new server - beta testing [closed]

Discussion about the Geocaching Australia web site
User avatar
ideology
Posts: 2763
Joined: 28 March 03 4:01 pm
Location: Sydney
Contact:

new server - beta testing [closed]

Post by ideology » 09 June 05 9:57 pm

we have refined the menus and written some login/logout code and would like help testing it

it is at http://beta.geocaching.com.au

we deliberately won't give you any instructions! we want it to be as simple as possible

can you please take a look and let us know how the login and the menus work

note: most of the menus don't go anywhere at the moment, so you'll get a 404 page. we mainly want to know whether they drop down or not

we would appreciate knowing which browser you are using

thanks!
Last edited by ideology on 05 August 05 9:07 am, edited 2 times in total.

swampgecko
It's all in how you get there....
It's all in how you get there....
Posts: 2181
Joined: 28 March 03 6:00 pm

Post by swampgecko » 09 June 05 10:01 pm

Everything seems fine so far for me, I am using Firefox 1.0.3

Looks good boys :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

acts2youthgroup
4000 or more? I'm officially obsessed.
4000 or more? I'm officially obsessed.
Posts: 696
Joined: 16 September 04 7:59 pm
Location: Kilsyth

Post by acts2youthgroup » 09 June 05 10:04 pm

I am using explorer 6 and seems to work fine, although seems a little wide.

president & 1st lady
1250 or more geocaches found
1250 or more geocaches found
Posts: 482
Joined: 17 March 05 9:29 pm
Location: Dubbo, NSW

Post by president & 1st lady » 09 June 05 10:05 pm

Yup, the menus drop down. Looks good, easy on the eyes. We're using Internet Explorer.

1st Lady

User avatar
Team Piggy
Posts: 1601
Joined: 02 April 03 5:16 pm
Location: South Australia

Post by Team Piggy » 09 June 05 10:05 pm

I have to scroll right to get the whole page in. apart from that seems Ok.

User avatar
riblit
It's the journey.
It's the journey.
Posts: 3444
Joined: 04 April 03 6:30 pm
Location: Land Grant of John Campbell

Post by riblit » 09 June 05 10:24 pm

looks good and automatically logged me in.

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16370
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Post by caughtatwork » 09 June 05 11:08 pm

Login worked fine for me.

How does one logout? I can click the logged in as caughtatwork to get to a logout button, but that's not intuitive.

Also, when I untick the 'remember me', login then close that window, then next time I go back, I'm still logged in. Rogue cookie? Either way, I would have expected that it should have delegted the cookie to say I was logged in, but doesn't appear to. So even though I said don't remember me, it did.

Also, the textboxes have really large text when you enter your username in them. Seems out of place.

Netscape 7.1 the 'drop downs' on the menu are all the way over on the left hand side of the page. This makes for very hard navigation.

Image

As others have mentioned the page is too wide for IE.

Image

User avatar
riblit
It's the journey.
It's the journey.
Posts: 3444
Joined: 04 April 03 6:30 pm
Location: Land Grant of John Campbell

Post by riblit » 09 June 05 11:24 pm

IE renders the page with a larger text size than Firefox, cutting off the end of the 'm' on Item

User avatar
zactyl
Posts: 1171
Joined: 28 July 04 6:40 pm
Location: Mullumbimby, NSW

Post by zactyl » 09 June 05 11:36 pm

The Headings are fine, but I can't read the rest of the page, are you going to make an English version? :P

Geof
450 or more roots tripped over
450 or more roots tripped over
Posts: 1232
Joined: 10 August 04 12:26 pm
Location: Yarra Ranges

Post by Geof » 09 June 05 11:37 pm

Looks OK to me bar the width and the "remember me" box ticks it's self.
IE 5.5 here. Loged in and out fine :) . The rest looks like it will be good :) A fully finished and functional site may help people want to use it :)

Mix
450 or more roots tripped over
450 or more roots tripped over
Posts: 1399
Joined: 30 October 03 9:20 pm

Post by Mix » 09 June 05 11:38 pm

Netscape 7.2 for Mac works fine.
IE 5.2 for Mac log in works but drop downs do not
Firefox 1.0.4 for Mac works fine.
Safari 1.0.3 for Mac works fine

Mind Socket
Posts: 1329
Joined: 29 March 03 6:04 pm
Location: Gladesville, Sydney
Contact:

Post by Mind Socket » 09 June 05 11:56 pm

Looks good in FFox 1.0.4, apart from the excess width caused by the (usually invisible) Help dropdown.

- R

User avatar
roostaman
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
Posts: 233
Joined: 25 February 05 5:32 pm
Location: Home of THE Original Oz Mega, Wagga Wagga
Contact:

Post by roostaman » 10 June 05 12:42 am

FF 1.0.3 here & it is more friendlier. The forum links work already.
Drop downs are great.
The new forum fits in the window. The current ver is too wide.
I'd give it a 10/10, especially if the Help/support is a direct link to post a qery for help, rather than having to post on the forum.......
Roosta

User avatar
Chwiliwr
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
Posts: 896
Joined: 10 April 05 10:39 pm
Location: Leeming Western Australia

Post by Chwiliwr » 10 June 05 1:48 am

Tried in both Firefox and IE. Reported width problem with IE appears to be caused by vertical scroll bar appearing in IE which doesn't appear in Firefox. Another problem with IE is that it doesn't take the logon info with it to the forum unlike Firefox which did so.

Lt. Sniper
Outdoor Adventurer
Posts: 751
Joined: 12 April 04 11:27 pm
Location: Brisbane

Post by Lt. Sniper » 10 June 05 4:17 am

riblit wrote:IE renders the page with a larger text size than Firefox, cutting off the end of the 'm' on Item
Mind Socket wrote:Looks good in FFox 1.0.4, apart from the excess width caused by the (usually invisible) Help dropdown.
Same for both. IE 6 & FF 1.0.4
I also tried Deer Park 1.0 and it rendered fine apart from the excess scroll width.

The beta sites coming along nicely!

Post Reply