TOMTOM One XL- Top Tips

Discussion about software such as GSAK, OziExplorer etc, as well as all things hardware, GPSrs, laptops, PDAs, paperless caching, cables etc
The Wandering Wilkos
900 answers to the unknown mysteries of life

TOMTOM One XL- Top Tips

Post by The Wandering Wilkos » 15 September 08 10:53 pm

Im a bit of a Newbie to this toy, but bang for buck Ive found these little beasts to be the best Caching buddies around.

Did everyone know that they can easily be set up to read HTML. Yep thats Caching notes, complete with finders logs, cords and decrypted hints. Once its set up its as simple as "Save as" to TOMTOM? Word documents saved as HTML, normal Text files, they are covered as well. With the standard memory theyll fit about 200 Caches pages without too much trouble. They even have a zoom function to increase the font size for those more experienced Cachers that need glasses and are too slack to take them Caching. They have even included a search facility. All of this functionality is there but not just turned on.

With a little tweak you can copy *.loc files under a nice neat location (say an assault on Port Stephens). I just download and copied across 100 + caches into it in under 3 minutes. Gone are the days of manually inputting co-ordinates for Caches.

I just need to find someone that can set it up to play DVDs to keep the Geokids entertained on the way there and Ill be happy

Anyone have any other secrets to share?

tronador
6500 or more caches found

Post by tronador » 15 September 08 11:43 pm

Can you tell me how you copied the .loc file to your tom tom. I have a tom tom go 720 but don't know how to add coords to a poi. I can create a poi but don't know how to get anything into it. well except one by one manually. Very tedious.
When you added your .loc files, do they show up as you drive along, therefore telling you a cache is nearby???

The Wandering Wilkos

Post by The Wandering Wilkos » 16 September 08 12:53 am