View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 12 December 17 2:01 am



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Android with a excellent GPS ? 
Author Message
150 or more caches found
150 or more caches found

Joined: 30 July 08 11:47 am
Posts: 476
Location: VIC
GCA Found: 214
GCA Hidden: 47
100 GCA Finds
Post Android with a excellent GPS ?
Are there any new Androids with an excellent GPS chipset in it, eg garmin asus a50 level ?


13 September 11 4:47 pm
Profile
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
User avatar

Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Posts: 6681
Location: Launceston, TAS
GCA Found: 157
GCA Hidden: 44
100 GCA Finds
Post Re: Android with a excellent GPS ?
covert wrote:
Are there any new Androids with an excellent GPS chipset in it, eg garmin asus a50 level ?

I would be hesitant to recommend the Garmin units, they haven't updated them in ages and most still run Android 1.6, meaning most current caching apps won't run on them as a fair few require 2.1 and above nowadays!

Most of the newer phones have OK chipsets, but under trees they still don't match a dedicated GPSr but are good enough generally.

A good rule of thumb: Cheap Phone == Cheap GPSr chipset


13 September 11 9:20 pm
Profile E-mail WWW
150 or more caches found
150 or more caches found

Joined: 30 July 08 11:47 am
Posts: 476
Location: VIC
GCA Found: 214
GCA Hidden: 47
100 GCA Finds
Post Re: Android with a excellent GPS ?
I find my garmin asus a50 too slow but it does have a android 2.1 update on it. The GPS in it is the same as the one in the garmin Oregon 550 and is amazing too use. If the SG2 had the same GPS I would drop my iPhone out of a moving car in no time.


13 September 11 9:25 pm
Profile
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
User avatar

Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Posts: 6681
Location: Launceston, TAS
GCA Found: 157
GCA Hidden: 44
100 GCA Finds
Post Re: Android with a excellent GPS ?
Is the 2.1 update an official garmin one or have you dropped another ROM onto it?


13 September 11 9:29 pm
Profile E-mail WWW
150 or more caches found
150 or more caches found

Joined: 30 July 08 11:47 am
Posts: 476
Location: VIC
GCA Found: 214
GCA Hidden: 47
100 GCA Finds
Post Re: Android with a excellent GPS ?
Official update


13 September 11 9:41 pm
Profile
800 or more hollow logs searched
800 or more hollow logs searched
User avatar

Joined: 03 April 03 12:28 am
Posts: 2573
Location: Kalamunda, WA
GCA Found: 18
GCA Hidden: 0
Post Re: Android with a excellent GPS ?
CraigRat wrote:
Is the 2.1 update an official garmin one or have you dropped another ROM onto it?

If anyone finds another ROM that supports it (or, indeed, the Moto Flipout!), do let us know...

I tried a Galaxy S (OK, not a new model) vs the A50 and it was no contest, same as vs my Nexus One. They're all OK, but the Garmin's quicker to lock and MUCH more sensitive.


14 September 11 1:24 am
Profile E-mail WWW
150 or more caches found
150 or more caches found

Joined: 30 July 08 11:47 am
Posts: 476
Location: VIC
GCA Found: 214
GCA Hidden: 47
100 GCA Finds
Post Re: Android with a excellent GPS ?
The S2 is no better than the S1 GPS wise. I have been thinking of over clocking the A50 to see if that improves performance with gps apps.

The A50 is better than my Oregon 300 GPS wise.


14 September 11 4:11 am
Profile
100 or more tracks walked
100 or more tracks walked

Joined: 08 May 04 6:05 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Melbourne
GCA Found: 1
GCA Hidden: 0
Post Re: Android with a excellent GPS ?
covert wrote:
Are there any new Androids with an excellent GPS chipset in it, eg garmin asus a50 level ?

Short answer: "I dunno."

Longer answer: providing the Android phone you pick has Bluetooth with the SPP protocol included (it should be there, unless the vendor removed it) you can use an external GPSr logger such as a Holux M-241 to get a high sensitivity GPSr that works with your phone.

