav NT 2010, Topo V2, OzTopo, ShonkyMaps, & Bluechart all running at once.

User avatar
The Explorer
Posts: 153
Joined: 20 August 04 8:48 pm
Location: South West Western Australia

Re: Garmin Australian Topo V Garmin City Navigator NT

Post by The Explorer » 19 December 09 11:54 pm

jyetara wrote:You can use several maps at once as it layers them yep.

I can use my Oregon 550 running City Nav NT 2010, Topo V2, OzTopo, ShonkyMaps, & Bluechart all running at once.


Keep in mind that some maps will over ride others - doubt if you can see all the detail from all the maps at once (in fact Im sure you cant). You can have all the maps loaded to the sd card/internal memory but you will need to go to the setup menu - maps, to turn off and on the various map sets so you can see specific detail. Some map sets are "transparent" and will be visible over another map set (eg contours australia) but there is no way you could view, for example ...City Nav NT 2010, Topo V2, OzTopo, ShonkyMaps all at the same time as you suggest by the comment "all running at once". If you had all these running at onceyou would only be able to view one of them.....from a website
Quote
"When more than one mapset is loaded for the same area and more than one mapset is enabled, only the highest priority enabled mapset will display. An exception is transparent maps (such as OZtopo 20M Contours) which will display on top of the highest priority map.
The priority order is as follows;
- City Navigator
- MetroGuide
- BlueCharts
- Tracks4Australia
- WorldMap
- the receivers basemap "

Cheers
Greg

Neavesie
Posts: 3
Joined: 08 July 09 11:39 pm
Location: Ballarat

Re: Garmin Australian Topo V Garmin City Navigator NT

Post by Neavesie » 21 December 09 4:16 pm

So.. if you had an Oregon 400t and added Blue charts as a layer, you would have a complete and well detailed map source of land and water.
If im understanding this correctly?

User avatar
The Explorer
Posts: 153
Joined: 20 August 04 8:48 pm
Location: South West Western Australia

Re: Garmin Australian Topo V Garmin City Navigator NT

Post by The Explorer » 22 December 09 9:14 am

Neavesie wrote:So.. if you had an Oregon 400t and added Blue charts as a layer, you would have a complete and well detailed map source of land and water.
If im understanding this correctly?


Well, you will have access to the Topo map and the Blue Chart map if thats what you mean...but you wont be able to view both sets of information at the same time i.e. a merged land and water map is not created. On my GPS the Blue chart map over rides the Garmin Topo Map so if I want to see detail on land I have to "disable" the Blue Chart Map and have the Aus Topo Map enable via Setup - Map Inormation - Map Information Select Map.

Cheers
Greg

Post Reply