Report GCA Site issues here [closed]

Discussion about the Geocaching Australia web site
Locked
User avatar
oldfella
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
Posts: 425
Joined: 08 September 07 5:50 pm
Location: Innes Park QLD

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by oldfella » 21 November 13 10:08 am

Same for me with a twist. Not working on my desktop with IE10. On my laptop using Safari no problems but on my I pad using Safari when I go to view a cache on the map the I pad reverts to the main Safari screen. Every other application I use is fine. A bit of a mystery.

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16276
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by caughtatwork » 21 November 13 11:45 am

What browser and version are you using?
Works is FF and Chrome, but not IE (8 or 7).

It looks like the names in the GoogleMap API for v3 have changed.
We're using v3, but still the old names.

http://maps.google.com/maps?file=api&v=3

Message: 'GLatLng' is undefined
Line: 27
Char: 3
Code: 0
URI: http://geocaching.com.au/zone/gmap/20/

Message: 'GControl' is undefined
Line: 157
Char: 1
Code: 0
URI: http://geocaching.com.au/resources/js/gmapdragzoom.js

Message: 'GControl' is undefined
Line: 8
Char: 1
Code: 0
URI: http://geocaching.com.au/resources/js/gmapshowcoords.js

Message: 'GPolyline' is undefined
Line: 16
Char: 7
Code: 0
URI: http://geocaching.com.au/resources/eshapes.js

GLatLng is now google.maps.LatLng
I'm guessing the others have similarly changed. Will need some work to fix for Internet Explorer.
If you can use FF or Chrome, try those.

User avatar
the Monkey King
50 or more caches found
50 or more caches found
Posts: 134
Joined: 15 January 11 8:45 am
Twitter: The Monkey King @Au
Location: Langwarrin, Victoria
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by the Monkey King » 21 November 13 12:01 pm

I am using FF 25.0.1 on Windows 7.

Still getting a blank screen.

I can look at google maps through google maps itself no problem, just can't see whole maps with geocaches on them.

I am able to see the mini map on a cache page, but if I click on the map, the goes blank.

User avatar
the Monkey King
50 or more caches found
50 or more caches found
Posts: 134
Joined: 15 January 11 8:45 am
Twitter: The Monkey King @Au
Location: Langwarrin, Victoria
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by the Monkey King » 21 November 13 2:55 pm

Ok - the map is working again, now with added domino pizza locations \:D/

User avatar
Tyreless
800 or more hollow logs searched
800 or more hollow logs searched
Posts: 81
Joined: 12 March 13 4:21 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by Tyreless » 21 November 13 4:40 pm

My map is coming up OK but I can't drag it with the mouse. PC with FF.

User avatar
the Monkey King
50 or more caches found
50 or more caches found
Posts: 134
Joined: 15 January 11 8:45 am
Twitter: The Monkey King @Au
Location: Langwarrin, Victoria
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by the Monkey King » 21 November 13 4:48 pm

Tyreless wrote:My map is coming up OK but I can't drag it with the mouse. PC with FF.
Same - I thought it was just me and not the map.

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16276
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by caughtatwork » 21 November 13 7:08 pm

Google Maps updated on 19-Nov-2013 and wrapped the v2 code (which I think we're calling) to their new V3 codebase. We have some weirdness. I've culled some of the stuff that seems to be causing the problems, but I can only do limited testing. OSM overlay is still broken.

IE9 and FF25.0.1 see to work OK (ish).

Can you please try again and let me know if it's working? If not, please tell me what browser and version you are using.

User avatar
oldfella
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
Posts: 425
Joined: 08 September 07 5:50 pm
Location: Innes Park QLD

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by oldfella » 21 November 13 7:28 pm

With my desktop I am using IE 10.0.11 and no problems and can drag the map around. No problems with Safari using version 5.1.7. Thanks for all your good work C@W.

User avatar
the Monkey King
50 or more caches found
50 or more caches found
Posts: 134
Joined: 15 January 11 8:45 am
Twitter: The Monkey King @Au
Location: Langwarrin, Victoria
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by the Monkey King » 21 November 13 8:29 pm

Map working ok on FF 25.0.1 now - I can see the map, cache locations and able to scroll. :D

Thanks for the work on this

User avatar
Tyreless
800 or more hollow logs searched
800 or more hollow logs searched
Posts: 81
Joined: 12 March 13 4:21 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by Tyreless » 22 November 13 8:23 am

Thanks C@W. PC with FF 25.0 and it works OK.

Unfortunately, IPAD2 running IOS7.0.4 with safari or atomic browsers crashes - it starts to load the map then closes the app and goes back to the home screen.

Geoff aka Tyreless

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16276
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by caughtatwork » 28 November 13 8:21 pm

Maps are up to v3 of the Google API.
Here are the details.
http://forum.geocaching.com.au/viewtopi ... 55#p208355

User avatar
rogerw3
7000 or more caches found
7000 or more caches found
Posts: 678
Joined: 26 July 09 11:11 am

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by rogerw3 » 28 November 13 9:50 pm

=D>

Great job Mate, I do appreciate the effort. I use this pretty much all the time.
Thanks again.

\:D/

User avatar
pjmpjm
6000 or more caches found
6000 or more caches found
Posts: 864
Joined: 09 April 10 12:35 am
Twitter: Booroobin
Location: Blue Mountains
Contact:

Maps v3

Post by pjmpjm » 29 November 13 12:08 am

caughtatwork wrote:Maps are up to v3 of the Google API. Here are the details. http://forum.geocaching.com.au/viewtopi ... 55#p208355
Thanks again!

User avatar
the Monkey King
50 or more caches found
50 or more caches found
Posts: 134
Joined: 15 January 11 8:45 am
Twitter: The Monkey King @Au
Location: Langwarrin, Victoria
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by the Monkey King » 29 November 13 6:49 am

Thank you for your work on the map - very much appreciated, especially given the hours you have put in to the work.

User avatar
oldfella
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
Posts: 425
Joined: 08 September 07 5:50 pm
Location: Innes Park QLD

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by oldfella » 29 November 13 7:44 am

Thankyou for all the time and effort in finding the solution and fixing this problem. Much appreciated.

Locked