Iphone Geocaching vs Hand Held GPS

Discussion about software such as GSAK, OziExplorer etc, as well as all things hardware, GPSrs, laptops, PDAs, paperless caching, cables etc
Pvt.Cache

Iphone Geocaching vs Hand Held GPS

Post by Pvt.Cache » 10 January 12 12:00 pm

Hi all, i am very new to Geocaching (first started on boxing day last year)
In this time i have been using the paid for iphone app for my geocaching. My problem with this is that when using the iphone to locate gz, i seem to be walking back and forth with in a 10 meter radius.

the compass will tell me to walk 5 meters in this direction, all to change and tell me 9 meters in a different direction!

I was wondering if it is worth buying a GPS (looking at the Garmin Etrex 30)? I understand the varying factors with accurate coordinates in correspondence to a cache. But for just finding the exact coordinates laid, is a gps more accurate than the apparent "5 m accuracy" the iphone GPS claims on the app? And do the GPS's bounce about making you walk in circles for GZ?

Sorry if this sounds a bit like word vomit, i just woke up!!

Any info would be appreciated. Thanks.

Philipp
1350 or more caches found
Twitter: derfuzzel

Re: Iphone Geocaching vs Hand Held GPS

Post by Philipp » 10 January 12 12:31 pm

There isn't much advantage in terms of accuracy if you look at a "real" unit in comparison to an iPhone 4. If you put down the phone/GPS close to GZ it will eventually settle and give you a better idea. But don't expect anything better than 5m - that's just how good GPS is.

If your happy with the functionality and battery life so far, then my advise would be to stick to your phone. Eventually when you go on longer trips and you need a more rugged device you can revisit the whole topic.

Dik:
500 or more caches logged
500 or more caches logged

Post by Dik: » 10 January 12 12:41 pm