View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 19 October 17 8:50 am



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
New phones to have 30cm GPS accuracy in 2018 
Author Message
4500 or more caches found
4500 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 01 May 09 10:08 pm
Posts: 1508
Location: Northern Suburbs, Sydney
GCA Found: 1357
GCA Hidden: 14
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds1000 GCA Finds
Post New phones to have 30cm GPS accuracy in 2018
I thought accuracy was a function of the signal sent by the satellites? Is that being changed? This article doesn't say much. But there's a link within it that may say more, haven't read it yet.

http://www.androidpolice.com/2017/09/25 ... issed-turn

(edit - links with URL text still don't work?)


26 September 17 12:34 pm
Profile
Online
Indentured Slave
User avatar

Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Posts: 6648
Location: Launceston, TAS
GCA Found: 157
GCA Hidden: 44
100 GCA Finds
Post Re: New phones to have 30cm GPS accuracy in 2018
The reciever is where the magic happens.

The more channels it can recieve = the more data it can use to work out the position more qaccuratley.

The newer chips will be using the US Based GPS system AND The European Galileo and/or the Russion GLONASS which are more modern and more accurate.
Using a combination of all these apears to produce pretty good results.

The US system is getting very long in the tooth, considering it is based off 1970's technology (albeit enhanced over time).


26 September 17 12:44 pm
Profile E-mail ICQ WWW

Joined: 07 January 15 9:15 pm
Posts: 394
Location: Caringbah
GCA Found: 384
GCA Hidden: 493
100 GCA Finds
Post Re: New phones to have 30cm GPS accuracy in 2018
The IEEE spectrum linked in your article describes it best:

> A newer generation broadcasts a more complex signal called L5 at a different frequency in addition to the legacy L1 signal.

Edwin


26 September 17 1:11 pm
Profile E-mail WWW
4500 or more caches found
4500 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 01 May 09 10:08 pm
Posts: 1508
Location: Northern Suburbs, Sydney
GCA Found: 1357
GCA Hidden: 14
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds1000 GCA Finds
Post Re: New phones to have 30cm GPS accuracy in 2018
Thanks for the info.

How will it be when phones have better accuracy than a dedicated GPS? I imagine that newer, better, faster GPS models will come out though. Still 30 cm accuracy would take out a lot of the fun of the game. That's not to say that accuracy will actually be achievable in a lot of situations though.


26 September 17 5:28 pm
Profile

Joined: 07 January 15 9:15 pm
Posts: 394
Location: Caringbah
GCA Found: 384
GCA Hidden: 493
100 GCA Finds
Post Re: New phones to have 30cm GPS accuracy in 2018
Yurt wrote:
Still 30 cm accuracy would take out a lot of the fun of the game.


You have three million containers hidden with the older accuracy, I'm pretty sure they will last you a lifetime.

Edwin


26 September 17 6:34 pm
Profile E-mail WWW
6000 or more caches found
6000 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 04 February 04 10:55 pm
Posts: 4007
Location: Waitara, Sydney
GCA Found: 1288
GCA Hidden: 23
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds1000 GCA Finds
Post Re: New phones to have 30cm GPS accuracy in 2018
Also the coordinate system used isn't accurate to 30cm - .001 degree of latitude is about 1.5 meters.


26 September 17 7:20 pm
Profile E-mail
4500 or more caches found
4500 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 01 May 09 10:08 pm
Posts: 1508
Location: Northern Suburbs, Sydney
GCA Found: 1357
GCA Hidden: 14
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds1000 GCA Finds
Post Re: New phones to have 30cm GPS accuracy in 2018
Richary wrote:
Also the coordinate system used isn't accurate to 30cm - .001 degree of latitude is about 1.5 meters.


So let's go to four decimal places!! :-"


29 September 17 3:46 pm
Profile
6000 or more caches found
6000 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 04 February 04 10:55 pm
Posts: 4007
Location: Waitara, Sydney
GCA Found: 1288
GCA Hidden: 23
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds1000 GCA Finds
Post Re: New phones to have 30cm GPS accuracy in 2018
You should see what happens if I drag a marker on our work coverage checker tool to see if we have line of sight to a base rather than just putting in an address. It puts so many decimal places after the degrees it is down to micrometer level. Maybe I should use that for my cache hides!


30 September 17 12:20 am
Profile E-mail
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Hoojar and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Forum theme by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forum/DivisionCore.