Search for cache using map feature

Discussion about the Geocaching Australia web site
Post Reply
User avatar
tronador
4500 or more caches found
4500 or more caches found
Posts: 1542
Joined: 04 November 05 10:18 pm
Location: Lidcombe,Sydney, NSW

Search for cache using map feature

Post by tronador » 31 May 19 11:05 pm

I usually open the GCA map which loads all caches surrounding my home coords and I'm able to move the map around and the caches load as i move but tonight nothing. The cache s don't load, only those within a certain radius of my home coords. Is there a bug in the map?

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16032
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Search for cache using map feature

Post by caughtatwork » 02 June 19 11:15 am

What map? I don't know which on the many maps you might be looking at. Give us the URL please.

I just checked the AU and VIC maps and they work as expected. You need to move the map such that the centre of the map moves off the screen to get a new set of caches otherwise we would be sending caches for every time you moved the map even if it was just a metre or so.

User avatar
tronador
4500 or more caches found
4500 or more caches found
Posts: 1542
Joined: 04 November 05 10:18 pm
Location: Lidcombe,Sydney, NSW

Re: Search for cache using map feature

Post by tronador » 02 June 19 11:40 am

https://geocaching.com.au/cache/latlon. ... n=151.0421

When I move it away from my home coords it no longer loads but it always did in the past.

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16032
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Search for cache using map feature

Post by caughtatwork » 02 June 19 1:19 pm

Thanks for that. It'a always best to link to what you are doing so I can debug it.
The page should now behave as you expect. It was amended when the new archived search was pushed live last week but I now see it should not have been.

User avatar
tronador
4500 or more caches found
4500 or more caches found
Posts: 1542
Joined: 04 November 05 10:18 pm
Location: Lidcombe,Sydney, NSW

Re: Search for cache using map feature

Post by tronador » 02 June 19 4:41 pm

Thanks. Much appreciated.

User avatar
No_Tomorrow
Posts: 381
Joined: 08 January 09 8:55 pm
Twitter: Tink001
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Search for cache using map feature

Post by No_Tomorrow » 04 June 19 12:14 pm

caughtatwork wrote:Thanks for that. It'a always best to link to what you are doing so I can debug it.
The page should now behave as you expect. It was amended when the new archived search was pushed live last week but I now see it should not have been.
New archived search?
Just found it. Fantastic! Now I can delete the myriad of queries I have created (6 really, 2 of which I often change coords in). :D
=D>

Post Reply