View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 28 May 18 6:36 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Free Sat Nav for your phone 
Author Message

GCA Found:
GCA Hidden:
Post Free Sat Nav for your phone
GPS related sat nav that I was surprised that even works in Australia, quite well, my only minor annoyance is that the only english accent is of course American, not as annoying as the asterisk sounds though and can probably be easily replaced with other sound files I'm hoping.

http://www.amazegps.com


08 December 08 2:29 pm
User avatar

Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Posts: 15254
Location: Melbourne
GCA Found: 1065
GCA Hidden: 298
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds1000 GCA Finds
Post 
Moved to the appropriate forum.


08 December 08 8:18 pm
Profile E-mail WWW

GCA Found:
GCA Hidden:
Post 
I didn't think it was geocaching related, I need to play with it some more but it does have some non-driving features, but I haven't tried them yet.

In any case it works 1000x better than BB maps in Australia, but no sat images, but it isn't restricted to just the blackberry, it seems to be j2me so should work on any java capable phone with either BT GPS or built in.


08 December 08 8:38 pm
2000 or more caches found
2000 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 05 July 07 9:31 pm
Posts: 185
Location: Brisbane
GCA Found: 12
GCA Hidden: 3
Post 
It's free to download and use*.

*However you need to pay data charges for downloaded maps and once you are are out of reception area, it is no good.

My 6110, has all this built in and it doesn't cost a thing to use, if I wanted to I could even remove the sim card and still have turn by turn directions.


08 December 08 10:28 pm
Profile
6000 or more caches found
6000 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 04 February 04 10:55 pm
Posts: 4097
Location: Waitara, Sydney
GCA Found: 1357
GCA Hidden: 24
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds1000 GCA Finds
Post 
totalube wrote:
6110, has all this built in and it doesn't cost a thing to use, if I wanted to I could even remove the sim card and still have turn by turn directions.

<p>
Not sure about that - if I fire up the Navigator on the 6110 it initiate a 3G connection back to the network. Haven't tried it sans SIM card to see if it works.
<p>
Have to try it when I am seriously bush in a couple of days and will be outside Optus coverage range and see if it works.


08 December 08 10:47 pm
Profile E-mail

GCA Found:
GCA Hidden:
Post 
They explain on the site how to minimise data charges, but data is finally becoming reasonable, 10-15$/gig

Also they're planning to integrate with FoxyTag to alert you of fixed/mobile speed camera locations and allow you to help the community out by adding your own speed camera locations and removing mobile locations that aren't there any more.

I'll pay the $10/mo extra for that alone :D


08 December 08 11:13 pm
2000 or more caches found
2000 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 05 July 07 9:31 pm
Posts: 185
Location: Brisbane
GCA Found: 12
GCA Hidden: 3
Post 
richary wrote:
totalube wrote:
6110, has all this built in and it doesn't cost a thing to use, if I wanted to I could even remove the sim card and still have turn by turn directions.

<p>
Not sure about that - if I fire up the Navigator on the 6110 it initiate a 3G connection back to the network. Haven't tried it sans SIM card to see if it works.
<p>
Have to try it when I am seriously bush in a couple of days and will be outside Optus coverage range and see if it works.


I have placed my phone into offline mode and it is finding satellites as we speak, I have however disabled A-GPS which does use some data to fix it's location


08 December 08 11:38 pm
Profile

GCA Found:
GCA Hidden:
Post 
totalube wrote:
I have placed my phone into offline mode and it is finding satellites as we speak, I have however disabled A-GPS which does use some data to fix it's location


I think the question was more about the turn by turn nav, than simple GPS locations.


09 December 08 12:44 am

GCA Found:
GCA Hidden:
Post 
Just a followup on the FoxyRat service, I finally have a really decent use for google street images beyond just looking for caches ;)

The following locations are all speed camera sites (that FoxyRat doesn't have) but I managed to pull out of memory + thanks to those nice big speed signs the NSW police force put up before and after and of course the big speed signs painted on the road ! :) (well except for the variable zone near mt white north of Sydney.)

-31.756935,150.821241
-31.784162,150.896772
-33.979061,151.009591
-33.358046,151.343083
-33.496622,151.187426
-33.487749,151.184087

http://maps.google.com.au/maps?f=q&hl=e ... 99129&z=21


09 December 08 5:54 am

GCA Found:
GCA Hidden:
Post 
Oh and damned if I can find the camera at Burpengary Weighbridge, anyone able to pick it out on google maps at all?

I've only been past it twice since they installed it, would know the place by sight, but not on a sat image.


09 December 08 6:53 am
2000 or more caches found
2000 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 05 July 07 9:31 pm
Posts: 185
Location: Brisbane
GCA Found: 12
GCA Hidden: 3
Post 
delta_foxtrot2 wrote:
totalube wrote:
I have placed my phone into offline mode and it is finding satellites as we speak, I have however disabled A-GPS which does use some data to fix it's location


I think the question was more about the turn by turn nav, than simple GPS locations.


That's right! With my Nokia 6110, you can get turn by turn navigation without the need for an active network connection. It is all self contained in the phone. This is different from the replacement model 6120, the N95, and theN96, where you need to pay a subscription to use turn by turn navigation


09 December 08 1:48 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: 28 July 04 6:40 pm
Posts: 1171
Location: Mullumbimby, NSW
GCA Found: 51
GCA Hidden: 21
Post 
It works! Didn't have the new Tugan Bypass, and flattened my phone in 20 minutes, but it's nice to have on there. ;)


02 January 09 1:55 am
Profile
6000 or more caches found
6000 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 04 February 04 10:55 pm
Posts: 4097
Location: Waitara, Sydney
GCA Found: 1357
GCA Hidden: 24
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds1000 GCA Finds
Post 
totalube wrote:
That's right! With my Nokia 6110, you can get turn by turn navigation without the need for an active network connection. It is all self contained in the phone.

<p>
You are right - the phone still happily brought up the map when I was seriously bush a while ago and well out of range. Didn't try using it to navigate though. Wonder why it grabs a 3G connection when I fire up Nokia Navigator though (on the 6110).


02 January 09 8:30 pm
Profile E-mail
2000 or more caches found
2000 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 05 July 07 9:31 pm
Posts: 185
Location: Brisbane
GCA Found: 12
GCA Hidden: 3
Post 
richary wrote:
You are right - the phone still happily brought up the map when I was seriously bush a while ago and well out of range. Didn't try using it to navigate though. Wonder why it grabs a 3G connection when I fire up Nokia Navigator though (on the 6110).


If you have A-GPS on it will use the data connection. I have turned it off on my phone, and it still connects fine and is accurate enough for road navigation.


03 January 09 3:02 pm
Profile

GCA Found:
GCA Hidden:
Post 
totalube wrote:
If you have A-GPS on it will use the data connection. I have turned it off on my phone, and it still connects fine and is accurate enough for road navigation.


Do you know which carriers in Australia and under what circumstances actually charge for A-GPS data?


03 January 09 7:11 pm
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Forum theme by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forum/DivisionCore.