Report Site Issues Here

Discussion about the Geocaching Australia web site
nutwood
Posts: 393
Joined: 01 April 11 6:02 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: Report Site Issues Here

Post by nutwood » 11 March 20 3:46 pm

caughtatwork wrote:
17 February 20 8:06 am
It is definitely something at your end.

I replaced your encrypted password with mine, directly in the database (so I have no idea what your password it).
I can log in as nutwood into the forum.
I can log in as nutwood on the main site.

As CR suggests, this looks like a cookie issue and that's something on your computer that we can't resolve.
Interesting. Whatever you have done has fixed the problem. I was struggling to see it as an issue at this end as, during the time I've been having the problem, there's been a lot of changes at my end, including a new, larger SSD installed. Cookies have been cleared numerous times, as has just about everything else that could be cleaned up without losing actual files.
Anyway, I tried today and logged straight in to the main site. The forum I have always been able to log into so all's good. Now I just have to find where I wrote down the co-ordinates of the cache I hid in the NT!

User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6984
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Re: Report Site Issues Here

Post by CraigRat » 12 March 20 2:49 pm

We have done nothing, good to hear it's working.

nutwood
Posts: 393
Joined: 01 April 11 6:02 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: Report Site Issues Here

Post by nutwood » 12 March 20 2:59 pm

CraigRat wrote:
12 March 20 2:49 pm
We have done nothing, good to hear it's working.
Seems to have come good since C@W did his log in as this was the first time I've tried since then. It was a weird problem as it wasn't ignoring the password. With a correct password, it would return to the main page but I wouldn't be logged in, however an incorrect password brought up the password error message. It was thought I was being logged out, the instant I was logged in.

User avatar
No_Tomorrow
Posts: 463
Joined: 08 January 09 8:55 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Report Site Issues Here

Post by No_Tomorrow » 06 April 20 2:41 pm

Hi. There is a problem with the Line Intersect tool in the Toolbox. I understand it is in Beta stage, but I can't even try it because there are only 3 text boxes instead of 4. "Co-ordinates(3)" has a heading, but no way to enter the coordinates.

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16274
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Report Site Issues Here

Post by caughtatwork » 06 April 20 2:53 pm

Thanks.
A styling issue render the boxes incomplete.
Should be working now.

User avatar
No_Tomorrow
Posts: 463
Joined: 08 January 09 8:55 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Report Site Issues Here

Post by No_Tomorrow » 06 April 20 6:11 pm

Thanks. Looking good now. :)

User avatar
Richary
6500 or more caches found
6500 or more caches found
Posts: 4156
Joined: 04 February 04 10:55 pm
Location: Waitara, Sydney

Re: Report Site Issues Here

Post by Richary » 07 April 20 6:40 pm

I am trying to do one of the Locationless jigsaw puzzles (GA14609) and to log it I need to enter a codeword. But when I click on the button to get the codeword (presumably I tell it what the word was the jigidi thing gave me when I completed it) I get the message

This geocache is not a type that may have questions and answers.

I see Shifter Brains had the same problem on this cache.

User avatar
oldfella
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
Posts: 425
Joined: 08 September 07 5:50 pm
Location: Innes Park QLD

Re: Report Site Issues Here

Post by oldfella » 07 April 20 7:55 pm

GA14609. When I completed the Jig Saw I had no problem with this one.

User avatar
Richary
6500 or more caches found
6500 or more caches found
Posts: 4156
Joined: 04 February 04 10:55 pm
Location: Waitara, Sydney

Re: Report Site Issues Here

Post by Richary » 07 April 20 8:16 pm

Did you have to generate a codeword? I tried the one Jigidi had given me but that didn't work.

User avatar
oldfella
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
Posts: 425
Joined: 08 September 07 5:50 pm
Location: Innes Park QLD

Re: Report Site Issues Here

Post by oldfella » 07 April 20 9:27 pm

Codeword appears when you complete the Jig Saw and when you log your find there is a box under the emoji's to enter that word

User avatar
Richary
6500 or more caches found
6500 or more caches found
Posts: 4156
Joined: 04 February 04 10:55 pm
Location: Waitara, Sydney

Re: Report Site Issues Here

Post by Richary » 07 April 20 9:47 pm

Ahh, I had tried it in all caps as displayed, or with the first letter capitalised and the rest lower case. It worked with it all in lower case. A trap for the unwary. Have edited my log to provide it as a pointer for others. Thanks.

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16274
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Report Site Issues Here

Post by caughtatwork » 08 April 20 9:20 am

This has nothing to do with the site. The geocacher who set up the geocache incorrectly created a virtual with a Q&A section, then converted it to a locationless with the hopes the Q&A would carry across. That functionality is not guaranteed as locationless geocaches do not have Q&A capability. So you get the message because there is a false Q&A section on a geocache type that does not permit it. The owner simply needs to add a codeword (vs. Q&A) as that capability is supported.

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16274
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Report Site Issues Here

Post by caughtatwork » 08 April 20 9:27 am

Richary wrote:
07 April 20 9:47 pm
Ahh, I had tried it in all caps as displayed, or with the first letter capitalised and the rest lower case. It worked with it all in lower case. A trap for the unwary. Have edited my log to provide it as a pointer for others. Thanks.
Codewords are not case sensitive. I did a test with the codeword in all uppercase and it works fine.
http://wiki.geocaching.com.au/wiki/Codeword

User avatar
Richary
6500 or more caches found
6500 or more caches found
Posts: 4156
Joined: 04 February 04 10:55 pm
Location: Waitara, Sydney

Re: Report Site Issues Here

Post by Richary » 08 April 20 8:14 pm

Thanks, I noticed that before I had tried my 3rd and successful time the CO had also made a tweak of some sort.

User avatar
sirius Tas
3000 or more caches found
3000 or more caches found
Posts: 232
Joined: 13 June 06 7:36 am
Location: Ulverstone Tasmania

Re: Duplicate llogs

Post by sirius Tas » 15 June 20 5:29 pm

Dear Faeries,
Just a minor problem of 2 duplicate logs on GCA. They are 2 GC caches....have checked both sites and their is only 1 log on each of the GC caches.
The 2 duplicate logs are
Columnar Basalt
Reconciliation Revisited
Both logged on 11 April 2017

If one of the log finds for each cache could be deleted...that would be awesome...and most appreciated.

Post Reply