Does anyone use Geosphere for Geocaching Australia?

Discussion about the Geocaching Australia web site
Post Reply
User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16090
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Does anyone use Geosphere for Geocaching Australia?

Post by caughtatwork » 28 July 15 4:05 pm

Does anyone use Geosphere on their iOS device and imports Geocaching Australia GPS or ZIPped GPX files? Do you create a fieldnotes file to load up into Geocaching Australia?
If so, please drop us a note.
We'd like to exploit your knowledge of how Geosphere works with Geocaching Australia so we can write up some instructions for people who only geocache with an iOS device.
We have Android devices covered and standard alone GPS units and we'd like to get coverage of iOS without having to develop our own app.

I know Geosphere will not upload Field Notes directly to Geoaching Australia but will export Field Notes so you can load them up into GCA via the import function. http://geocaching.com.au/my/import/ and select Geosphere.

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16090
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Does anyone use Geosphere for Geocaching Australia?

Post by caughtatwork » 28 July 15 5:05 pm

This is what I have so far. Needs improvement and additions from people who actually use it.
http://wiki.geocaching.com.au/wiki/Geosphere

User avatar
Tyreless
800 or more hollow logs searched
800 or more hollow logs searched
Posts: 81
Joined: 12 March 13 4:21 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Does anyone use Geosphere for Geocaching Australia?

Post by Tyreless » 28 July 15 6:44 pm

I use geosphere. In particular I have 2 bookmarks that I use. The first one downloads NSW caches from GCA (http://geocaching.com.au/caches/gca/au/nsw.gpx).

The second one is more complex and uploads GCA logs. The URL is http://geocaching.com.au/my/import/. There is also a whole lot of javascript that goes with it that I don't understand at all except it works. I found this script on the geosphere forums (http://gbhometech.com/geosphere/forum/v ... =gca#p1185).

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16090
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Does anyone use Geosphere for Geocaching Australia?

Post by caughtatwork » 28 July 15 9:59 pm

Can you explain more about what you do to upload a fieldnote. I'm interested in adding it to the wiki for new cachers to follow. That way we can leverage geosphere rather than develop new.

User avatar
murf
400 or more spectacular views seen
400 or more spectacular views seen
Posts: 151
Joined: 07 October 03 11:54 am
Location: Riverina, NSW

Re: Does anyone use Geosphere for Geocaching Australia?

Post by murf » 29 July 15 1:21 am

Ah, gotta love case sensitivity in Wiki URLs... :)
Some years ago I put this up:
http://wiki.geocaching.com.au/wiki/GeoSphere
and posted this:
http://forum.geocaching.com.au/viewtopi ... 81#p171181
I think the app has changed a bit since, and I'm not very active with geocaching these days to notice the difference...

Hope this might help. Someone might be able to check it for currency and update it for you.

Cheers,
murf

User avatar
murf
400 or more spectacular views seen
400 or more spectacular views seen
Posts: 151
Joined: 07 October 03 11:54 am
Location: Riverina, NSW

Re: Does anyone use Geosphere for Geocaching Australia?

Post by murf » 29 July 15 1:24 am

Edit: The javascript from below is already part of the wiki page...

And regarding Field notes, it might be out of date as well, but I used to do this:
http://gbhometech.com/geosphere/forum/v ... ?f=8&t=339

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16090
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Does anyone use Geosphere for Geocaching Australia?

Post by caughtatwork » 29 July 15 9:23 am

Brilliant, thanks murf. I've merged the two pages together and redirected Geosphere to GeoSphere so no further confusion occurs. This should serve our community very well if people can search, find and log (Field Notes) in the field. We'll just see what happens, but I suspect it's all good things.

User avatar
Black Bunny
Posts: 346
Joined: 06 September 09 8:02 pm
Location: Canberra

Re: Does anyone use Geosphere for Geocaching Australia?

Post by Black Bunny » 29 July 15 6:04 pm

I use Geosphere as part of the toolbox while cache hunting.

