View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 14 December 17 9:03 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Garmin Montana - Power Surge on Hub Port 
Author Message
3000 or more caches found
3000 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 25 February 09 1:59 pm
Posts: 1588
Location: West Ryde
GCA Found: 1459
GCA Hidden: 59
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds1000 GCA Finds
Post Garmin Montana - Power Surge on Hub Port
Whenever I plug my new Garmjin Montana into my computer, I get an error messgae that tells me I have exceeded the power limits of it's hub port.

What should I do???? Does anyone else have this problem?


04 February 12 11:50 am
Profile
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
User avatar

Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Posts: 6684
Location: Launceston, TAS
GCA Found: 157
GCA Hidden: 44
100 GCA Finds
Post Re: Garmin Montana - Power Surge on Hub Port
Have you got ports in the back or the front that are not in use? try them.

USB Hubs inside PCs have a limited power output and having two or three devices in them is enough to exceed the 60mA or whatever it is that they can draw. moving some devices to another set of USB ports might spread the load a bit


04 February 12 12:58 pm
Profile E-mail WWW
3000 or more caches found
3000 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 25 February 09 1:59 pm
Posts: 1588
Location: West Ryde
GCA Found: 1459
GCA Hidden: 59
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds1000 GCA Finds
Post Re: Garmin Montana - Power Surge on Hub Port
Thanks CraigRat. That seems to work. Well, I unplugged the printer and put the gps in there. Was it not having the printer that made the difference/ Or was it using a different port that helped?

Anyway, all good now \:D/


04 February 12 8:45 pm
Profile
4500 or more caches found
4500 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 24 April 10 1:26 pm
Posts: 338
Location: Box Hill South
GCA Found: 853
GCA Hidden: 64
100 GCA Finds500 GCA Finds
Post Re: Garmin Montana - Power Surge on Hub Port
blossom* wrote:
Thanks CraigRat. That seems to work. Well, I unplugged the printer and put the gps in there. Was it not having the printer that made the difference/ Or was it using a different port that helped?

Anyway, all good now \:D/


If it's an unpowered USB then the total current drawn by all devices has to be within the limits of a single USB port's power limit. Front ports sometimes have less power than the rear ones too (as I discovered once with an external harddrive that made nasty sounds...)

As CraigRat says, try to use all the ports individually. If you need a hub to get more ports (eg laptop with many devices) and its an unpowered one try to use the lowest power devices in the hub (mice, keyboard), and the power-hungry ones (like USB powered devices - scanners, portable harddrives for instance) on the "real" USB ports.

A powered USB hub solves the problem by powering the ports from the mains, so it can provide full power to each (in theory at least - I have one at work that doesn't...) Some USB devices are borderline too - eg iPads draw more power than iPods so I discovered they don't work on the cheap USB mains adaptor I bought at work - annoying!!


05 February 12 12:47 pm
Profile E-mail
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Forum theme by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forum/DivisionCore.