HELP!!

For all your general chit chat, caching or not.
SS Chitral

HELP!!

Post by SS Chitral » 13 July 12 10:25 pm

Complete Newbie really hoping to engage my 10 year old in this, but have now been out to Muggle this!, Augustus Rest and Humble something or other and although mobile phone GPS always says I'm within1-3 metres I never can see anything! We'd really like our first find, then maybe we'll know 'how' to look.

Just a little help? Pllleease?

caughtatwork

Re: HELP!!

Post by caughtatwork » 13 July 12 10:38 pm

Muggle This is very tricky and not necessarily a good cache for a beginner. You need some practice looking for "not a box under a bush".

I haven't found the other two.

All three of these are micros. Try looking up a traditional regular with a difficulty of 1 or 1.5 and have another go. Get your geocaching "eye" in and then try for micros. They can be very tricky even if you're standing right next to them.

quiet1_au
5500 or more caches found

Post by quiet1_au » 14 July 12 9:43 am

caughtatwork wrote:Muggle This is very tricky and not necessarily a good cache for a beginner. You need some practice looking for "not a box under a bush".
Muggle This was my early nemesis cache, it too me several visits to locate it - I agreed with caughtatwork, not a good beginner's cache to start the caching ball rolling...
caughtatwork wrote:I haven't found the other two.

All three of these are micros. Try looking up a traditional regular with a difficulty of 1 or 1.5 and have another go. Get your geocaching "eye" in and then try for micros. They can be very tricky even if you're standing right next to them.
Augustus Rest would be suitable, but its a very muggle-prone area so you need to practice stealthiness! The hide is obscured from three sides which can help, and you can take a weight-off as you surreptitiously seek your cache-quarry.
Spoiler: show
(Psst as I recall, you should be looking for a magnetic key-holder)