The main features in use are location (State based queries), Trigs (filtering depending on the cache trip), moveables, but most of all saving GPX files for offline retrieval. Geosphere currently supports up to 8K caches then filters after you hit that number.

I have several queries setup based on state, Trigs, moveables which are loaded into the various groups then location filtered with a location boundary (up to 99k radius) helps the response of the app while hunting.

I use the notes field for multis and mysteries but not for logging.

biggles1024
2500 or more caches found
2500 or more caches found
Posts: 99
Joined: 15 June 12 9:42 am
Location: SE Melbourne

Re: Does anyone use Geosphere for Geocaching Australia?

Post by biggles1024 » 29 July 15 8:33 pm

I use Geosphere but not for GCA. I'm not sure it is worth your while spending any time supporting this app because it seems that for all intents and purposes, the developer has abandoned it. :cry: Numerous requests have been made in the Geosphere forum for him to just let everyone know that he's alive but thus far, all have fallen on deaf ears. The app needs updating to cope with some changes that Apple introduced in iOS 8 with regard to sliders but we're not hopeful that those changes will ever occur.

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16090
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Does anyone use Geosphere for Geocaching Australia?

Post by caughtatwork » 29 July 15 8:55 pm

That's a bugger :(
While it works it will be ok, but as you indicate it can't be relied upon.
Will have to look for a different app that takes GPX files.

User avatar
Richary
6500 or more caches found
6500 or more caches found
Posts: 4131
Joined: 04 February 04 10:55 pm
Location: Waitara, Sydney

Re: Does anyone use Geosphere for Geocaching Australia?

Post by Richary » 30 July 15 10:22 pm

I download the PQs from my email to GeoSphere (or very occasionally directly from the GCA website with the queries I had set up, mainly when the movable races were happening). But I've never tried using the field notes function to write anything to upload to either site. Partly as aging eyesight and fat fingers don't make me to want to write anything longer than necessary using the iPhone keyboard. I would rather wait until I am at the PC and can write a decent log, as I'm not a TFTC type of person.

biggles1024
2500 or more caches found
2500 or more caches found
Posts: 99
Joined: 15 June 12 9:42 am
Location: SE Melbourne

Re: Does anyone use Geosphere for Geocaching Australia?

Post by biggles1024 » 20 September 15 1:04 pm

caughtatwork wrote:Does anyone use Geosphere on their iOS device and imports Geocaching Australia GPS or ZIPped GPX files? Do you create a fieldnotes file to load up into Geocaching Australia?
If so, please drop us a note.
We'd like to exploit your knowledge of how Geosphere works with Geocaching Australia so we can write up some instructions for people who only geocache with an iOS device.
We have Android devices covered and standard alone GPS units and we'd like to get coverage of iOS without having to develop our own app.

I know Geosphere will not upload Field Notes directly to Geoaching Australia but will export Field Notes so you can load them up into GCA via the import function. http://geocaching.com.au/my/import/ and select Geosphere.
This is an FYI. The developer of Geosphere has posted in the Geosphere forum and we're all breathing a sigh of relief. This is still life in Geosphere. =D> \:D/
http://gbhometech.com/geosphere/forum/v ... 4607#p4607

MavEtJu
Posts: 485
Joined: 07 January 15 9:15 pm
Twitter: @mavetju
Location: Caringbah
Contact:

Re: Does anyone use Geosphere for Geocaching Australia?

Post by MavEtJu » 20 September 15 10:00 pm

biggles1024 wrote:
caughtatwork wrote:This is an FYI. The developer of Geosphere has posted in the Geosphere forum and we're all breathing a sigh of relief. This is still life in Geosphere. =D> \:D/
http://gbhometech.com/geosphere/forum/v ... 4607#p4607
Great news. Too bad that it is way too late and a lot of trust has disappeared.
For me so much that I made my own Geosphere-look-a-like.

Edwin

Post Reply