View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 20 September 17 9:29 am



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Garmin etrex 30 problem 
Author Message
8000 or more caches found
8000 or more caches found

Joined: 07 October 12 1:59 am
Posts: 284
Location: Canberra
GCA Found: 888
GCA Hidden: 5
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds
Post Garmin etrex 30 problem
My Garmin was working fine until this morning. I found a GC cache, then some GA trigs. Then I realised that at that point all that was now showing on my Garmin were GA caches; the GC caches had disappeared from the screen and were not showing, despite being loaded as both queries and individually. They had been showing, but now they weren't. I had loaded quite a lot of files, so I thought that might be the problem. However, after I got home I took all the cache files off my Garmin and loaded one GC query only. None of the GC files still showed (yes, I did unzip it) and the Garmin stated I had no files. But the extra WPs belonging to the caches had loaded and were showing. I loaded a GA query and those caches showed. Any suggestions what might have happened?

I just remembered, that I had been having problems with loading 'next stage'; it wasn't taking, but I had thought that might have been because I had loaded LOTS of files; far more than usual and the Garmin told me I had loaded too many files. However, when I came home and deleted all the cache files and only loaded one GC query the caches still didn't show, but a loaded GA query did show. Help [-o< .


07 October 16 12:12 am
Profile E-mail
8000 or more caches found
8000 or more caches found

Joined: 07 October 12 1:59 am
Posts: 284
Location: Canberra
GCA Found: 888
GCA Hidden: 5
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds
Post Re: Garmin etrex 30 problem
I just loaded an individual GC cache and it shows, but earlier the individually loaded GC caches disappeared too. The query GC caches are still not showing.


07 October 16 12:28 am
Profile E-mail
2500 or more caches found
2500 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 31 July 08 8:26 pm
Posts: 665
Location: Deakin, ACT
GCA Found: 153
GCA Hidden: 21
100 GCA Finds
Post Re: Garmin etrex 30 problem
Have you done a full reset of the unit?


07 October 16 11:21 am
Profile
Indentured Slave
User avatar

Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Posts: 6627
Location: Launceston, TAS
GCA Found: 156
GCA Hidden: 44
100 GCA Finds
Post Re: Garmin etrex 30 problem
How are you loading them in?

If you are using GSAK make sure you dont have 'clear unit before loading' or whatever it is called unchecked from the download dialog.


07 October 16 11:34 am
Profile E-mail ICQ WWW
8000 or more caches found
8000 or more caches found

Joined: 07 October 12 1:59 am
Posts: 284
Location: Canberra
GCA Found: 888
GCA Hidden: 5
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds
Post Re: Garmin etrex 30 problem
After loading and unzipping the CG file a few more times it is suddenly working :shock: ... :D =D>.
I'll see how it goes and if it gives more trouble I will have a look at Agent Basil's suggestion of a full reset of the unit. Or perhaps I should do that on the next updating of my files day.
I don't use GSAK, as I don't know much about this. Possible I should use this?
Thank you for the replies.


07 October 16 12:34 pm
Profile E-mail
2500 or more caches found
2500 or more caches found

Joined: 15 June 12 9:42 am
Posts: 99
Location: SE Melbourne
GCA Found:
GCA Hidden:
Post Re: Garmin etrex 30 problem
When you load .gpx file or files onto your GPS, do you always use the same file name? If so, that could be part of the problem. If not, disregard.

Another troubleshooting tip is to remove all .gpx files from your GPS, disconnect from your computer and then boot your GPS. Once it has booted, turn it off and reconnect to your computer and load new file or files onto it.

Cheers,

b.


07 October 16 1:29 pm
Profile E-mail
8000 or more caches found
8000 or more caches found

Joined: 07 October 12 1:59 am
Posts: 284
Location: Canberra
GCA Found: 888
GCA Hidden: 5
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds
Post Re: Garmin etrex 30 problem
biggles1024 wrote:
When you load .gpx file or files onto your GPS, do you always use the same file name? If so, that could be part of the problem. If not, disregard.

Another troubleshooting tip is to remove all .gpx files from your GPS, disconnect from your computer and then boot your GPS. Once it has booted, turn it off and reconnect to your computer and load new file or files onto it.

Cheers,

b.

I did take all the .gpx files off before I attempted to load new files, but it didn't make any difference. I do reuse the same name for the query. However, after several attempts, it has now come good, so I will see what happens.


07 October 16 2:23 pm
Profile E-mail
2500 or more caches found
2500 or more caches found

Joined: 07 May 11 8:22 am
Posts: 138
Location: Melbourne, Vic
GCA Found: 738
GCA Hidden: 13
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds
Post Re: Garmin etrex 30 problem
I've had similar issues in the past. As biggles says the trick is to reboot the GPS after deleting the gpx file before loading the new one. I haven't had a problem since doing this.


07 October 16 9:35 pm
Profile E-mail
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Forum theme by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forum/DivisionCore.