Report GCA Site issues here [closed]

Discussion about the Geocaching Australia web site
Locked
User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6939
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by CraigRat » 15 September 15 11:12 am

Happy Chappies wrote: OK, I tried one more thing. Capitalized my username on the main site. Now it worked.... :oops:
That'll do it every time!.... The forums are a little more forgiving than the site.

User avatar
Happy Chappies
2000 or more caches found
2000 or more caches found
Posts: 506
Joined: 04 July 09 12:18 am
Location: Box Hill

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by Happy Chappies » 15 September 15 11:45 am

While I'm on a request roll, here's another query....

I'm loving the new website interface, but just wondering if there's a straightforward way of bringing up the map view so that it includes both GC and GCA caches? I'd love to be able to just click on that map on the landing page and have all caches displayed. That would probably be enough to make GCA my 'default' site.

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16090
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by caughtatwork » 15 September 15 11:50 am

We are Geocaching Australia and we promote our own caches over the other listing sites. The speed bump of choosing the "All" option is there specifically to focus on our own, Australian grown product.

This is a long standing position, but is not set in stone. If you would like to change this and have all caches be the default, please petition your senator to bring it to the table for discussion.

User avatar
Happy Chappies
2000 or more caches found
2000 or more caches found
Posts: 506
Joined: 04 July 09 12:18 am
Location: Box Hill

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by Happy Chappies » 15 September 15 11:59 am

caughtatwork wrote:We are Geocaching Australia and we promote our own caches over the other listing sites. The speed bump of choosing the "All" option is there specifically to focus on our own, Australian grown product.

This is a long standing position, but is not set in stone. If you would like to change this and have all caches be the default, please petition your senator to bring it to the table for discussion.
Thanks. I certainly don't mind the primary focus on GCA, or having that as the default setting for the map view. Understand the position and agree with it.

But just wondering, in the same way that there is a switch for GCA or all for a 'list view' search, whether the same thing was possible (and appropriate) for the map view.

(As it is, I just discovered it on that 'Other Searches' page (http://geocaching.com.au/caches/home/all.gmap) - That does what I want, so will do me for now. Couple of extra clicks involved so no biggie... )

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16090
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by caughtatwork » 15 September 15 12:12 pm

You can also add that search to your My Favourites and go straight back to it in the future. Fewer clicks.

User avatar
Happy Chappies
2000 or more caches found
2000 or more caches found
Posts: 506
Joined: 04 July 09 12:18 am
Location: Box Hill

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by Happy Chappies » 15 September 15 12:22 pm

Ta C@W. More GCA functions I didn't know about...

User avatar
GammaPiSigma
450 or more roots tripped over
450 or more roots tripped over
Posts: 227
Joined: 23 May 04 7:46 pm
Location: Campbelltown, NSW

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by GammaPiSigma » 15 September 15 7:48 pm

Hello fairies.

I have the following search saved in my favourites list. Up till today it gave results, now it comes back with "no caches found". Search: http://geocaching.com.au/caches/available/all/au/nsw/

If I make the search GCA only I get a result. Search: http://geocaching.com.au/caches/available/gca/au/nsw/

Cheers,
Michael.

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16090
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by caughtatwork » 15 September 15 10:36 pm

Both those searches run for me.

User avatar
GammaPiSigma
450 or more roots tripped over
450 or more roots tripped over
Posts: 227
Joined: 23 May 04 7:46 pm
Location: Campbelltown, NSW

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by GammaPiSigma » 16 September 15 10:34 am

They both work for me now as well. Well I'm stumped.

Thanks for looking at it C@W.

User avatar
Tardis
3000 or more caches found
3000 or more caches found
Posts: 24
Joined: 04 June 14 11:16 am
Location: Tasmania

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by Tardis » 18 September 15 9:04 pm

What has happened to the TAS & VIC dashboards? NSW etc look fine but down Mexico way & in the sub-Antarctic we're getting zero, nothing, no hides whatsoever for all tabs other than, strangely, "New" (GC, but not GCA). Clearly incorrect. Font is also larger on these nil tabs. Although it could conceivably be just me, I did try on both Firefox & Chrome with same result. First noted yesterday & still today.
My apologies for dual post. Still getting a handle on this forum...

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16090
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by caughtatwork » 20 September 15 1:03 pm

It looks find to me for Victoria.
http://geocaching.com.au/dashboard/au/vic/

So does Tasmania.
http://geocaching.com.au/dashboard/au/tas/

What browser and version are you using?

User avatar
Tardis
3000 or more caches found
3000 or more caches found
Posts: 24
Joined: 04 June 14 11:16 am
Location: Tasmania

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by Tardis » 22 September 15 5:44 pm

Sorry C@W, CraigRat (on the ball as always) had already rectified via my original post with a cache clearance. Apologies again for being a total noob, cross-posting & causing mystified puzzlement all round.

User avatar
Richary
6500 or more caches found
6500 or more caches found
Posts: 4131
Joined: 04 February 04 10:55 pm
Location: Waitara, Sydney

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by Richary » 05 October 15 5:53 pm

Well that was interesting. Just tried to upload a picture to a trig I found today, and got an interesting error message - though the image uploaded anyway.

debug point=>Define Temp Paths
Temp Filename:59012078090.jpg
Temp Imagename:/var/www/site/gca/docroot/gallery/images/temp/59012078090.jpg
Temp Thumbname:/var/www/site/gca/docroot/gallery/images/temp/tn_59012078090.jpg
Error Status:
debug point=>Scale Image
Mogrify Output (image):Array
Error Status:
debug point=>Make thumbnail
Mogrify Output (thumb):Array
Error Status:
debug point=>Define Destination
Dest Dir:/var/www/site/gca/docroot/gallery/images/tp5568
Thumb Dest dir:/var/www/site/gca/docroot/gallery/images/tp5568/thumbs
Error Status:
debug point=>Create Directory
Dest Pathname:/var/www/site/gca/docroot/gallery/images/tp5568
Dest Image Name:/var/www/site/gca/docroot/gallery/images/tp5568/59012078090.jpg
Error Status:
debug point=>Move Final images
Dest thumbname:/var/www/site/gca/docroot/gallery/images/tp5568/thumbs/tn_59012078090.jpg
Dest Image Name:/var/www/site/gca/docroot/gallery/images/tp5568/59012078090.jpg
Error Status:

User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6939
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by CraigRat » 05 October 15 5:54 pm

Oops, my mistake.
Thanks for the report

User avatar
Richary
6500 or more caches found
6500 or more caches found
Posts: 4131
Joined: 04 February 04 10:55 pm
Location: Waitara, Sydney

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by Richary » 05 October 15 8:59 pm

I guess it wasn't an error, just a debug 8) Thanks for all the work!

Locked