Posting

Discussion about the Geocaching Australia web site
User avatar
Mr Router
1500 or more caches found
1500 or more caches found
Posts: 2782
Joined: 22 May 05 11:59 am
Location: Bathurst

Posting

Post by Mr Router » 16 April 09 7:38 pm

Quick quiz to the fairy's :?: :?: why when I post from another random ip address do I get an "invalid session" message appear :?: :?: am i locked into a single ip address :?: :?:

rhinogeo
2700 or more caches found
2700 or more caches found
Posts: 1213
Joined: 31 October 03 11:45 am
Twitter: rhinogeo
Location: Benalla, VIC

Re: Posting

Post by rhinogeo » 16 April 09 8:00 pm

Mr Router wrote:Quick quiz to the fairy's ...
I thought they were faeries :shock:

Spelling it that way implies that you're after something alternative :wink: ... not that there's anything wrong with that :P

User avatar
Mr Router
1500 or more caches found
1500 or more caches found
Posts: 2782
Joined: 22 May 05 11:59 am
Location: Bathurst

Re: Posting

Post by Mr Router » 16 April 09 8:14 pm

rhinogeo wrote:
Mr Router wrote:Quick quiz to the fairy's ...
I thought they were faeries :shock:

Spelling it that way implies that you're after something alternative :wink: ... not that there's anything wrong with that :P
I forgot how the spelling went :oops:

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16184
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Post by caughtatwork » 16 April 09 9:30 pm

Not entirely sure. This happens from time to time. Try logging out, deleting the cookie and then logging in from the new IP address.

User avatar
Mr Router
1500 or more caches found
1500 or more caches found
Posts: 2782
Joined: 22 May 05 11:59 am
Location: Bathurst

Post by Mr Router » 16 April 09 10:01 pm

Have tried several times over a couple of days and it remains the same :? Firefox auto deletes my cookies and ccleaner takes care of the rest at the end of each internet session :!:

User avatar
CraigRat
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
Posts: 6970
Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Twitter: CraigRat
Facebook: http://facebook.com/CraigRat
Location: Launceston, TAS
Contact:

Post by CraigRat » 16 April 09 10:13 pm

Are you using mobile/3g internet when it happens?

pjamesk
300 or more found
300 or more found
Posts: 211
Joined: 27 April 06 9:33 pm
Location: Hobart

Post by pjamesk » 16 April 09 10:36 pm

CraigRat wrote:Are you using mobile/3g internet when it happens?
yep thats when it happens to me

User avatar
Map Monkey
1050 or more caches found
1050 or more caches found
Posts: 2214
Joined: 08 April 04 3:06 pm
Location: Banana Republic
Contact:

Post by Map Monkey » 16 April 09 11:25 pm

Don't know if this thread may be of help, or maybe those aliens really do exist and just don't like your haircut. :lol:

Sounds like the forum software requires a fixed IP per session if i understand the answer correctly.

mm

User avatar
Bronze
Posts: 2372
Joined: 15 July 03 11:48 pm
Location: Toronto, NSW

Post by Bronze » 17 April 09 2:22 am

Your not holding your mouth right Router.

Oh the fine print says something about: find count ratio to journey distance.

B.

User avatar
Mr Router
1500 or more caches found
1500 or more caches found
Posts: 2782
Joined: 22 May 05 11:59 am
Location: Bathurst

Post by Mr Router » 17 April 09 6:58 am

CraigRat wrote:Are you using mobile/3g internet when it happens?
Yes next g wireless :D

User avatar
Mr Router
1500 or more caches found
1500 or more caches found
Posts: 2782
Joined: 22 May 05 11:59 am
Location: Bathurst

Post by Mr Router » 17 April 09 7:00 am

Map Monkey wrote:Sounds like the forum software requires a fixed IP per session if i understand the answer correctly.mm
Signing on using only one ip, so things dont change mid session :? :?

User avatar
The Spindoctors
Posts: 1767
Joined: 08 October 03 8:00 pm
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Post by The Spindoctors » 17 April 09 8:42 am

I get that error whenever there is a 'hidden' character in the text, from something I copy and paste into here.

I find I have to post it a sentence or two at a time (editing the post as I go), until I 'find' the offending character, and end up retyping that sentence.

Is this what might have happened?

User avatar
Mr Router
1500 or more caches found
1500 or more caches found
Posts: 2782
Joined: 22 May 05 11:59 am
Location: Bathurst

Post by Mr Router » 17 April 09 9:05 am

Doesn't matter what I put in the text ! it just wont post :oops:

gypsycacher
750 or more caches found
750 or more caches found
Posts: 75
Joined: 24 August 08 12:40 pm
Location: Riverland, SA
Contact:

Post by gypsycacher » 17 April 09 9:46 am

yes I get the same (invalid sessions) with bigpond mobile broadband (pre-paid variety) however I was using a vodafone mobile broadband also and that was fine, never had an issue..... :roll: ff in both cases.

To get around it I type the message control c to copy it, then go back and hit reply again, quickly paste what was copied and hit submit and it works.... this is the same for PM's also.... :?

User avatar
caughtatwork
Posts: 16184
Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Post by caughtatwork » 17 April 09 11:13 am

Mobile data sessions change IP addresses on the fly (regardless of what it tells you). This is more than likely the actual cause. The IP address you get when you first get to the page is different to the IP address when the post data comes through, so it's deemed invalid.

Post Reply