View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 14 December 17 5:22 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Offline US Caches 
Author Message
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 05 March 08 10:12 pm
Posts: 400
Location: Hawthorndene
GCA Found: 509
GCA Hidden: 21
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds
Post Offline US Caches
I was having a look at my US finds from July and it shows that a number of the caches are offline in GCA but on checking GC they are alive and well.

Is there a way to change them from offline to online??

I have tried uploading the gpx files from GC


16 August 09 2:56 pm
Profile WWW
3500 or more caches found
3500 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 28 December 04 5:46 pm
Posts: 1422
Location: Athelstone, SA
GCA Found: 22
GCA Hidden: 1
Post Re: Offline US Caches
The only way that they can be marked as active is through the feed, but as the feed doesn't update those caches there isn't any way to re-activate those caches.
Uploading GPX files doesn't change the status of a cache back to active, even if there are finds from yesterday for example.


16 August 09 3:10 pm
Profile E-mail WWW
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
User avatar

Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Posts: 6684
Location: Launceston, TAS
GCA Found: 157
GCA Hidden: 44
100 GCA Finds
Post Re: Offline US Caches
firesafe wrote:
I was having a look at my US finds from July and it shows that a number of the caches are offline in GCA but on checking GC they are alive and well.

Is there a way to change them from offline to online??

Out of interest, is there any NEED to do this? (Just curious)
I say this because I would expect no-one would be using this site to look for caches outside of AU/NZ

We can only do so much with what we have, and unless geocaching.com open up their database, we won't be able to actively track OS caches.


16 August 09 3:49 pm
Profile E-mail WWW
10000 or more caches found
10000 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 05 March 08 10:12 pm
Posts: 400
Location: Hawthorndene
GCA Found: 509
GCA Hidden: 21
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds
Post Re: Offline US Caches
I was curious myself as you go to my finds page and there are 20 or so red with lines through which are the US ones but not all of them - strange...

If it cant be done then so be it. :)


16 August 09 4:25 pm
Profile WWW
1400 or more caches found
1400 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 18 June 04 3:58 pm
Posts: 463
Location: Melbourne
GCA Found: 130
GCA Hidden: 5
100 GCA Finds
Post Re: Offline US Caches
I was wondering if it was possible to label non-Aus/NZ caches with a "not updated" indicator and/or a different strikethough to differentiate them from the archived Aus/NZ ones?


16 August 09 5:58 pm
Profile WWW
650 or more caches found
650 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 12 June 06 7:48 pm
Posts: 102
Location: Wahroonga, NSW
GCA Found: 50
GCA Hidden: 1
Post Re: Offline US Caches
CraigRat wrote:
firesafe wrote:
I was having a look at my US finds from July and it shows that a number of the caches are offline in GCA but on checking GC they are alive and well.

Is there a way to change them from offline to online??

Out of interest, is there any NEED to do this? (Just curious)
I say this because I would expect no-one would be using this site to look for caches outside of AU/NZ

We can only do so much with what we have, and unless geocaching.com open up their database, we won't be able to actively track OS caches.


I have a couple of caches OS. It would be nice to have a way to mark them as active again so they show up correctly in my stats and graphs.

Definitely not a need but it would be nice.


16 August 09 6:52 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: 17 May 04 12:11 pm
Posts: 14676
Location: Melbourne
GCA Found: 1041
GCA Hidden: 298
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds1000 GCA Finds
Post Re: Offline US Caches
Unfortunately, the way that the feed works is that we don't get a feed for archived caches. I think you can all work out why this is.

Once a cache goes without a feed in 10 days we assume that it's no longer coming through in the feed as it's been archived. There is little we can do with regards to archiving of caches that aren't archived.

If it's an overseas cache that IS archived, then no feed comes through and it gets archived.
If it's an overseas cache that is NOT archived, then no feed comes through and it gets archived.

See the dilemma? We can't differentiate between archived because it's archived and archived because we don't get a feed :-(

There are some possibilities for marking caches unarchived, but once they get archived at the source, we leave them as unarchived because they were set to not-to-be-archived so then we get people complaining that a cache SHOULD be archived but isn't.

We're caught in the middle.


16 August 09 9:40 pm
Profile E-mail WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Forum theme by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forum/DivisionCore.