Garmin Oregon Geocache 'button' for multi's

Discussion about software such as GSAK, OziExplorer etc, as well as all things hardware, GPSrs, laptops, PDAs, paperless caching, cables etc
Post Reply
User avatar
Elmer_Stratty
200 or more found
200 or more found
Posts: 18
Joined: 23 April 09 10:21 am
Location: Stratford - Victoria

Garmin Oregon Geocache 'button' for multi's

Post by Elmer_Stratty » 27 April 09 4:56 pm

G'day all,

I'm new to this geocaching stuff after having purchased an Oregon 400t a week ago. :D

I've noticed when I download a multi-cache using the "send to GPS' from GC.com that the co-ordinates for the cache as well as other waypoints are downloaded. How do I access these waypoints whilst still in the geocache mode? I have been either manually entering them and then 'go-to' through the waypoint manager or guessing, sometimes incorrectly :oops: , which downloaded waypoint to use based on 'nearest to'

Anyone got and ideas or suggestions - and thanks in advance!

:idea:

E!

User avatar
setsujoku
3500 or more caches found
3500 or more caches found
Posts: 1422
Joined: 28 December 04 5:46 pm
Twitter: BGNWP
Location: Athelstone, SA
Contact:

Post by setsujoku » 27 April 09 5:18 pm

I haven't used the function from GC.com but if it's like the way that GSAK handles things, they could be showing up as POI's :?:

Take a look under Where To and then Custom POI's and see if they show up in there :D

User avatar
Elmer_Stratty
200 or more found
200 or more found
Posts: 18
Joined: 23 April 09 10:21 am
Location: Stratford - Victoria

Post by Elmer_Stratty » 27 April 09 8:16 pm

Thanks for replying Sets,

I've checked 'Where to?' and there is only, 'find another', 'stop navigation' or 'recalculate on road'.

The points are listed as waypoints but have no real reference to the original geocache. There must be an easier way to use these waypoints without jumping out of a 'cache' and going through the waypoint manager.

:?
E!

User avatar
setsujoku
3500 or more caches found
3500 or more caches found
Posts: 1422
Joined: 28 December 04 5:46 pm
Twitter: BGNWP
Location: Athelstone, SA
Contact:

Post by setsujoku » 28 April 09 3:02 pm

Ah nup, I don't think there is. I'll try remember to ask A tonight, as she does most of the navigating and has used MY Oregon more than what I have, but I'm pretty sure that you do have to jump out of it to get there

User avatar
Big Matt and Shell
6500 or more caches found
6500 or more caches found
Posts: 1905
Joined: 11 February 07 9:53 pm
Twitter: BigMattandShell
Contact:

Post by Big Matt and Shell » 28 April 09 3:36 pm

Elmer_Stratty wrote:Thanks for replying Sets,

I've checked 'Where to?' and there is only, 'find another', 'stop navigation' or 'recalculate on road'.
<P>Your right, you have to find another, Waypoint and then the WP. They are not found through the Geocache menu. Painfull I know. The other option is to use the map screen and "click" on them.

User avatar
Elmer_Stratty
200 or more found
200 or more found
Posts: 18
Joined: 23 April 09 10:21 am
Location: Stratford - Victoria

Post by Elmer_Stratty » 30 April 09 8:04 pm

Big Matt and Shell wrote:Your right, you have to find another, Waypoint and then the WP. They are not found through the Geocache menu. Painfull I know. The other option is to use the map screen and "click" on them.
Thanks Matt,

BUGGER :evil: My problem was with a multi cache with multi waypoints I wasn't able to decipher which waypoint to go to next as the had names that meant nothing to me. I reckong you're right using the map screen - sounds the quickest, but I still have the same prob in not being sure which waypoint to go to next. Might have to wait until the next upgrade - Mr Garmin might read this! :D

Thanks again

E!

User avatar
Fairly Magic
500 or more caches logged
500 or more caches logged
Posts: 278
Joined: 30 July 05 9:02 pm
Location: Hobart, Tasmania

Post by Fairly Magic » 30 April 09 9:42 pm

HI

I've been playing with this a bit today, as GSAK has a new upgrade that has worked on child waypoints. I'm still learning (and full of drugs after oral surgery, so excuse my non clear ramblings) but by following the child waypoint help file, I've now got all my child way points with the initial caches id and then a sequential number for the multi waypoints using the smart name function.

Next I want the smart name to be the cache name rather than the GC id code, and I'm sure it can work like that but I'm fading fast. :shock:

Cheers Quilter

User avatar
Elmer_Stratty
200 or more found
200 or more found
Posts: 18
Joined: 23 April 09 10:21 am
Location: Stratford - Victoria

Post by Elmer_Stratty » 01 May 09 12:23 am

Thanks Quilter,


I'll install GSAK on the laptop tomorrow and give it a go.


E!

User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6970
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Post by CraigRat » 05 May 09 10:25 pm

Woo Hoo, my Oregon 300 turned up today. Loaded the Oz TOPO maps and it's full 'o caches for the weekend!

User avatar
Fairly Magic
500 or more caches logged
500 or more caches logged
Posts: 278
Joined: 30 July 05 9:02 pm
Location: Hobart, Tasmania

Post by Fairly Magic » 08 May 09 10:01 am

Come on CraigRat, surely there is one local cache you can duckout and find with your new toy before the weekend :D

User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6970
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Post by CraigRat » 08 May 09 8:00 pm

Fairly Magic wrote:Come on CraigRat, surely there is one local cache you can duckout and find with your new toy before the weekend :D
Done! Love it!

Also, relating to the OP, GSAK loads the child waypoints as 'regular' waypoints that you can quickly call up the nearest waypoints by clicking the 'Where to?' icon.
(edited: got it all wrong before)

Works well.

Post Reply