*** New Site Testing - We need your help ***

Discussion about the Geocaching Australia web site
User avatar
Richary
6500 or more caches found
6500 or more caches found
Posts: 4160
Joined: 04 February 04 10:55 pm
Location: Waitara, Sydney

Re: *** New Site Testing - We need your help ***

Post by Richary » 22 July 09 11:24 pm

Just tried changing, I think I prefer prosilver as well. :D

User avatar
ideology
Posts: 2763
Joined: 28 March 03 4:01 pm
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Re: *** New Site Testing - We need your help ***

Post by ideology » 23 July 09 12:01 am

aha, prosilver is much nicer on the eyes
a pity that the icons are over the right hand side, but it's much easier to read! (we must be getting old!)

User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6985
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Re: *** New Site Testing - We need your help ***

Post by CraigRat » 23 July 09 7:30 am

Should we make it default?


(I prefer the green myself, just because EVERYONE uses prosilver :lol:)

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16300
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: *** New Site Testing - We need your help ***

Post by caughtatwork » 23 July 09 8:31 am

Not at this time.
The default has additional fields on the signup screen which prosilver does not.
Let me get my ADSL connection fixed at home and I'll add these fields to the prosilver template and then we might be able to switch over.

User avatar
Snuva
1500 or more caches found
1500 or more caches found
Posts: 1081
Joined: 05 July 04 5:38 pm
Twitter: Snuva
Location: Hobart
Contact:

Re: *** New Site Testing - We need your help ***

Post by Snuva » 23 July 09 10:18 am

CraigRat wrote:
Jardry wrote:I've changed my URL shortcut for GCA to enter directly into the forum instead of the frontpage of the website to be able to use the "View New Posts" but I am still having problems.

On the main forum page there are at least half a dozen or so sub-forums with orange dots indicating new posts.

Use the "View New Posts" and only ONE topic is displayed.

Could a developer confirm that this is an issue?

What is the preferred process to currently display only new posts?
It appears there's 2 ways phpbb handles this:
1) New posts: these are posts that have happened since your last visit ,and
2) Unread posts: Posts that have yet to be read by you, or marked as read.

By default its using method 1, whereas the old forums used method 2
I've found a way to make it use method 2,I just need to implement it.
Since the change to the new forums I never get anything when I try to view new posts, which I'm sure will be fixerated in due course but in the mean time I find I just get very violent if I go near the forums. It makes me want to hide lots of micros on the west side of the Tamar. LOTS of micros, west side of Tamar, oh about half-way between Loonie and the Waterwell's shack.

User avatar
Cheesy pigs
3000 or more caches found
3000 or more caches found
Posts: 1738
Joined: 02 June 05 6:51 pm
Location: Kingston

Re: *** New Site Testing - We need your help ***

Post by Cheesy pigs » 23 July 09 10:53 am

Snuva wrote: Since the change to the new forums I never get anything when I try to view new posts, which I'm sure will be fixerated in due course but in the mean time I find I just get very violent if I go near the forums. It makes me want to hide lots of micros on the west side of the Tamar. LOTS of micros, west side of Tamar, oh about half-way between Loonie and the Waterwell's shack.
If you click view active topics that will show all the new posts

User avatar
PesceVerde
700 or more Caches found
700 or more Caches  found
Posts: 452
Joined: 07 February 08 12:12 pm
Location: Arana Hills.

Re: *** New Site Testing - We need your help ***

Post by PesceVerde » 23 July 09 11:03 am

Just my 2 cents worth.
Tried the prosilver layout briefly and I personally prefer GCA green.

User avatar
SamCarter
1400 or more caches found
1400 or more caches found
Posts: 650
Joined: 13 March 07 10:32 am
Location: Hobart

Re: *** New Site Testing - We need your help ***

Post by SamCarter » 23 July 09 1:07 pm

PesceVerde wrote:Just my 2 cents worth.
Tried the prosilver layout briefly and I personally prefer GCA green.
Yeah, I changed to prosilver for a while, but then changed back. Don't know if it was because the green felt more like the old style I was used to or whether the prosilver seemed a bit too cutesy.

