*** New Site Testing - We need your help ***

Discussion about the Geocaching Australia web site
Locked
User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6939
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

*** New Site Testing - We need your help ***

Post by CraigRat » 08 July 09 3:48 pm

We are freakishly close to changing over to the new server, so we would like to invite you to an open test of the new server.

Head on over to http://garmin.geocaching.com.au and use it as you usually do. Report any issues back here.

This is a forum thread for testing and bug reports, so please keep chit-chat to a minimum please!

Things to note: The page header for the new site is GREEN and says 'BETA' on it
... if at any time you end up on a site with the usual BLUE header, then you have strayed off the testing site and are back on the main site!

Anything you do on the Beta site will be overwritten on the changeover day, so don't be afraid to find a few caches, list some new ones, make/use queries, run searches, use gogole earth feed etc etc, go nuts, but keep it clean and family friendly.

A big thanks to the pre-beta testers, who have found a lot of bugs! (most of them embarrassingly were pre-existing!)

There won't be any testing of the forums, it appears to be ok, and is an out-of-the box update.

Things NOT to report:
* Links that go back to the current site (these will not be an issue when we go live)
* Discrepancies with numbers with stats/leaderboards etc: The data is a bit stale, and will be good on the day.

In essence, we need to know what doesn't work...

Have at it!

Thanks for your donations and contributions to the site, all of which have enabled us to provide you with a powerful, dedicated platform for you to do whatever you feel GCA can do for you.

-The Dev Team.

(Members who have only signed up in the last 3-4 weeks may not be able to access their accounts no the beta server just yet)

User avatar
setsujoku
3500 or more caches found
3500 or more caches found
Posts: 1422
Joined: 28 December 04 5:46 pm
Twitter: BGNWP
Location: Athelstone, SA
Contact:

Post by setsujoku » 08 July 09 4:14 pm

Just trying to log in on the beta site and get an error that my account doesn't exist/isn't activated yet. Not a biggie as you can still browse the rest of the site, but just makes it harder to log a few dummy caches, etc :D

User avatar
nomad_penguin
2000 or more caches found
2000 or more caches found
Posts: 321
Joined: 28 August 06 10:49 pm
Location: SA

Post by nomad_penguin » 08 July 09 4:17 pm

Are there changes to the site? Or is it just the new server that we are testing?

Like setsujoku, I can't log on either.

User avatar
nomad_penguin
2000 or more caches found
2000 or more caches found
Posts: 321
Joined: 28 August 06 10:49 pm
Location: SA

Post by nomad_penguin » 08 July 09 4:22 pm

This may be one of the things NOT to report, but I am getting this error on my profile page. (Compare existing site with beta site.)
Warning: getimagesize(http://forum.geocaching.com.au/images/avatars/3668.jpg) [function.getimagesize]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.1 404 Not Found in /var/www/site/gca/include/gca_formatting.php on line 709

User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6939
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Post by CraigRat » 08 July 09 4:40 pm

nomad_penguin wrote:This may be one of the things NOT to report, but I am getting this error on my profile page. (Compare existing site with beta site.)
Warning: getimagesize(http://forum.geocaching.com.au/images/avatars/3668.jpg) [function.getimagesize]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.1 404 Not Found in /var/www/site/gca/include/gca_formatting.php on line 709
Well spotted, that needs fixing!

Thanks

User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6939
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Post by CraigRat » 08 July 09 4:42 pm

Login issues:

You will need to Clear All cookies from your browser, then close and open your browser and try and log in again.

Theres a slight issue between the old and new site.
Last edited by CraigRat on 08 July 09 4:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
setsujoku
3500 or more caches found
3500 or more caches found
Posts: 1422
Joined: 28 December 04 5:46 pm
Twitter: BGNWP
Location: Athelstone, SA
Contact:

Post by setsujoku » 08 July 09 4:43 pm

CraigRat wrote:
nomad_penguin wrote:This may be one of the things NOT to report, but I am getting this error on my profile page. (Compare existing site with beta site.)
Warning: getimagesize(http://forum.geocaching.com.au/images/avatars/3668.jpg) [function.getimagesize]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.1 404 Not Found in /var/www/site/gca/include/gca_formatting.php on line 709
Well spotted, that needs fixing!

Thanks
Ah I started typing the same thing, and then realised what the issue was so didn't bother finishing with my post.

So far everything looks great, but I guess with only a handful of users on the new server you would expect things like the graphs to generate in no time at all!

All looking very good so far though.

User avatar
Mr Router
1500 or more caches found
1500 or more caches found
Posts: 2782
Joined: 22 May 05 11:59 am
Location: Bathurst

Post by Mr Router » 08 July 09 4:48 pm

Logged in and posting :) seems quick 8)

User avatar
gibbo003
600 or more caches found
600 or more caches found
Posts: 321
Joined: 29 August 07 5:08 pm
Location: Darwin

Post by gibbo003 » 08 July 09 5:13 pm

Love the speed but I bet it will slow when everyone is on.

User avatar
SG-3
250 or more caches found
250 or more caches found
Posts: 175
Joined: 26 May 07 10:15 pm
Location: Mornington, Tasmania

Post by SG-3 » 08 July 09 5:32 pm

OK, call me stupid ("STUPID!"), but even after clearing cookies, I still can't log on... and I tried four different browsers... Sorry...

OMY130
Posts: 285
Joined: 08 January 05 10:55 pm

Post by OMY130 » 08 July 09 5:37 pm

I'm with Stupid :twisted: <p>No luck getting onto Beta Site after deleting all cookies/history the works..

User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6939
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Post by CraigRat » 08 July 09 5:37 pm

SG-3 wrote:OK, call me stupid ("STUPID!"), but even after clearing cookies, I still can't log on... and I tried four different browsers... Sorry...
are you running any kind of personal firewall software on your computer?

User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6939
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Post by CraigRat » 08 July 09 5:40 pm

OMY130 wrote:I'm with Stupid :twisted: <p>No luck getting onto Beta Site after deleting all cookies/history the works..
Did you shut down your browser (ALL windows)?

User avatar
gibbo003
600 or more caches found
600 or more caches found
Posts: 321
Joined: 29 August 07 5:08 pm
Location: Darwin

Post by gibbo003 » 08 July 09 5:41 pm

I'm with Stupid as well
No luck getting onto Beta Site after deleting all cookies/history the works..

User avatar
gibbo003
600 or more caches found
600 or more caches found
Posts: 321
Joined: 29 August 07 5:08 pm
Location: Darwin

Post by gibbo003 » 08 July 09 5:43 pm

I can use most of the functions of the site (stats etc) but am unable to log on to log a cache etc.

Locked