Help - dropped GPS and screen now not working.

Discussion about software such as GSAK, OziExplorer etc, as well as all things hardware, GPSrs, laptops, PDAs, paperless caching, cables etc
Post Reply
User avatar
angermanagement
550 or more Caches found
550 or more Caches found
Posts: 155
Joined: 29 October 06 9:19 pm
Location: Brisbane, Qld

Help - dropped GPS and screen now not working.

Post by angermanagement » 21 August 08 8:03 pm

Hi, Out caching today and dropped the GPS on sand. Bugger :evil: :evil:<br> <br> GPS Screen still on but frozen initially. Turned GPS off and on, screen still frozen. Turned off again but when turing back on the screen was not working. <br>GPS making noises like it is on but nothing showing on the screen. I am able to turn back light on but nothing else on screen. <br><br>
A couple of questions. <br><br>
Is it completely broken or is it fixable? A do it at home job or into a repair? Can anyone recommend a repairer in the Brisbane area?
<br><br> Any help would be greatly appreciated.

<br><br>The GPS is a Garmin 60CSX and i don't think it is in warranty still and was brought over ebay from America.

pjamesk
300 or more found
300 or more found
Posts: 211
Joined: 27 April 06 9:33 pm
Location: Hobart

Post by pjamesk » 21 August 08 9:01 pm

Have a look here http://www.exploroz.com/Forum/Topic/571 ... enu_Static
theres a few links

User avatar
tronador
4500 or more caches found
4500 or more caches found
Posts: 1542
Joined: 04 November 05 10:18 pm
Location: Lidcombe,Sydney, NSW

Post by tronador » 21 August 08 9:26 pm

try removing the batteries, then reinserting and then turn on. Might work, if something is stuck in the on position.

User avatar
angermanagement
550 or more Caches found
550 or more Caches found
Posts: 155
Joined: 29 October 06 9:19 pm
Location: Brisbane, Qld

Post by angermanagement » 22 August 08 7:58 am

I have tried the batteries and I dusted the sand out of the battery compartment. Took the GPS apart but couldn't see much that was obvious. ANy other suggestions appreciated. Very unhappy with my gps :cry: :cry:

User avatar
Map Monkey
1050 or more caches found
1050 or more caches found
Posts: 2214
Joined: 08 April 04 3:06 pm
Location: Banana Republic
Contact:

Post by Map Monkey » 22 August 08 9:49 am

You could try to access the "GPS system check" screen by holding down the ENTR button whilst turning on. This "may" show something other than the blank screen, which may mean a connection problem or similiar.

A firm tap on the palm of your hand may help if it a connection issue....use at your own risk though. :P

If all else fails, a hard reset (holding down ENTR and PAGE whilst turning on) may be a last check before crying. :shock:

mm

Skippy&lambchops
3000 or more caches found
3000 or more caches found
Posts: 295
Joined: 08 October 03 1:58 pm
Location: Campbelltown SA

Post by Skippy&lambchops » 22 August 08 10:21 am

Will it still work with moving maps via the PC, can you upload and download waypoints and tracks to the unit.

User avatar
Wingaap
1000 or more caches found
1000 or more caches found
Posts: 855
Joined: 19 August 05 11:47 am
Location: Ashgrove

Post by Wingaap » 22 August 08 1:19 pm

Reseat the ribbon cable ie the cable which connects the screen to the main board. Be careful with the clip.

Dooghan
Posts: 671
Joined: 06 April 03 5:03 pm
Location: Launceston TAS

Post by Dooghan » 22 August 08 3:02 pm

I wonder if it's the SD card just not seated right. Just a thought.

User avatar
Dik:
500 or more caches logged
500 or more caches logged
Posts: 370
Joined: 22 May 06 6:56 pm
Location: Adelaide SA Garmin 60CSx

Post by Dik: » 22 August 08 6:43 pm

Dooghan wrote:I wonder if it's the SD card just not seated right. Just a thought.
Unfortunately not. I have had the SD card unseated and also fail. The unit works fine, just reverts to the base map.

User avatar
angermanagement
550 or more Caches found
550 or more Caches found
Posts: 155
Joined: 29 October 06 9:19 pm
Location: Brisbane, Qld

Post by angermanagement » 24 August 08 7:46 pm

I am so very happy. :lol: :lol: No I didn't win the lotto. Wingaap fixed my GPS. Yipee. Yipee. <br><br>Thanks so much for all your suggestions. Most were tried. <br><BR>
But the problem was the ribbon Cable. Which took Wingapp fixed in about 45 minutes of struggling with the plastic pieces to fix. Again thanks to Wingaap for fixing it. Very happy.

User avatar
Wingaap
1000 or more caches found
1000 or more caches found
Posts: 855
Joined: 19 August 05 11:47 am
Location: Ashgrove

Post by Wingaap » 25 August 08 11:31 am

Turned out to be a problem similar to that experienced by the eTrex as documented in other places.

The clip holding the ribbon cable for the screen had released easing pressure on said ribbon cable.

An easy enough procedure...just take it easy on the hard plastic fittings.

It was great to see the smile on AM's face :D

User avatar
edmil
1000 or more caches found
1000 or more caches found
Posts: 149
Joined: 24 June 05 11:01 am
Location: Upwey

Post by edmil » 25 August 08 5:05 pm

Well done wingapp.

Will you now be the resident forum GPS fixerupperer :twisted:

I have a gps at home that seems to read maps the wrong way, Continues to beep when the cache has be located by it, Batteries seem to fade after about half a day - surprising works better after being affected by coffee. :lol: What do ya reckon.

Crisp image
350 ? I am the lizard queen
350 ? I am the lizard queen
Posts: 132
Joined: 11 July 06 1:51 pm
Location: Traralgon Vic

Post by Crisp image » 25 August 08 5:06 pm

Of course If you had attended those anger management classes you may not have thrown it on to the sand in frustration in the first place!!
Regards
Crisp Image

Post Reply