Geocaching Australia
http://forum.geocaching.com.au/

GCA Android App - GA Cacher
http://forum.geocaching.com.au/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=17856
Page 6 of 6

Author:  spatialriq [ 14 August 15 11:27 am ]
Post subject:  Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

Thanks, all tickety-boo now :)

Author:  on4bam [ 15 August 15 8:47 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

Just installed the app to see if it would benefit me on our upcoming (still some weeks to go) holiday in TAS and VIC.

Some questions:
I can import 200 caches from the map center but moving the map and importing 200 from there seems to make the previous 200 disappear. Can I load all TAS GCA caches or is 200 a hard limit on the database list? I've got 9700+ in GSAK and would like them in the app (probably a lot less after filtering out places we'll not be visiting)

Is there a way to use offline maps (again, can't find any settings for this so I guess not)?


Side question: When I first imported the map was on my home location. Seems there are GCA caches in Germany and Canada (and other countries too) :shock: strange...


Thanks.

Author:  mtrax [ 15 August 15 8:57 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

Short answer is no, it was originally designed for addhoc or caching on the go, there is no real limitations on number of Geocaches apart from your memory and GCA Download limits . for off line maps I would suggest locus pro for the foreseeable future unless people think these features are worthwhile etc..
So happy to look at designing but need know if it would be a popular feature

Author:  on4bam [ 15 August 15 9:19 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

OK, thanks for the very fast reply.
I guess I'll stick to GDAK then. That way I can import my GSAK database and work 100% offline. Maybe I'll just use the GCA app for logging (caching will be done with the Oregon 600 anyway).

Author:  Metcatan22 [ 15 June 17 6:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

I really like the app!

Just wondering as the caches that I've hidden don't show on my map unless I load them specifically, is this correct? I couldn't find an answer in this or the other thread. Thanks! :)

Author:  mtrax [ 15 June 17 6:16 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

You'll have to use the filter, and set to own so it loads just yours or All for found and owned

Author:  Metcatan22 [ 15 June 17 6:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

mtrax wrote:
You'll have to use the filter, and set to own so it loads just yours or All for found and owned


Thanks, it does show when I change to "Owned" in Preferences/Load Options. But doesn't show when I select "ALL" ... ??

Author:  mtrax [ 15 June 17 6:46 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

Ok I think I know what's going on, I need to revamped the filter. Thanks for the feedback

Author:  Metcatan22 [ 05 July 17 2:17 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

mtrax wrote:
Ok I think I know what's going on, I need to revamped the filter. Thanks for the feedback


Perfect, sorry for the late reply. All seems to work now! Cheers! :)

Author:  Zalgariath [ 05 July 17 7:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

Think I might have mentioned this before, but the "View in Browser" option bounces you back to the App instead of doing what it suggests on Android 7.0

Author:  mtrax [ 05 July 17 8:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

Zal,
ok ,this looks like its because you have set to open this URL with GACacher, which is launching it again.
to remove this behavior you need to goto App-Info and change "Go to support URLs" and set this to Always ask.

So I will try to see what I can do to bypass this behavior.
thanks for the feedback.

Author:  Zalgariath [ 06 July 17 8:50 am ]
Post subject:  Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

#-o ... Cheers! I'll try that.

Yep that worked, cheers!

Author:  mtrax [ 04 October 17 5:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

Latest update should now be available which includes support for two new cache types :
* Geocacher
* Gadget

Also now supported is Passcode entry , ie geocache types which require a password to log.

As usual please feel free to log any issues ASAP.

Author:  whitewebbs [ 05 October 17 9:32 am ]
Post subject:  Re: GCA Android App - GA Cacher

mtrax wrote:
Latest update should now be available which includes support for two new cache types :
* Geocacher
* Gadget

Also now supported is Passcode entry , ie geocache types which require a password to log.

As usual please feel free to log any issues ASAP.


Fantastic, I just love this app.

Page 6 of 6 All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/