I used to be indecisive, but now I can't make up my mind what I think ... :wink:

User avatar
Snuva
1500 or more caches found
1500 or more caches found
Posts: 1081
Joined: 05 July 04 5:38 pm
Twitter: Snuva
Location: Hobart
Contact:

Re: *** New Site Testing - We need your help ***

Post by Snuva » 23 July 09 4:19 pm

Cheesy pigs wrote:
Snuva wrote: Since the change to the new forums I never get anything when I try to view new posts, which I'm sure will be fixerated in due course but in the mean time I find I just get very violent if I go near the forums. It makes me want to hide lots of micros on the west side of the Tamar. LOTS of micros, west side of Tamar, oh about half-way between Loonie and the Waterwell's shack.
If you click view active topics that will show all the new posts
It doesn't - it comes up with no new posts. LOTS of micros, west side of the Tamar. . . :lol:

User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6985
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Re: *** New Site Testing - We need your help ***

Post by CraigRat » 23 July 09 6:33 pm

Snuva wrote:
Cheesy pigs wrote:
Snuva wrote: Since the change to the new forums I never get anything when I try to view new posts, which I'm sure will be fixerated in due course but in the mean time I find I just get very violent if I go near the forums. It makes me want to hide lots of micros on the west side of the Tamar. LOTS of micros, west side of Tamar, oh about half-way between Loonie and the Waterwell's shack.
If you click view active topics that will show all the new posts
It doesn't - it comes up with no new posts. LOTS of micros, west side of the Tamar. . . :lol:
If you click on this link, does it work?: http://forum.geocaching.com.au/search.p ... d=newposts

If you are using a bookmarked link, chack it and see if it has somethign like sid=jk84734872894723 on the end of it...if it has, remove it and bookmark the above link.

As for the threats you make, let me just say...grrrrrr. :evil:

User avatar
Richary
6500 or more caches found
6500 or more caches found
Posts: 4160
Joined: 04 February 04 10:55 pm
Location: Waitara, Sydney

Re: *** New Site Testing - We need your help ***

Post by Richary » 23 July 09 9:36 pm

Well, I prefer the colour scheme of Prosilver, but prefer the layout of the default green.

Must be the aging eyes preferring the higher contrast of silver. It's no big deal either way to me and quite usable in both forms :)

User avatar
Sunshine Toledo
5500 or more caches found
5500 or more caches found
Posts: 439
Joined: 07 August 06 6:07 pm
Location: Wavell Heights, Brisbane
Contact:

Re: *** New Site Testing - We need your help ***

Post by Sunshine Toledo » 24 July 09 9:31 am

Like Snuva, I'm having trouble getting "New Posts" as I click on the Cummunity button at the top and then New Posts and I get no New Posts. If I go back to Community and click on Forum, there are lots of new posts there. I do this first thing in the morning to see what is happening.

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16300
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: *** New Site Testing - We need your help ***

Post by caughtatwork » 24 July 09 10:13 am

CraigRat wrote:
Jardry wrote:I've changed my URL shortcut for GCA to enter directly into the forum instead of the frontpage of the website to be able to use the "View New Posts" but I am still having problems.

On the main forum page there are at least half a dozen or so sub-forums with orange dots indicating new posts.

Use the "View New Posts" and only ONE topic is displayed.

Could a developer confirm that this is an issue?

What is the preferred process to currently display only new posts?
It appears there's 2 ways phpbb handles this:
1) New posts: these are posts that have happened since your last visit ,and
2) Unread posts: Posts that have yet to be read by you, or marked as read.

By default its using method 1, whereas the old forums used method 2
I've found a way to make it use method 2,I just need to implement it.
Yes, peeps, we know. We just need to fix.
My DSL has been down all week, so I can't do anything and CR has been busy with the Wiki.
Please bear with us in the meantime.

User avatar
Yurt
4500 or more caches found
4500 or more caches found
Posts: 1509
Joined: 01 May 09 10:08 pm
Location: Northern Suburbs, Sydney

Re: *** New Site Testing - We need your help ***

Post by Yurt » 28 July 09 11:21 pm

Not sure if this is the place for it but I've found a couple of caches are showing up as Archived on GCA when they are okay on GC. I noticed this because one of them is my own.
http://geocaching.com.au/cacher/Yurt/hides

Another one I saw on my list of finds is listed as archived as well:
http://geocaching.com.au/cacher/Yurt/finds

That one is okay as well as far as I know.

Any ideas? As most people search on GC I guess it's not a major problem but something to be aware of.

User avatar
Big Matt and Shell
6500 or more caches found
6500 or more caches found
Posts: 1905
Joined: 11 February 07 9:53 pm
Twitter: BigMattandShell
Contact:

Re: *** New Site Testing - We need your help ***

Post by Big Matt and Shell » 28 July 09 11:36 pm

Big Matt and Shell wrote:Guys,

I just realised how I can "watch" a topic and have had my first email come through. I was wondering if the format is supposed to look like this, it looks a bit raw.
......(shortened to save space)
Sorry to break up the Prosilver argument but this is still occurring, just wondering if you are any closer to a solution?

Locked