I'm using such a combination with a cheap Huawei Sonic (AUD$188, current latest version of Android, hardly crashes at all, promise). Much more convenient than paper and my beloved-but-old Geko 201. (Using c:geo and still use a paper notebook for multis, plus for recording notes about which caches I've found and such -- perhaps I'll switch to on site logging, but I like real keyboards for text entry, really ...)

A posting with the details of the combination I'm using (you'll want to check that your phone's Bluetooth actually pairs and works with the logger you select ... yeah, it's a standard, but not everyone implements it correctly) is at groundspeak.com:

http://forums.groundspeak.com/GC/index.php?showtopic=282037


14 September 11 9:08 pm
Profile
100 or more tracks walked
100 or more tracks walked

Joined: 08 May 04 6:05 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Melbourne
GCA Found: 1
GCA Hidden: 0
Post Re: Android with a excellent GPS ?
ollave wrote:
Longer answer: providing the Android phone you pick has Bluetooth with the SPP protocol included (it should be there, unless the vendor removed it) you can use an external GPSr logger such as a Holux M-241 to get a high sensitivity GPSr that works with your phone.

I'm using such a combination with a cheap Huawei Sonic (AUD$188, current latest version of Android, hardly crashes at all, promise). Much more convenient than paper and my beloved-but-old Geko 201. (Using c:geo and still use a paper notebook for multis, plus for recording notes about which caches I've found and such -- perhaps I'll switch to on site logging, but I like real keyboards for text entry, really ...)

Replying to my own posting may be bad form, but the afore mentioned Holux unit has died on its 9th day in the field. No abuse; definite warranty claim; I'm wondering now about its robustness. (I'm ... dubious ... about its battery connections, and as the failure mode was the unit intermittently powering down, changing to complete refusal to power up ... I like the concept; the Holux may be the wrong device.)

I'll follow up if I exchange it and the subsequent unit stands up to geocaching. In the mean time it's decide what cache next with the phone (which means its GPSr is on and eating power), and type the coordinates into the old but reliable Geko 201. :D


22 September 11 11:05 pm
Profile
1500 or more caches found
1500 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 22 May 05 11:59 am
Posts: 2782
Location: Bathurst
GCA Found: 9
GCA Hidden: 0
Post Re: Android with a excellent GPS ?
recently got a eee pad "transformer" on droid 3 honeycomb, the gps is super sensitive , so far installed GDAK , excellent app ! and google earth andriod, fine app again ! but if some one can tell me how to get a kml file into GE droid i would be most grateful


23 September 11 1:12 pm
Profile
850 or more found!!!
850 or more found!!!
User avatar

Joined: 23 August 04 3:17 pm
Posts: 6681
Location: Launceston, TAS
GCA Found: 157
GCA Hidden: 44
100 GCA Finds
Post Re: Android with a excellent GPS ?
Mr Router wrote:
recently got a eee pad "transformer" on droid 3 honeycomb, the gps is super sensitive , so far installed GDAK , excellent app ! and google earth andriod, fine app again ! but if some one can tell me how to get a kml file into GE droid i would be most grateful

No KML import on GE for Android still, I remember complaing to the devs about it back in android 1.6!!!.They said they'd be doing it soon... that was 3+ years ago now!... it's such a shame too.... I love Google Earth on my A500 Tablet, but I'd really like to be able to load the GCA network link.

You can ask for them to add it here:
http://earth.google.com/support/bin/static.py?hl=en&page=suggestions.cs&rd=1


23 September 11 1:54 pm
Profile E-mail WWW
650 or more caches found
650 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 05 September 09 5:38 pm
Posts: 87
Location: Canberra
GCA Found: 256
GCA Hidden: 27
100 GCA Finds
Post Re: Android with a excellent GPS ?
Mr Router wrote:
recently got a eee pad "transformer" on droid 3 honeycomb, the gps is super sensitive , so far installed GDAK , excellent app ! and google earth andriod, fine app again ! but if some one can tell me how to get a kml file into GE droid i would be most grateful


Really? I've tried GDAK and found it to be fairly rubbish. While the idea of the GSAK database is nice the compass was slow to respond and database was clunky to use, coupled with the lack of map support I didn't like it. Although an update might have made it better.
And although I don't know what specific features your after in GE, have you tried locus? Similar thing but works offline as well (good for the transformer) and will accept kml I believe.


