View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 19 December 18 11:02 am



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Can't Update State on Moveable Cache. 
Author Message
700 or more Caches found
700 or more Caches  found
User avatar

Joined: 21 May 10 9:57 pm
Posts: 32
Location: The Channon, NSW
GCA Found: 161
GCA Hidden: 62
100 GCA Finds
Post Can't Update State on Moveable Cache.
Hey there!

I'm unable to update the state on my movable future dated published cache GA12629. It's stuck on NSW - but should be QLD. When I edit the cache, the change isn't saved. The co-ordinates point to a QLD location. Just thought it would be nice to have it all schmick before it becomes active.


24 August 18 6:52 pm
Profile E-mail
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
User avatar

Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Posts: 6892
Location: Launceston, TAS
GCA Found: 158
GCA Hidden: 44
100 GCA Finds
Post Re: Can't Update State on Moveable Cache.
Very wierd, it seems to insist coolangatta is in NSW. Looking in to it.


24 August 18 7:16 pm
Profile E-mail WWW
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
User avatar

Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Posts: 6892
Location: Launceston, TAS
GCA Found: 158
GCA Hidden: 44
100 GCA Finds
Post Re: Can't Update State on Moveable Cache.
I've manually changed the state for now, seems our geocoder is 100% certain it is in NSW :shock: :shock: :shock:


24 August 18 7:19 pm
Profile E-mail WWW
7000 or more caches found
7000 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 08 November 05 10:38 pm
Posts: 170
Location: Bendigo
GCA Found: 623
GCA Hidden: 94
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds
Post Re: Can't Update State on Moveable Cache.
Me too - it won't save the updated coordinates and changes the state to NSW.

GA6712


24 August 18 8:57 pm
Profile E-mail
700 or more Caches found
700 or more Caches  found
User avatar

Joined: 21 May 10 9:57 pm
Posts: 32
Location: The Channon, NSW
GCA Found: 161
GCA Hidden: 62
100 GCA Finds
Post Re: Can't Update State on Moveable Cache.
Perfect! Thanks for your help!


24 August 18 9:34 pm
Profile E-mail
Online
User avatar

Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Posts: 15756
Location: Melbourne
GCA Found: 1240
GCA Hidden: 333
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds1000 GCA Finds
Post Re: Can't Update State on Moveable Cache.
The Morris wrote:
Me too - it won't save the updated coordinates and changes the state to NSW.

GA6712

If it's not saving the co-ords, that generally means they are dodgy.
PM them to me and I'll check.
S37 E144 which is what the cache has is in NSW so the state won't change.


27 August 18 11:31 am
Profile E-mail WWW
Online
User avatar

Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Posts: 15756
Location: Melbourne
GCA Found: 1240
GCA Hidden: 333
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds1000 GCA Finds
Post Re: Can't Update State on Moveable Cache.
CraigRat wrote:
I've manually changed the state for now, seems our geocoder is 100% certain it is in NSW :shock: :shock: :shock:

This has been changed now.
We were getting the co-ords as they were listed and using the lat/lon to determine the state (as we have always done). At the borders this information is not reliable and so even though the location is in Qld, our data says it's in NSW. So I have updated the function to return the state from the geocoder. This of course will be problematical in countries that do not have states like NZ so I'll try and work something out.


27 August 18 11:40 am
Profile E-mail WWW
6500 or more caches found
6500 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 04 February 04 10:55 pm
Posts: 4113
Location: Waitara, Sydney
GCA Found: 1369
GCA Hidden: 26
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds1000 GCA Finds
Post Re: Can't Update State on Moveable Cache.
That's broken something :shock:

Quote:
Selected State Notice: Courtesy Notice
The Cache does not appear to be in the State selected, please re-check your co-ordinates.
You may be receiving this message if your cache is near a state border. If this is the case, please disregard this message


One is temporarily listed at the same coords as another of my caches 200 meters from home in Sydney, and another a bit further south though neither have been placed or published yet - just getting the GA numbers to put on the dinosaurs. GA12833 & 12834.

EDIT: I just realised I had listed them as Traditional, editing to Moveable has removed that warning about the state, so maybe the problem is only happening with trads?


27 August 18 10:07 pm
Profile E-mail
Online
User avatar

Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Posts: 15756
Location: Melbourne
GCA Found: 1240
GCA Hidden: 333
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds1000 GCA Finds
Post Re: Can't Update State on Moveable Cache.
Thanks for the report. Moveables don't do that check, but the fact that it has come up for a traditional has highlighted an issue. The API sometimes returns NSW or New South Wales depending on the data that has been coded for certain areas. In this case it was returning New South Wales so was failing the "is the state the same state" check which was comparing the listing state of NSW. It's all a bit technical but it is now corrected thanks to your report.


28 August 18 10:09 am
Profile E-mail WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Forum theme by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forum/DivisionCore.