*** New Site Testing - We need your help ***

Discussion about the Geocaching Australia web site
User avatar
SG-3
250 or more caches found
250 or more caches found
Posts: 175
Joined: 26 May 07 10:15 pm
Location: Mornington, Tasmania

Post by SG-3 » 08 July 09 10:02 pm

All good for me! You guys are terrific!

User avatar
gibbo003
600 or more caches found
600 or more caches found
Posts: 321
Joined: 29 August 07 5:08 pm
Location: Darwin

Post by gibbo003 » 08 July 09 10:02 pm

Wow caughtatwork has powerful magic I'm in.

User avatar
setsujoku
3500 or more caches found
3500 or more caches found
Posts: 1422
Joined: 28 December 04 5:46 pm
Twitter: BGNWP
Location: Athelstone, SA
Contact:

Post by setsujoku » 08 July 09 10:03 pm

Hey that works now, and the new forums look great :D

Now lets see what's broken :D

User avatar
Keeper of Time
3000 or more caches found
3000 or more caches found
Posts: 260
Joined: 27 August 06 7:49 pm
Location: Woodend, Victoria

Post by Keeper of Time » 08 July 09 10:17 pm

Logged in OK .... had a good look around with no problems and logged my nearest unfound GCA cache (The SunburyGun) just to see what my list looked like :shock: .

I did notice that my setting page was not displaying most of my details (including my home coords) however a list of GCA caches sorted by distance obviously knows where I live as it sorted corectly.

Great work guys ..... appreciate the effort you are putting in.

Keith

User avatar
setsujoku
3500 or more caches found
3500 or more caches found
Posts: 1422
Joined: 28 December 04 5:46 pm
Twitter: BGNWP
Location: Athelstone, SA
Contact:

Post by setsujoku » 08 July 09 10:20 pm

One thing I've noticed in the beta forum is when I post to it my information above my avatar is shown twice. eg.
1600 or more caches found
1600 or more caches found
Taken from this test thread.

User avatar
setsujoku
3500 or more caches found
3500 or more caches found
Posts: 1422
Joined: 28 December 04 5:46 pm
Twitter: BGNWP
Location: Athelstone, SA
Contact:

Post by setsujoku » 08 July 09 10:28 pm

Another thing I just noticed when in the new forum was when you click the GCA banner at the top of the page it takes you to the root of the forums, whereas on the current prod system it takes you to the front page of GCA.

This in testing compared with this in prod.

User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6984
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Post by CraigRat » 08 July 09 10:30 pm

to re-iterate the 1st post in the forum, we don't need reports from the forums as yet, they are low-priority, and most issues are known, and are trival to fix

Thanks for the feedback so far!
Last edited by CraigRat on 08 July 09 10:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Fuddley
1950 or more caches found
1950 or more caches found
Posts: 360
Joined: 17 February 08 6:22 am
Location: Hastings NZ GPSr: Garmin Oregon 300 GPSr: Tom Tom XL one GPSr: Garmin Etrex Vista
Contact:

Post by Fuddley » 08 July 09 10:31 pm

Had a bit of a look around all looks ok for what I do with the site even managed to publish a cache.

Well done you guys nice work
Fuddley

Damo.
Posts: 2183
Joined: 04 April 04 5:01 pm
Location: Jannali

Post by Damo. » 08 July 09 10:33 pm

Genealogy seems to be doing something strange in the viewing. Replicating fields or something...

http://garmin.geocaching.com.au/cacher/Damo./genealogy/

Error not reproduced here:
http://garmin.geocaching.com.au/cacher/ ... /genealogy

Edit: Fixed it. I had edited it and it had me as parent and 1st child.... Gave me an error message when I put it in but then retained the data in the field.....

User avatar
delboy1203
300 or more found
300 or more found
Posts: 176
Joined: 06 June 07 2:17 am
Twitter: delboy1203
Location: Lilydale, Victoria
Contact:

Post by delboy1203 » 09 July 09 10:10 am

I'm in thanks to C@W and Craigrat. Boy is it quick compared to the old site!<p>

Not sure if this has been flagged previously, but on loading profile page no avatar appears. Get "Warning: getimagesize(http://forum.geocaching.com.au/images/avatars/5824.gif) [function.getimagesize]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.1 404 Not Found in /var/www/site/gca/include/gca_formatting.php on line 709" instead.

User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6984
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Post by CraigRat » 09 July 09 10:30 am

delboy1203 wrote:I'm in thanks to C@W and Craigrat. Boy is it quick compared to the old site!<p>

Not sure if this has been flagged previously, but on loading profile page no avatar appears. Get "Warning: getimagesize(http://forum.geocaching.com.au/images/avatars/5824.gif) [function.getimagesize]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.1 404 Not Found in /var/www/site/gca/include/gca_formatting.php on line 709" instead.
Yup, that'll magically dissapear when we cut over.

User avatar
solomonfamily
1700 or more caches found
1700 or more caches found
Posts: 238
Joined: 28 September 05 9:02 am

Post by solomonfamily » 09 July 09 10:34 am

CraigRat wrote:FYI:
We are working on it right now, in between vomiting kids, cups of tea, spousal abuse and what trying to find the source of what smells like off-milk eminating from near the couch
This sounds like our place - finally got in with the work around

User avatar
Tui65
200 or more found
200 or more found
Posts: 25
Joined: 01 December 08 11:44 pm
Location: Gladstone, QLD

Post by Tui65 » 09 July 09 11:39 am

Is it just me or is anyone else having a problem when you click on "My"
you are taken to a log in page and get told you need a "Cacher Name"
Which I already have. There is no option on that page to log in.

Hope that makes sense

Regards
John

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16276
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Post by caughtatwork » 09 July 09 11:46 am

Tui65 wrote:Is it just me or is anyone else having a problem when you click on "My"
you are taken to a log in page and get told you need a "Cacher Name"
Which I already have. There is no option on that page to log in.

Hope that makes sense

Regards
John
Your cacher name was missing.
This is as a result of us playing around a week or so ago.
It has been restored and should not occur for real.

User avatar
Tui65
200 or more found
200 or more found
Posts: 25
Joined: 01 December 08 11:44 pm
Location: Gladstone, QLD

Post by Tui65 » 09 July 09 11:54 am

Yep that fixed it, Thanks Caughtatwork

Regards
John

Locked