23 September 11 3:29 pm
Profile
1500 or more caches found
1500 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 22 May 05 11:59 am
Posts: 2782
Location: Bathurst
GCA Found: 9
GCA Hidden: 0
Post Re: Android with a excellent GPS ?
CraigRat wrote:
Mr Router wrote:
recently got a eee pad "transformer" on droid 3 honeycomb, the gps is super sensitive , so far installed GDAK , excellent app ! and google earth andriod, fine app again ! but if some one can tell me how to get a kml file into GE droid i would be most grateful

No KML import on GE for Android still, I remember complaing to the devs about it back in android 1.6!!!.They said they'd be doing it soon... that was 3+ years ago now!... it's such a shame too.... I love Google Earth on my A500 Tablet, but I'd really like to be able to load the GCA network link.

You can ask for them to add it here:
http://earth.google.com/support/bin/static.py?hl=en&page=suggestions.cs&rd=1

thanx for the link ! i have submitted the idea again


23 September 11 3:49 pm
Profile
100 or more tracks walked
100 or more tracks walked

Joined: 08 May 04 6:05 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Melbourne
GCA Found: 1
GCA Hidden: 0
Post Re: Android with a excellent GPS ?
ollave wrote:
I'll follow up if I exchange it and the subsequent unit stands up to geocaching. In the mean time it's decide what cache next with the phone (which means its GPSr is on and eating power), and type the coordinates into the old but reliable Geko 201. :D

Well, went back to the shop (Johnny Appleseed in St. Kilda, Melbourne) today. Naturally (given this started as an intermittent fault) the guy I was talking to wanted to call it user error. His compatriot didn't seem so sure, but wasn't inclined to intervene.

The plan _was_ for them to test the unit for a couple of days (how? Sit it in the shop window?). What if the problem is in the battery power connector [my best guess] and only shows when you're hiking around and moving up and down a bit or driving over speed humps?

I indicated some dubiousness in the efficacy of in shop testing (never mind the assurance that "we test everything thoroughly"), and was asked what I wanted. So I asked for -- and got -- a refund. Interesting that there was no proposal of a replacement unit or credit toward an alternate item, but if they don't want my business, I'm OK with that.

I'll need a compelling reason to consider Holux or Johnny Appleseed GPS again. I imagine that I got a dud unit from Holux, but I can't tell if it was a design issue instead, and that and the poor customer service I was receiving both encouraged me to seek the refund.

[Disclaimer: I've spent a lot of time in customer service. I understand exactly how awful intermittent faults are to diagnose and resolve. But they have to be solved, no matter that they're harder than "the black smoke escaped" or a manufacturer's recall.]

Grump grump grump. At least I know my phone has the Bluetooth SPP functionality included, despite there being no mention of it in the manual. For the moment, I'm back to a combination of the phone (what caches are near, descriptions, and sometimes immediate logging) and my trusty old Geko 201 (with some caches preloaded if I know where I'm going) to actually find things. The phone's GPSr is OK for maps, and sometimes for geocaching, but it's the "sometimes" that it's 20m (or occasionally even more) off that makes finding caches with only the phone a tad difficult.


28 September 11 12:00 am
Profile
600 or more caches found
600 or more caches found
User avatar

Joined: 23 December 10 3:35 pm
Posts: 221
Location: Sydney
GCA Found: 104
GCA Hidden: 1
100 GCA Finds
Post Re: Android with a excellent GPS ?
Samsung Galaxy Tab vs a Htc Sensation vs a HTC Legend
Sensation wins though I like the tab. Haven't tried the Garmin Asus yet


04 October 11 11:46 am
Profile E-mail WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Forum theme by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forum/DivisionCore.