Report GCA Site issues here [closed]

Discussion about the Geocaching Australia web site
Locked
User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16274
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by caughtatwork » 13 August 12 7:42 pm

Chwiliwr wrote:Just letting you know the links for Japan and North America under Community/OpenCaching are not valid. Japan doesn't seem to exist and the other returns a forbidden message.
The US one depends on your ISP. I can get to it from home, but not from work.
Opencaching Japan is not yet up and running, but is a valid OpenCaching node.

User avatar
Yurt
4500 or more caches found
4500 or more caches found
Posts: 1509
Joined: 01 May 09 10:08 pm
Location: Northern Suburbs, Sydney

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by Yurt » 17 August 12 9:46 pm

Is it just me or has the font changed on the GCA home page? Looks a lot clearer/sharper.

Or did I get new glasses???

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16274
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by caughtatwork » 17 August 12 9:52 pm

A little from column A and a little from column B.

User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6984
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by CraigRat » 17 August 12 10:25 pm

Yurt wrote:Is it just me or has the font changed on the GCA home page? Looks a lot clearer/sharper.

Or did I get new glasses???
If you followed us on Google+ you'd know :lol: (we do have a Facebook page that only gets updated semi annually, and doesn't really get site announcements placed on it :lol:).

We've been playing with some simple cosmetic changes to refresh things just a little bit.

These new fonts seem to look better on Mobile devices in my opinion.

LouiseAnn
4500 or more caches found
4500 or more caches found
Posts: 727
Joined: 08 August 09 12:04 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by LouiseAnn » 17 August 12 10:30 pm

CraigRat wrote:(we do have a Facebook page that gets updated semi annually :lol:
He he he

User avatar
danozz
1550 or more caches found
1550 or more caches found
Posts: 20
Joined: 27 February 10 5:45 pm
Location: North Melbourne

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by danozz » 03 September 12 2:05 pm

Hi GCA admins, this is related to the picture I can generate: http://geocaching.com.au/cacher/danozz/ ... .png?r=vic
Are you able to zoom in a bit closer to Victoria? Or do you like it to be so far zoomed out.

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16274
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by caughtatwork » 03 September 12 2:37 pm

danozz wrote:Hi GCA admins, this is related to the picture I can generate: http://geocaching.com.au/cacher/danozz/ ... .png?r=vic
Are you able to zoom in a bit closer to Victoria? Or do you like it to be so far zoomed out.
That's the best we can do with the original quality of file.
If we zoom in more it gets all pixelly.

User avatar
Bewilderbeest
2000 or more caches found
2000 or more caches found
Posts: 955
Joined: 24 December 06 4:18 pm
Location: Canberra

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by Bewilderbeest » 04 September 12 1:44 pm

CraigRat wrote:
Yurt wrote:Is it just me or has the font changed on the GCA home page? Looks a lot clearer/sharper.

Or did I get new glasses???
If you followed us on Google+ you'd know :lol: (we do have a Facebook page that only gets updated semi annually, and doesn't really get site announcements placed on it :lol:).

We've been playing with some simple cosmetic changes to refresh things just a little bit.

These new fonts seem to look better on Mobile devices in my opinion.
I think they look better all round.

User avatar
Bewilderbeest
2000 or more caches found
2000 or more caches found
Posts: 955
Joined: 24 December 06 4:18 pm
Location: Canberra

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by Bewilderbeest » 04 September 12 1:46 pm

caughtatwork wrote:
danozz wrote:Hi GCA admins, this is related to the picture I can generate: http://geocaching.com.au/cacher/danozz/ ... .png?r=vic
Are you able to zoom in a bit closer to Victoria? Or do you like it to be so far zoomed out.
That's the best we can do with the original quality of file.
If we zoom in more it gets all pixelly.
It's obviously not hugely important, but it would be great if we could get better zoom on the geographically smaller states

User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6984
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by CraigRat » 04 September 12 6:56 pm

If someone can find us good images to use that have no copyright issues then we can implement it.

If you do find something, let us know and let us know where they came from so we can check we can legally use them on the site.

Thanks!

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16274
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by caughtatwork » 04 September 12 9:02 pm

The problem is not the quality, it's the size.
This is the base map we use.
http://geocaching.com.au/resources/map_australia.jpg
It's about 850KB when compressed.
In order to drawn the dots it gets uncompressed.
Uncompressed it's about 40MB.
Manipulating a file bigger than that causes memory problems.
So it's a balance between having a base map that can be manipulated without memory issues or a map that when zoomed in gets pixelated.

User avatar
Bewilderbeest
2000 or more caches found
2000 or more caches found
Posts: 955
Joined: 24 December 06 4:18 pm
Location: Canberra

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by Bewilderbeest » 05 September 12 8:53 am

What about using a separate file for each state?

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16274
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by caughtatwork » 05 September 12 9:09 am

If you look at the file you will notice it is very much taller than wider. What's all that ice needed for. Actually it's needed because of the way the program works. It knows the bounds of the map in lat lon. So it plots the points on the map as an offset from a known set of Cartesian coordinates. If I make a map for each state I need to know the exact points of each map and use them when offsetting the lat lon points. So in reality it's a time thing. I don't have the time (or inclination) to make 10 maps (11 if you include AU or 12 if you want NZ) all around 1MB in size, setting up the co-ords and handling them in the plotter. If someone would like to make the images I can change the code.

User avatar
danozz
1550 or more caches found
1550 or more caches found
Posts: 20
Joined: 27 February 10 5:45 pm
Location: North Melbourne

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by danozz » 14 September 12 3:02 pm

Here ya go

Image

User avatar
danozz
1550 or more caches found
1550 or more caches found
Posts: 20
Joined: 27 February 10 5:45 pm
Location: North Melbourne

Re: Report GCA Site issues here

Post by danozz » 14 September 12 4:54 pm

On a more serious note, is the data that you use to create the pretty dots of green, yellow and white publically available? As a big list of cache types+coordinates with minimal formatting? Or possibly a big GPX? That way I could write my own script to lay the pretty dots out on one layer, and then just stick a map of dubious © status underneath.

Locked