Report GCA Site issues here [closed]

Discussion about the Geocaching Australia web site
Laighside Legends
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
Posts: 1284
Joined: 05 October 10 10:20 pm
Location: Yorke Peninsula, South Australia

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by Laighside Legends » 09 June 16 5:55 pm

I compared it with an old KML file from years ago and I see what you mean - you need a closed polygon (which I thought I had) not a path/line.

If I can work out how, I'll add that info to the wiki...

It uploads now and is mostly ok. Expect the caches on this page http://geocaching.com.au/zone/caches/2906/ aren't all on this page http://geocaching.com.au/zone/gmap/2906/ - should they show the same caches?

Online
User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16345
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by caughtatwork » 10 June 16 6:46 pm

Thanks for your patience. There was a bug where only GCA caches were being shown on the map zone. This should now show up all caches in the zone.

atsmug
Posts: 2
Joined: 16 January 14 12:22 pm
Location: Research

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by atsmug » 21 June 16 11:36 am

I am not sure where to put this question. Why don't my international cache finds appear on my statistics ? Is there a setting I should have changed / ticked a box somewhere ?

Also is there any way to have statistics for : GA only / GC only / GC & GA together

thanks
:D

Online
User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16345
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by caughtatwork » 21 June 16 11:43 am

We auto collect for Australia only. Import your finds via this method to get them all here quickly. http://wiki.geocaching.com.au/wiki/Uploading_logs

DO NOT IMPORT CORRECTED CO-ORDINATES :-)

We collect stats from a lot of sites, so as we're GCA, we offer GCA and "everything". It is not viable at the moment to separate GC from the crowd of OpenCaching, Navicache and Terracache.

atsmug
Posts: 2
Joined: 16 January 14 12:22 pm
Location: Research

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by atsmug » 21 June 16 12:24 pm

thanks for that :D :D

User avatar
J_&_J
Posts: 1263
Joined: 12 May 05 7:58 pm
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000016368307
Location: Morphett Vale
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by J_&_J » 21 June 16 8:42 pm

caughtatwork wrote:We collect stats from a lot of sites, so as we're GCA, we offer GCA and "everything". It is not viable at the moment to separate GC from the crowd of OpenCaching, Navicache and Terracache.
You collect stats from Terracaching?

We found four Terracaches before giving up on that site, and those finds don't show up here.

User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6990
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by CraigRat » 21 June 16 8:43 pm

J_&_J wrote:
caughtatwork wrote:We collect stats from a lot of sites, so as we're GCA, we offer GCA and "everything". It is not viable at the moment to separate GC from the crowd of OpenCaching, Navicache and Terracache.
You collect stats from Terracaching?

We found four Terracaches before giving up on that site, and those finds don't show up here.
You have to import them yourself via gpx

User avatar
J_&_J
Posts: 1263
Joined: 12 May 05 7:58 pm
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000016368307
Location: Morphett Vale
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by J_&_J » 21 June 16 9:02 pm

Import Results
Processing J_&_J.gpx
Cache not imported (Invalid cache prefix): TC
Cache not imported (Invalid cache prefix): TC
Cache not imported (Invalid cache prefix): TC
Cache not imported (Invalid cache prefix): TC
Caches imported: 0
Logs imported: 0

User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6990
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by CraigRat » 21 June 16 9:26 pm

PM sent

User avatar
No_Tomorrow
Posts: 484
Joined: 08 January 09 8:55 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by No_Tomorrow » 01 August 16 11:02 pm

I swear I've done this right, but this, http://geocaching.com.au/cache/ga7523 , won't publish for me. Is it because I am using one of the reusable caches sorted in a forum a few months ago?

User avatar
tronador
5500 or more caches found
5500 or more caches found
Posts: 1547
Joined: 04 November 05 10:18 pm
Location: Lidcombe,Sydney, NSW

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by tronador » 01 August 16 11:34 pm

If it being reused you may need to unarchive the old one first??

User avatar
No_Tomorrow
Posts: 484
Joined: 08 January 09 8:55 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by No_Tomorrow » 02 August 16 12:18 am

tronador wrote:If it being reused you may need to unarchive the old one first??
Yep - I think that is what it was. Duh! ](*,) Oh well, I ended up just making new ones. I'll reuse them later.
Thanks. :D

MavEtJu
Posts: 486
Joined: 07 January 15 9:15 pm
Twitter: @mavetju
Location: Caringbah
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by MavEtJu » 14 August 16 9:47 pm

http://geocaching.com.au/dashboard/au/nsw/, how often does that get updated?

Real time or once per day?

If real time then there is a problem with it....

Online
User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16345
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by caughtatwork » 15 August 16 10:27 am

Once a day starting at around 3:00am. It runs extremely long so some days it never finishes. The new server will resolve the long running issue.

Laighside Legends
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
Posts: 1284
Joined: 05 October 10 10:20 pm
Location: Yorke Peninsula, South Australia

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by Laighside Legends » 17 August 16 8:22 pm

A small issue I've noticed with the listing of caches. If you put the tag <p style="font-size:20px"> in the cache description it stays there for the cache page but it you edit it again it gets removed. Hence you have to re-enter it every time you edit the cache.

Locked