enhancement button to select yesterdays date

Discussion about the Geocaching Australia web site
Post Reply
User avatar
mtrax
Posts: 1956
Joined: 19 December 06 9:57 am
Location: Weston Creek, Canberra

enhancement button to select yesterdays date

Post by mtrax » 01 March 12 8:44 am

just a thought as I'm logging quiet a few frogs from yesterday, would it be possible to have a link for the log date to set to yesterday
ie a button to set log date to yesterday as a quick way.
I know I can manually set the day for yesterday but when you are logging 10 or more frogs its a bit tedious setting the back when its the start of a new month.
the other option is to have the Log date as being "sticky" like the GC log date and then have a button to set as today's date.
ie save last log-date in users setting and then have a button called "Today" and/or "Yesterday" next to so it can be moved on.
so therefore the log date always remains the same.

thanks

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16302
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: enhancement button to select yesterdays date

Post by caughtatwork » 01 March 12 9:52 am

Something can be done yes.

Sticky dates can be good and they can be annoying. After a weekend away, I start logging for Friday. I set the date and it gets stickied. Then cf course, I forget that the date is Friday and continue logging. Then halfway through my Saturday logs I remember and a profanity escapes my lips. I go back and edit the wrong logs. Then move forward. Then I forget again and have to the same thing for Sunday.

Having a "date selector" that you can hit to choose 1, 2, 3 days previous would be simpler, but you would need to select it each time.

User avatar
SamCarter
1400 or more caches found
1400 or more caches found
Posts: 650
Joined: 13 March 07 10:32 am
Location: Hobart

Re: enhancement button to select yesterdays date

Post by SamCarter » 01 March 12 10:05 am

caughtatwork wrote:Sticky dates can be good ...
Oh, I LOOVE sticky date pudding. <drooling smiley>

Sorry, you can return to the sensible conversation now. :-"

User avatar
Cheesy pigs
3000 or more caches found
3000 or more caches found
Posts: 1738
Joined: 02 June 05 6:51 pm
Location: Kingston

Re: enhancement button to select yesterdays date

Post by Cheesy pigs » 01 March 12 4:29 pm

SamCarter wrote:
caughtatwork wrote:Sticky dates can be good ...
Oh, I LOOVE sticky date pudding. <drooling smiley>

Sorry, you can return to the sensible conversation now. :-"
thats a much better version of sticky dates yes :twisted:

User avatar
blossom*
3000 or more caches found
3000 or more caches found
Posts: 1588
Joined: 25 February 09 1:59 pm
Location: West Ryde

Re: enhancement button to select yesterdays date

Post by blossom* » 02 March 12 6:22 pm

I like the sticky dates when logging a long series of dates. Yes, you do have to remember to move the date when the day changes but it's easier than changing the date for every log. Can we have that? (same as GC does - funny they have a good thing that GCA hasn't yet done :) )

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16302
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: enhancement button to select yesterdays date

Post by caughtatwork » 02 March 12 7:14 pm

The be honest blossom*, we didn't expect that people would ever be logging more than a couple of GCA caches at a time. We didn't think that far ahead :oops:

User avatar
rogerw3
7000 or more caches found
7000 or more caches found
Posts: 679
Joined: 26 July 09 11:11 am

Re: enhancement button to select yesterdays date

Post by rogerw3 » 02 March 12 9:19 pm

caughtatwork wrote:The be honest blossom*, we didn't expect that people would ever be logging more than a couple of GCA caches at a time. We didn't think that far ahead :oops:
:lol:
Things change, I do feel for the brave (intrepid) cachers who have done the BMPT and had to log 60+ GCA caches in one go!
:D \:D/

User avatar
Yurt
4500 or more caches found
4500 or more caches found
Posts: 1509
Joined: 01 May 09 10:08 pm
Location: Northern Suburbs, Sydney

Re: enhancement button to select yesterdays date

Post by Yurt » 03 March 12 8:22 am

At least GCA always has today's date. GC lives in yesterday until about 5 in the afternoon. I used to wonder why people logged finds the day BEFORE a cache was published sometimes!

User avatar
Team Falling Numerals
Posts: 224
Joined: 02 June 06 7:01 pm
Location: Cairns

Re: enhancement button to select yesterdays date

Post by Team Falling Numerals » 03 March 12 10:32 am

As a thought ... would it be possible to use hot-keys to change the date like accounting programs do?

ie:
type T in the date field and today's date appears
type Y in the date field and yesterdays date appears
+ advances the date by one day
- goes backwards one day at a time?

just a random thought.

User avatar
blossom*
3000 or more caches found
3000 or more caches found
Posts: 1588
Joined: 25 February 09 1:59 pm
Location: West Ryde

Re: enhancement button to select yesterdays date

Post by blossom* » 05 March 12 3:34 pm

Team Falling Numerals wrote:As a thought ... would it be possible to use hot-keys to change the date like accounting programs do?

ie:
type T in the date field and today's date appears
type Y in the date field and yesterdays date appears
+ advances the date by one day
- goes backwards one day at a time?

just a random thought.
I like kiss. When you open the logging page, "today" appears. Then whatever date you log a cache on is the date that is presented for the next loging page (within the same session)

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16302
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: enhancement button to select yesterdays date

Post by caughtatwork » 05 March 12 4:34 pm

Team Falling Numerals wrote:As a thought ... would it be possible to use hot-keys to change the date like accounting programs do?

ie:
type T in the date field and today's date appears
type Y in the date field and yesterdays date appears
+ advances the date by one day
- goes backwards one day at a time?

just a random thought.
accesskey only works where the browser doesn't already use that key.
ie and FF behave differently (of course).
e.g. A submit with accesskey='s' in FF activates the History tab while on IE it selects the text in the box.
Sigh.

Windows based programs are different to running in a browser. I like the idea and maybe the idea can be used.

Post Reply